We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel falls very short”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #50 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Good
This place is gorgeous. The staff are all hard working and wonderful. The Star Friends are adorable. The animals are amazing and we loved the jungle trail. The rooms are clean and although the beds are a bit hard I was very comfortable. The a/c is one of the best. This place has so much going for it but the management is ruining this hotel cutting corners.

The Bad:
The food. Its just not good. We are the least picky eaters on the planet but I was so dissappointed. You can get by eating a big breakfast and the hamburgers grilled by the pool are okay. I had one good meal in nine days at the Japanese ala carte (except when I ate in town). This is my second, and last A.I. and the last one had awesome food.

The drinks. The mixers from Margaritas to Mojitos are made with a sugary "Tang" tasting stuff. No real juice. The only beer is draft and Dosxx and Superior (except in your room that they stock every other day) and you will not find bottled water anywhere but your room.

The Beach is filthy. The sand was full of cigg butts, plastic straws and other bits of garbage for the entire nine days I was there, very sad because the beach itself is so beautiful. I did like that you could grab an umbrella for the beach from the towel shack so you didn't have to get up at 5am and toss a towel on a chair and leave...

Last, if you are a family this appeared to be a great resort until the eastern European woman at the beach were frolicing about topless. I saw many a parent dragging their upset child off the beach while covering their eyes. I don't know why the hotel staff or security didn't say a word to these woman so, if you have issues with this and you have kids, go elsewhere.

This was my last A.I. I will rent a condo next year. I want to drink what I like and eat good food on my vacation. Shame on Iberostar because this place is really beautiful and unique.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandyfeet97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our Hotel Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal, we would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for choosing us during your recent family vacation.

We highly appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff, facilities and our services that make our hotel stand out. Your comments have been forwarded to our Management as they represent an opportunity to look for improvements at our hotels.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level concerning the food and beverage quality. We would like to mention that every time our guests present their concerns while vacationing with us, corrective actions are taken to ensure an immediate and appropriate solution in order to gain our guests loyalty and satisfaction.

Our Management is constantly looking for improvements in our facilities and services. Our guests’ comments are always a great base for us to start working on certain issues that need particular attention.

We also would like to mention that besides our snack buffet by the pool area and our delicious Japanese restaurant, we feature two main buffets located at the lobbies along with a Mexican Restaurant, Italian Restaurant, and Steak House Restaurant. Our a la carte restaurants open daily for dinner and we are always pleased to assist our guests in order to program their dinner reservations accordingly.

Within our facilities we always try to keep our family oriented style and topless is not allowed. Even though the beach is a public place if our staff notice something that does not go according to our policies we normally talk to our guests in order to keep this lineament. So far all our guests have shown understanding towards this matter.

We would also like to mention that our hotel team along with local authorities organizes on a regular basis cleaning groups who voluntarily visit different beaches to pick up garbage such as empty bottles, cigarettes buts and plastics, among others. Iberostar is enrolled with different programs involving energy saving, water saving, recycling and cleanliness as it contributes positively to local communities and their environment.

Also, we would to emphasize that your status as a costumer is highly valued; we would be privileged to see you in the near future, in order for you to experience the improvements in our facilities and services.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,140 - 2,146 of 6,814 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Best service, best beach and lots of activities. Most importent, you're surronded by lots of animals that are treated as well as the hotelguests!! Also, I'm a vegeterian, and for the first time in 13 years I visited restuarants that did NOT disappointed med. Loved it, loved all of it!! A huge thank you to the hotelstaff!!

Room Tip: Building 1300-1500 (topfloor if you want to see the monkeys close
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Majskolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest,

We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We indeed take care of our little animals so that they can feel free and comfortable in an environment we work day after day to preserve. Thanks so much for appreciating that.

Thank you also for appreciating our food; we do our best to adapt to all of our guests' needs and likings; you are important to us and your entire satisfaction is our goal!

Once again, thank you for your lovely review, we hope you come back to spend another relaxing holiday with your Mexican family :-)

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a great time at the tucan food was good the staff were great very relaxed great fun by the pool .Beach was lovely warm water good evening entertainment as well,would deffinetly recommend to friends.Cant wait to go back to Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank treb0r67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for you lovely review!

We are happy you had such a great time and liked our food, beach and our entertainment.

Thanks fo much for your recommendation, it would be fantastic to serve you again on your repeat visit to Mexico.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Some reviews had left us a little sceptical but we needn't have worried. We stayed in block 13 (room 1322) middle floor facing outwards which is well placed for beach and pool and a pleasant stroll through the jungle area up to the restaurants and lobby. A topper made this one of the most comfortable beds ever. The large room has character but don't expect your plastic Premier Inn type room. The Hotel style became more meaningful after visiting the Coba ruins. The beautiful big beach was typically Caribbean and both sea and pool were pleasantly warm though we only had one calm day. Plenty of entertainments for all types day and night and excellent food choice both in main buffet areas and the themed A la Cartes.
Wifi was pricey and the local Starbucks (5 mins stroll) proved a better option (free after purchase and password doesn't change from day to day).
Confusing prices in both US dollars and Mexican Pesos everywhere took some getting used to. Loved this hotel and resort area for our first visit to Mexico. Not usual for us to return to places but we would have no reservations about going back although flying from the UK takes a big piece out your holiday time. Can't wait to see more of the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Blocks 10 and 20 (Quetzel) are the suites facing the beach. Blocks 11-13 nicely placed, we wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal as the destination for your vacations, also for taking the time to post your comments about your stay.

We would like to express how honored we are to read that you enjoyed a memorable stay with us. We appreciate your motivating comments referring our varied gastronomy, our rooms and our jungle area.

We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We picked this hotel as it looked authentic and blended into its surroundings beautifully, also the reviews were excellent. I emailed the hotel directly and asked for two rooms next to each other, they obliged and gave us a connecting room, which was great having young teenagers with us. We arrived and it was brilliant, I couldn't stop saying how beautiful it was, each morning as we ate breakfast overlooking the beach and sea. We saw the monkeys most days as well as other animals. The food was great, even our teenagers said how good it was. All the staff work so hard to make your stay enjoyable. We really could not fault anything!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location if you don't want to be woken at dawn by the howler monkeys. The monkey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your recent vacations.

Your positive comments regarding our food and our premises are much appreciated!

Also, we would to emphasize that your status as a customer is highly valued; we would be privileged to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was me and my wife's first stay at an all inclusive. Overall a great experience. One thing that I would change is the buffet food. It was hit and miss, but talking to others who have experience with the all inclusives, they say that about all of them.
The grounds are immaculate and the workers spend a lot of time keeping them that way.
Our room was comfortable, 1 king bed which was not as hard as I expected from reading other reviews.
I will like to give a shout out to my favorite bartender Raul, very entertaining and always treated us like family. All of the staff always had smiles on their faces and treated us with great respect.
The beach was beautiful, spent much time there. The swim up bar was ok, but somewhat secluded and not always sunny.
Like I said, the only thing that could be improved on is the food.
We will be returning in September.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandAnge2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff and Management, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your recent vacation!

We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy all our services. We especially want to thank you for your positive comments regarding our clean grounds and our comfortable rooms.

We want to express you our happiness when reading how you highlighted the excellent service of our staff, especially from Raul! Excellent customer service is one of our guiding principles at Iberostar so we can ensure a memorable stay to our beloved guests.

We regret to hear that our food services did not fulfill your expectations. Your comments have been forwarded to our Chef in order to look into areas of improvement.

We certainly believe that our guests’ comments provide us with useful insights to assist our staff to identify areas of concern. We will review along with the department involved the issues presented.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in September. Feel free to contact us for further assistance.

With kindest regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Iberostar Tucan and we absolutely loved it!
The hotel is surrounded by nature, trees and wildlife which is something so rare to find and is what makes it so special. From the minute you step into the lobby with its open palapa style, water features and lush greenery you feel relaxed and at ease. The staff are all friendly and helpful and they really go out of their way to make your stay as perfect as possible.
Rooms are not luxurious but are comfortable and have all necessary amenities such as iron, hair dryer, safe, bathrobes, aircon etc etc..(I really recommend upgrading to a junior suite with views of the ocean.)
There are so many food outlets in the resort, so many buffet restaurants, specialty restaurants (our favourite was Hacienda) and the burger and ice cream bar on the beach is a real bonus. We especially enjoyed breakfast on the beach at the Uxmal restaurant as we loved the beautiful view overlooking the Caribbean.
Drinks are excellent, we always got top quality alcohol, all you have to do is specify the type of vodka, whisky, rum etc that you prefer and the bar staff are very happy to deliver.
Pool area is lovely and spacious and always very lively thanks to the daily entertainment, there is also a great pool bar which is separate and this i felt was a bonus as you could get away from the crowd and enjoy a quiet drink at the adults only bar. (Hilario the barman makes the most fantastic Margaritas around)
The hotel is situated right at the end of Playacar so you can walk along the beach all the way to quinta avenida (around 45 minute walk on the sand).
I was so sad to leave this little piece of paradise in the Caribbean & cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodie978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management we thank you for your feedback about your experience at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal and for choosing our property for your holidays.

We appreciate your positive evaluation about the cleanliness and beauty of our grounds, our comfortable rooms, the quality of our food and drinks and the service provided by our friendly staff. At Iberostar we are committed to providing the best service.

If would be an honor to serve you again at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal if you decide to come back to the wonderful Riviera Maya.

We remain at your disposal for further assistance.

Kindest regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#45 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,034 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,218 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $197 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing