We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,185)
Filter reviews
7,185 results
Traveler rating
4,418
1,966
521
171
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,418
1,966
521
171
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelplenty of chairsmagic showcab rideapple vacations
Filter
Updating list...
2,327 - 2,332 of 7,185 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The whole staff went out of their way to make our 50th wedding anniversary celebration something really special. The weather was stellar, beach clean, water had just the right amount of waves, food good, all accommodations very comfortable. We'd like to return next year!

Room Tip: We chose a beachfront room, but the other rooms, which are in the middle of the "jungle" are also excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your recent visit in our hotel.

We are very delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Congratulations again for your 50th wedding anniversary! We are honored you chose us to celebrate such as special occasion.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went with friends the week of February 6th thru the 13th. This was our third visit and once again the hotel delivered on the things that matter to us. The beach and ocean are beautiful but there is a nasty undertow.
What makes this place different are the gorgeous grounds which are beautifully maintained -(it's like being in a jungle). There are lots of tropical birds and local mammals (they don't bite) and a troop of Howler Monkeys that periodically swing thru the trees. The peacock comes thru the cocktail lounge every night, I think just to be admired!
The staff is friendly and well-trained and the food is surprisingly good for an all-inclusive. The rooms are clean and of a decent size.
This is a well-run resort and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goblue-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here! Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.

Thank you for your nice comments on our beautiful grounds and wildlife, and our cuisine offer. We are especially happy to read that you were so satisfied with our staff. We strive to provide an excellent service and to see that we achieved it with you is very encouraging.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just got home from 5 nights at the Iberostar Tucan (mom/daughter trip). The resort was amazing...a tropical setting, which was beautiful and relaxing. The restaurants were top notch, and the buffets had something for everyone. The staff were all so friendly, especially the Star Friends entertainment staff. They ran over twenty activities every day (early morning stretching, bike rides, water aerobics, salsa dancing, darts, volleyball, water soccer, beach zumba, bingo, kids events, and a GREAT show every night). I don't know how they do it all, and do it all so well. There was nothing that was disappointment about the Iberostar Tucan. The only recommendation - definitely order the mattress topper. A wonderful resort for a relaxing and fun vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 1100, which was the perfect location, very close to the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal once again for your holidays and for taking the time to post your comments about your third stay among us.

We would like to express how pleased we are to hear that you have enjoyed another unforgettable experience among us after your first visit. At Iberostar we are committed to providing the best service and to offer a varied gastronomy. We are happy to read your evaluation of both aspects of our services.

We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We are a family with two girls, 10 an 11 ½ old. This year was our 3nd trip to Iberostar Toucan ( “ IT” ) over several years. Our impression remains very positive.

In our opinion, this resort is good for : families with pre-teen kids.
In our opinion, this resort is not so good for you if you are looking for a major non-stop party spring break , crowd of singles, or if the on site off-shore snorkeling is your priority.

Getting there: Upon arrival to Cancun, walk without stopping straight through the crowd of official-looking peddlers offering “free” advice, “discounted” tours, etc and out of airport doors . Your ride will be there. I.T. is ~ 45 min straight drive from Cancun airport, but it may take twice as long because pre-arranged transfer vans will likely have to deposit other tourists to their hotels. Consider this and the cost of such ride per person against the option of taking a taxi . The airport-based taxi to IT will costs you ~$90 , and the return trip with local taxi is only half the price. (if you negotiate directly with the driver you can to get a sizable discount in price). Taxis here are safe, professional and friendly. Visit to the airport bathroom before departure is a good idea

Hotel itself :Unlike the Cancun high-rises, Toucan consists of two parallel rows of three-store thatch-roofed buildings going from the reception halls towards the ocean. Between these rows is a wonderfully landscaped jungle with a maze of paths. It is inhabited by free roaming peacocks, pheasants , howler monkeys, agouties and coatis ( look them up – or just be surprised). Kids are thrilled.

Rooms: Your room will be assigned at arrival on 1st-come-1st-served basis, so you can ask for a jungle or ocean view, a floor you prefer, and a building of you choice ( look at the resort’s map for that). If you want to be close to the beach, ask for a room in the buildings 11 to 15, or 21 to 26. We had a standard room, which easily sleeps four. Room was clean, spacious, had hair dryer, refrigerator with drinks ( incl. in your all-inclusive package), a safe box and nice balcony. Bed and pillow somewhat hard, but not bad.

Beach and pool: I.T. has broad nice beach, clean and well maintained, with moderate waves. No jellyfish, sea urchins, mosquitoes or other pests. Sea bottom is sandy, no reef shoes needed. There were no problems getting towels or beach chairs. IT has a beachside massage center , bar and ice-cream stand – all free. On this part of the shore, the sea bottom is mostly sand and dead coral, so there is no reefs i.e. no off shore snorkeling at the hotel . If you walk south (= right) ~ 5-7 min to the end of the Playacar hotel zone (look for a blue sign) , you’ll find an underwater concrete man-made “reef” close to shore. Snorkeling there will show you some common reef fishes.

Guests : Mostly families, many with young children of pre- and school ages. Good number of Canadians, South Americans and Europeans. IT is for some reason popular with middle class Russian-speaking families from US. It didn’t appear to be a major center of the spring-break atmosphere , at least during the school vacation periods when we were there.

Food. No complaints. IT has large, convenient, fresh, diverse buffets with excellent , if perhaps not the five-star deluxe cuisine. The evening theme menu restaurants (all free) we tried were OK but in my opinion nothing you don’t find at homee and comparing to the buffets not worth the time loss if you are with young children.

Staff : No complaints. The staff is not only polite and helpful, but always look cheerful and friendly unlike in some other popular Caribbean touristy locations. Everyone speaks English, although even a few symbolic words in Spanish by you are greeted with appreciation. We tipped our maid $2-4/day, and occasionally the waiters, bellman & barkeepers. IT had a great kid’s Club and during the last visits our kids insisted on going there most of the days, but now they are too old for the Club and I can’t comment on it’s current state.

Entertainments: I graded the evening shows from OK to very good. My wife thought all of them were outstanding and didn’t want to miss a single one. IT also has a kid’s show at 8:30 pm, always a hit.

Day trips: We haven’t taken any organized tours and explored area on our own. IT has a taxi stand on propriety, walking over and arranging the rides with them directly vs taking a bus tour will save you time and $. Nearby Xcaret park is a must with kids, although $$; Plan the whole day, review the info and plan ahead . Lots of things to do, evening show is worth staying late. Xel-Ha is different : more of all-inclusive sea nature reserve, also great. For off-shore snorkeling, take taxi ($60 r/t with taxi waiting for you 2-3 hrs ) south to Acumal Bay ( ~ 30 min ride). There you can either go to Yal-Ku lagoon to see the fish ( $9 entrance), and/or go to their Dive Shop, hire a 1 hr off-shore snorkeling tour with the guide+ locker +all equipment and see the sea turtles . Mayan ruins: we went to Coba by ourselves ( ~1.20 hr drive, $160 for two, including taxi r/t, guide and rent of bicycles at the site. ).

Weather : last week of February was a little cloudy but with an exception of one rainy morning in general it was a good beach weather. Last week of April was hot, but tolerable. March/April is probably an ideal time to go in the spring.

Useful things to bring with you: 1) Double amount of any simple supplies you can possibly run out of : (sunscreen, batteries, Kleenex, toothpaste etc.) – unless you are OK with paying 300% at the resort’s shop. 2) Couple of extra bathing suits in addition of what you would normally take : in this humid climate, it may literally take days for a hanged wet b. suit to dry out. 3) if you have a larger group, a set of good walkie-talkies is useful to be in touch on the resort grounds. 4) a lot of cash, especially $1 bills you’ll use for tips.

Room Tip: Your room will be assigned at arrival on 1st-come-1st-served basis, so you can ask for a jungle or ocean view, a floor you prefer, and a building of you choice ( look at the resort’s map for that). If you want to be close to the beach, ask for a room in the buildings 11 to 15, or 21 to 26.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank B_2NewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal as the destination for your vacations and also for taking the time to post your comments about your experience.

We would like to express how honored we are to read that you enjoyed a memorable stay with us. We appreciate your motivating comments referring our varied gastronomy, the excellent service provided by our friendly staff and the beauty of our grounds.

We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife & I have recently returned from our second visit to the Tucan, the last visit was in 2006. We were pleased to see that everything was as we remembered it. The reception area, bars & gardens are impeccably looked after. The buffet restaurant was spacious with an attentive staff at hand for your every need. A great variety of dishes were always available, even the most discerning palate would be pleased with the menu. The walk through the jungle area was amazing, abundant with wildlife including peacocks,Iguana's,Lemurs and flamingo's not forgetting the odd monkey or two! Just one minor point, the rooms could now benefit from a makeover. Some paint & soft furnishings would make such a big difference. Overall, well worth giving it a try. A truely unique experience which should not be missed.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for a beachfront room. Relaxing on your balcony in the moonlight and waking up to the sound of the ocean is perfect. My wife & I have stayed on both the Tucan side & Quetzal side & we prefer the Quetzal side.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your visit to Playa del Carmen and for taking the time to provide such a nice review of your stay at our resort.

We really enjoy seeing from your comments that you enjoyed the hotel grounds and the friendly service.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction. We will be passing your comment on the rooms to Management and the Head of Maintenance.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and have the pleasure to host you!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews