We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun(Playa del Carmen)
$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$529
$348
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
$1,323
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$1,852
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$509
$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$899
$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$682
$466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,000
$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$1,125
$806
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$453
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,958)
Filter reviews
6,958 results
Traveler rating
4,268
1,915
505
163
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,268
1,915
505
163
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelmagic showplenty of chairsapple vacationscab ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,226 - 2,231 of 6,958 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here in 2007 and everything is just perfect: location close to the beach, 3 miles (5 km) from the lovely city Playa del Carmen.

The food is good and there is plenty of variation. Actually there is so much different food that you feel not comfy, thinking of all te poor hungry people in the world...

Anyway, this really is a great hotel to stay in and you will not be disappointed!

Also try to do some excursions: Toba (feel like Indiana Jones), Tulum are great. Chitzen Itza (feel like a tourist) is a 'must seen' location.

Also try the national Parc S'ian K'aan, a wonderful experience with wild dolphins, turtles, manatees, racoons, voltures etc..

have a nice trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mario p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing us and sharing your review with the online community.

We are happy you liked so much the location of the hotel as well as the food we offer.

We would like to add that the Iberostar Foundation has projects directed towards achieving the aims of Social Responsibility by improving social welfare, education and culture for people most in need. You can rest assured that the hotel reuses and donates everything that it can! :-)

Thanks for recommending excursions to other travelers to get to know the Riviera Maya a bit more.

We hope you come back to our hotel; it would be a real pleasure to serve you again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I often use TripAdvisor to select our hotels with a great amount of success. The initial location we wanted to book was unavailable and so we booked this hotel with some trepidation after reading a few negative comments (although most reviews were positive). As the departure date approached we checked back in and began to get concerned as we read more reviews about the hard mattresses and poor food.

Maybe they did us a favor by lowering our expectations because we were blown away when we arrived at the resort. Having a 10 year-old and a 8 year-old, the natural setting and all the wildlife were a BIG, BIG hit. Peacocks, iguanas and monkey watching became part of our daily routine. The place was beautiful and staff unbelievably helpful and friendly. Great pool. Great beach. Plenty of chairs.

Our kids were a bit old for the kids club so they joined in the adult activities and were welcomed with open arms by staff and the other guests. The one kids activity they loved was the evening show/disco.

The reviews of the buffet food are somewhat accurate in that it's pretty standard fare and I was somewhat disappointed by the lack of "flavors." The restaurants on the other hand were good -but you need to make reservations in advance (we made the entire weeks on our first night.) Japanese and Steakhouse were the best. And yes, the mattresses were hard.

But all that said, we would heartily recommend this resort. It is a good reminder that you can often obsess over a few negative comments and miss the larger review.

Room Tip: Buildings 13 and 14 have a troop of monkeys that visit every morning
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CoinTurk1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your latest vacation and for your kind review.

We are happy you and your family had a great time and enjoyed our facilities and service. We take note of your comments about the buffet.

Once again, thank you very much for your words, and we hope you come back again very soon!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This resort has the best entertainment. You will never ever get bored when you stay here. If you have kids, there are different activities for them to do. The pool is HUGE! I love it here!!!!!!! The food that they serve is great and just what I would want from a resort. Now, the best part of the entire trip is the beach. The beach is just amazing and so beautiful. When we went which was in May there were no waves and the water was crystal clear. Now, be aware that the water could change. Just because I was lucky in May does not mean I will be lucky this year. But, overall I really did enjoy my stay here and I am defiantly going again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same and all are very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest,

We are very grateful for your kind review; thank you for sharing it with other travelers!

We are thrilled to see you enjoyed our entertainment so much, our Star Friends’ team work hard every day to provide you with a memorable holiday! It is nice to see they reached their goal with you.

Thanks for highlighting our great pool, our magnificent beach and our varied culinary offer!

We hope you do come back; it would be a pleasure to host you againn and create new fantastic memories to take home with you.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

First of all, this was not our first time in a Iberostar but this last trip prove us that they are all different.
Good: Location is excelent 8 min in cab or 35 min walk from Playa Del Carmen , the beach is howesome, the resort has a superbe jungle with live animals in the midlle, the people are very nice.

Bad: The food was the most negative thing on our trip, the variety was weak, restaurant a la carte were very average, the wine was soso but you could buy good one. Althought we are not big drinker there was only one bar with two waiters during day time, so to get a drink you had to wait in line. There was no internet in the rooms. The last bad note was for the gas smell on the beach due to the boats and PWC but this was depending on the win direction.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach and inside the court are more quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reggie2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us.

We want to express our happiness when reading how you highlighted the good service of our staff. This is one of our guiding principles in Iberostar so we can ensure a memorable stay to our beloved guests. Your positive comments regarding the flora and fauna are much appreciated as well.

When it comes to the internet access, we would like to inform you that thanks to our guests’ suggestions we are working to improve that point; we are planning to provide connection service for the rooms and other areas at an extra fee sometime this year.

Thanks again for your observation and comments. We will be more than happy to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your next visit.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent place to stay at and the service was Superior.
We enjoyed it there so much we are going back next year and staying at the same place.
The food was great and the service at the pool and in bars were super.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank bettysommers1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear customer,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us for your latest vacation and for your lovely review.

We are really happy to read that you had such a great time with us that you will be coming back; that is the best recognition a hotel can get.

Thanks for appreciating our food and our service!

We look forward to your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance if you have any special request.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews