We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #50 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beach was large and water was clear. no rocks either. Lots of people of all ages. Restaurants were good, but the buffet was just as good. Shows need work, mostly geared towards children, very loud and at times annoying (imagine cartoons/disney clips playing loudly while you're trying to order alcohol from a bar). Bartenders were very friendly and knowledgeable! I had a great time and met many new people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaLroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the hotel Management we would like to thank you for posting your review about your experience at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal and for choosing our hotel for your vacations.

We are very pleased to read that our beautiful premises and the service provided by our friendly staff ensured you a memorable holiday. At Iberostar we are committed to providing the best service.

On the other hand, we would like to inform you that we will forward your comments regarding the shows to the Entertainment Managers in order to look into this. Thank you for pointing this out to us.

We would be happy to welcome you back again, please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,055 - 2,061 of 6,819 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were great, so nice to see people smiling while they work. Loved seeing and hearing the howling monkeys, they walk along the balconies so be careful about leaving clothes out on the balcony. We stayed in block 14 on 2nd floor (top floor) which was in between the beach and the bar/reception so was well placed and set back a little bit so not noisy. We were always able to get loungers for 4 of us on the beach and around the pool. People do get up early and put towels on the loungers then don't turn up to use the loungers until many hours later (around the pool area), I couldn't see the point as there were plenty of loungers available. We went to Coco Bongo, which was quite a surprise and I have reviewed that visit on Coco Bongos own site. Don't go there if you do not like crowds of people crammed together. Do go there if you enjoy packed nightclubs and the atmosphere. We also visited the mayan ruins, that was definitely worth the 5.30am pick up, we booked through Thomsons. This is the second Iberostar hotel that we have stayed at and I would definitely recommend the Iberostar hotels. There was plenty of choice with the food, we enjoyed the japanese and italian restaurants the best. We did not take enough mosquito spray (to spray on arms and legs before going out) and after-bite for the mosquito bites and it is quite expensive to buy in the hotel shop. We got a taxi to Walmart and stocked up on after bite and other supplies much cheaper (even with the cost of the taxi on top). We also got a taxi onto 5th Avenue and did our shopping for presents to bring home with us. Managed to buy all of them and haggled over prices so managed to get some bargains. We loved the holiday and if we were to go back to Mexico again we would go back to Iberostar Tucan.

Room Tip: I had originally asked for block 10 or 11, I was actually very pleased when I was allocated block 14...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clare776264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your holidays!

Your positive evaluation about the excellent service from our friendly staff shows us that we achieved our goal during your stay. At Iberostar we aim to ensure unforgettable experiences to our valuable costumers.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it allows us to identify areas that have room for improvement and to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.

With best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just returned from our weddin week at the Tucan. I could not have asked for a better wedding. Every single detail was though of and attended to by Alejandra. I certainly hope she is well compensated because she is so good at her job. As a bride planning her wedding from another country, Alejandra was always so attentive and very quick to respond to any questions I had. I would reccomed this hotel to any couple thinking of a destination wedding. They know what they are doing and they do it so well.
Everything else at the hotel was equally as good. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was good, definitely better at the a la cartes than the buffets but you could always find something you liked. I can't understand what anyone wod complain about. We will definitely be back to this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieABowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your lovely review as we too are delighted you had an amazing wedding at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We appreciate that you chose us as the location for your wedding. Your wedding day and experience should be nothing less than amazing - and we hope to see you on your future anniversary and special celebrations!

Your review will help other potential Brides and Grooms that are considering Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal as their venue so thank you once again for writing, we appreciate it.

We want to express our happiness when reading how you highlighted the excellent service of our wedding coordinator, Alejandra! We will certainly forward your comment to her; she will be thrilled to receive such praise.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future where we hope you will enjoy your return visit just as much.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place was the most amazing holiday, our first time All Inclusive - couldn't believe the value for money! The 'safari' surroundings, the staff, the entertainment, the FOOD, DRINKS, such a superb destination. We met some lovely people and our two weeks were more than we could have hoped for. The entertainment team were wonderful and worked so hard to ensure everyone had a good time. No hesitation to recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our Management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience.

We are thrilled to read that you experienced an unforgettable holiday during your visit to our hotel due to the beauty of our grounds and our amazing staff among others. It is our goal at Iberostar to ensure a memorable holiday to our valuable costumers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, please feel free to contact us before your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

look no further for your ideal hotel. believe all the good reviews and take the not so good with a pinch of salt. the setting was like a mini centre parcs, the staff were all so friendly - i cant remember seeing one long face among them. not once did i get the impression that anyone was looking for a tip but they were thankful for what they did get.
thank you claudia for the smiles and kisses every time you saw us after just one short conversation.
the buffets were the best ive ever seen - i just can't understand the critics, what do these people want?????? there was a great selection, presentation and service.
i know its a matter of taste but the local draught beer is the best ive ever had.
we had some freak storms while we were there and the first one sent us from the pool to our balcony where we were entertained for a good hour or more by the monkeys.
we only seen part of one show, mainly because i'll admit i'm hard to please in this area and rarely ever go to them, but i could see how hard these people work and the show area was always full so be your own judge on that one.
nothing to do with the hotel but take the proper heavy duty jungle mozzie spray containing deet. we just took the run of the mill stuff and got eaten alive. this can ruin your holiday.
i have stayed at only one iberostar hotel before, that i'm aware of which was at lanzarote where i was also impressed. so when planning future holidays i will be looking for their logo

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grumpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal team we would like to thank you for having chosen us as the destination for your vacations. We also thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us.

We are really satisfied to acknowledge that your stay was memorable thanks to the excellent service provided by our staff in the different areas of our premises. At Iberostar Hotels and Resorts we are committed to providing the best service to our beloved guests. Your comments regarding our gastronomy and beer are also very much appreciated!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back, please do not hesitate contact us with your booking details so we can help you enjoy your next holidays with us even more!

With kindest regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and I loved seeing the animals roaming freely every day! The staff is very dedicated to all your needs! They work so hard to take care of their guests in every area! It is connected to Iberostar Quetzal so you actually have access to 2 hotels when you book your stay. I was a little concerned with reading on reviews that the beds were hard and uncomfortable but I found that to be so untrue! Our bed had an extremely comfy pillow top mattress. We will definitely return to this hotel in the future. You will not be sorry for choosing this hotel for your vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank maryann542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff and Management, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your vacations in July! We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy all our services.

We want to express our happiness when reading how you highlighted our friendly and helpful staff and our varied gastronomy! These are two of our guiding principles at Iberostar so we can ensure a memorable stay to our beloved guests.

We remain at your disposal for further assistance, and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Iberostar Tucan/Quetzeland i would highly recommend it.We did have a problem with the location of our room to start with as we were booked into the Quetzel our tour operator contacted us two weeks before we went to say we would be staying in the Tucan side due to the complaints about the building work but when we arrived we had to wait while they sorted our rooms and they were in the Quetzel side and when we questioned this they said they could only give us one room in the Tucan side when there was two couples travelling together.I had e mailed in advance to ask for rooms near the pool eventually we were told we could have two rooms overlooking the pool two days later which we did and these rooms were great.Everywhere around the hotel was kept very clean and there was always plenty of sunbeds around the pool an on the beach.We had no complaints about the food we tried all the al a carte restaurants and we went back to the japenese as we were so impressed with the way the food was cooked in front of you my only gripe was it was a little salty for my taste even in the buffet restaurant there was so much choice and never seemed to busy as we have found at other hotels.the drinks were also good you only had to ask if you wanted them a bit stronger although sometimes the some brand name drinks were not always available and if you didn't ask for a brand name then you got the cheap stuff but the cocktails an shots were very good.The staff were brilliant they all work so hard with a smile and although there are too many to name I have to mention Rosy who worked in the lobby bar she always has time for a smile and a chat a lovely lady,The wildlife round the hotel was amazing you never knew what to expect next from a peacock after popcorn in the bar to monkeys sitting on the balcony and the waterfalls on the Quetzel side were lovely.There are alot of mozzies about but if you use a good insect repellent you should be ok. The weather wasn't brilliant we had rain most days but it would get out and the animation team kept every one amused.we had a really good holiday at these hotel and would recomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: if you want a room over looking the pool ask for block 11 or 12 on the Tucan side not sure of the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alimay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear alimay63,

Thank you very much for choosing the Tucan & Quetzal for your recent holiday.

First of all we would like to apologize for the initial situation you encountered; thankfully it was fixed and you enjoyed your vacation to the fullest!

We are happy you liked our cuisine and our facilities in general. Thank you for mentioning our members of staff who work really hard and really care about your vacational experience. Many of them have been with us for many years and are committed to achieving our main goal, which is the complete satisfaction of our clients. We will be forwarding you kind words to the staff you mentioned.

Our lovely animals are part of our family, we are thrilled you enjoyed them so much.

We would be more than happy to host you again in the near future, we hope that if you decide to come back to the Mayan Riviera, you come back to visit us again!!!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#45 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,035 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,222 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $197 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing