We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #49 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I have been coming back to the Tucan for 13 yrs. This was our 15th trip, yes we have been fortunate to go twice in the same year, twice! We have had several different buildings on both sides of the resort, but we only go ocean front now and it is well worth it. The best advise we can offer is yes you can pay more to get more at another resort but for us, this is the best bang for your buck. In a single word... PARADISE! "PDC" has changed ALOT in the last 13 yrs. But Iberostar Tucan Quetzal has continued to make us feel like family. If you choose this resort, look for Chef Orlando on the beach, lobby bartender Santo, Lobby waitress Micheala, beach waitress Ophelia, and Disco bartender Henry, and let them know that we will be " home" soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missingPDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations again and again; thank you so much for your loyalty!

We are glad to hear that you keep having such amazing vacations with us. We thank you for all your comments regarding the service, facilities and of course our wonderful staff. We will make sure that they all receive your comments; they will be happy to know you appreciate them so much :-)

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future to your home away from home!

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,142 of 6,719 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed our second stay at the Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal (same place, odd that they try to say it is two) from Feb. 14-24. We first went two years in April ago for our first-ever all-inclusive. Followed up last year with a trip to Beaches Turks and Caicos, which is a lot more expensive. We liked Iberostar enough to return, and were overall glad we did.

Weather: February weather can be bit fickle and we had two days at first in the 70s and windy. Still nice, but not swimming days for the most part. April two years ago was awesome.

Food: As you can see the reviews are all over the map on food, and not just here. I disagree with anyone who says it isn't good, or fresh. It is both. Is it gourmet:? No, but who really expects that at an AI at this price point? The buffets have a lot of variety, and it's a much easier system overall for everything from if you just want a snack to if you want to eat a meal than was Beaches. Friendly staff, nice setting. No complaints.

Pool: Big and fun. What more can you want? And having kids, I like that they keep the swim up bar is separate. The kids can get rowdy in the big pool, the heavy drinkers in the little one, and all is good.

The towel game: It is on big time, especially if you want a cabana. Got one several days, but had to claim it before 7. And many, many lounge chairs were claimed by 6:30.

Beach: Long walks possible, great time in the waves, comfortable loungers. Never got too hassled by the merchants. They're just trying to make a living, and we so obviously not buying that they left us alone.

Staff: Hard working and kind. Not much flexibility when it comes to asking for things just a tad outside the rules. Like trying to move some tables together in the buffet dining area.

Kids club: Our kids were a little old now (8 and 11) for the kids club, and the woman who was there two years ago (Michelle) is no longer there, so they didn't spend as much time as we thought they might. The new woman was much more of a babysitter, keep things in order, wasn't all that impressed with her, but, again, could be an age of my kids issue. They did still like the kids mini-disco at night.

Entertainment: Almost exactly the same as two years ago. Thank goodness the magician had a few new tricks. My son loves his show, and was one of only two we stayed all the way through. If you don't feel like leaving the premises, the entertainment each night is fun enough.

Annoyances: Key cards kept dying, and not from magnetics. Didn't see that room was close to the service room until too late, and it got a little loud, but just not quite loud enough to go though the moving hassle.

Overall: Great value, awesome place to kick back in the sun with a good book and decent food.

Best "bonus": The setting. They maintain lovely grounds, with big trees, birds, monkeys, agoutis, coatis, and more. Just a nice extra.

Room Tip: Junior ocean suites are great for the views. Just watch out for being placed enar the service room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomofboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review.

We are very delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your recent visit in our hotel. It was a great pleasure to read your valuable and encouraging feedback.

We thank you too for your constructive criticism; it is very important to receive it from our guests, as it is the best way to identify areas that have room for improvement.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Tucan, Feb. 27 - Mar. 6, 2013. I was with my sister, two cousins and 2 friends and all of us had a fantabulous time! We stayed there last year as well. We booked our vacation through Apple Vacations ~ very easy experience from start to finish. The Tucan is clean, inviting, staff is unbelievably friendly and attentive, relaxing, walkable, plush and has a very "safe" feeling. Beach is beautiful, water is warm and clear, pool is clean and fun. Food at breakfast, lunch and dinner is all good, plentiful and choices galore. Alcoholic drinks are yummy, water/ice is fine to drink, juices/sodas available. Don't hesitate to go outside of the gates and walk around. You'll find a Starbucks and little shopping mall filled with mexican goods. Definitely take a cab to 5th Avenue ($7 ride) ~ there you will find: Starbucks, restaurants, bars, jewelry shops and fun people watching!

One suggestion I gave the hotel is to purchase new mattresses and plumper pillows!

I give the Iberostar Tucan and town of Playa del Carmen two thumbs up and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank Sheelsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I had a great time at iberostar tucan. The resort was beautiful and we loved the wildlife and the beach was amazing. The grounds are well kept and we saw all types of animals. The staff is very nice and always willing to help. I didn't think the beds were as bad as everyone says I slept fine each night. My only real complain are the food and drinks. The alcohol is awful I love piña colatas but they use this fake syrup crap that make all their frozen drinks have an odd taste, next time ill just bring my own liquor. Also the food wasn't good. The only restauraunt that I really enjoyed the food was Japenese that was amazing so we went there twice. Would go back was a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortylvsu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Iberostar Hotels.

Your comments regarding our beautiful resort and the wildlife are much appreciated.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service concerning the food and drink quality. We already shared it with the persons involved in order to look into areas where we could enhance our different dining choices. Of course, your well being and your entire satisfaction is our primary goal. We certainly believe that our guests’ comments provide us with useful insights to assist our staff to identify areas of concern.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Your status as loyal guests to our hotels is appreciated.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at Tucan from February 25 - March 4 2013. We had an Excellent time during our stay at this resort. The grounds are beautiful and the maintence staff are always working to keep it clean and manicured. The rooms were always kept clean and the bar fridge was kept stocked everyday. I hear a few complaints about the beds, but ours was very comfortable and not hard at all. We had great sleeps. We would get an occasional sewer smell in our room, but we would open the patio door and keep the bathroom door closed and it went away. Honestly we only slept in the room so it never bothered us too bad. The beach was excellent, It does get busy so if you want a palapa be sure to be out there around 6 30 am. It is a very long beach as well so its great for walks. The bar staff was great they were very attentative. The Buffet was very good as well, I kind of missed having it on the nights we went to the a la carte restaurants. Restaurant staff was also very attentative. The entire Staff at this resort do an Excellent job making your stay enjoyable. It was an excellent vacation and I would definately stay at an Iberostar resort. Our only complaint was when wy wife had won a ticket to Coco Bongo after winning one of the evening events. When we tried to collect the ticket from the Coco Bongo representative he danced around it for a while and then he wouldnt give her the ticket unless our whole group would purchase their tickets from him. It resulted in an argument and he didnt get anything from us, and we didnt get the ticket.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBalloonhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your vacations with us.

Thank you for your comment about the Coco Bongo ticket. It is an external company but we want our guests to get what is due to them and of course enjoy it to the fullest, so we will be investigating this further.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

having never been to Mexico we weren't sure what to expect, but when we stepped out of our bus and into the lobby we knew we were in paradise. After receiving a yummy fruit drink at the desk we headed to our room, the colors of the buildings were amazing, so tropical and brilliant. As we wound our way towards our ocean view room suddenly we saw the sea and it was a gorgeous torquise color. Our room was just steps from the water and we made sure we didn't waste time running into the surf. That night dinner was great, so much food and so many choices. We then went to listen to a solo musician at the lobby bar. So comfortable was the lobby, we soon were relaxing so much it was time for bed and off to our room we went and listened to the waves all night, drifting off to an amazing sleep. We liked it so much there and we have only been home three days now, that we have already started our "vacation fund" to Playa del carmen and Iberostar Tucan....the best!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
6  Thank sharon-floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal Management and staff, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here. Your positive comments regarding our food and the beautiful scenery are much appreciated.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel boast several restaurants that are never congested, a very large free-form pool area and a very nice and large beach, with shade available. It also has a very interesting hotel design - interconnecting canals of water, bridges over a ravine are with various wildlife (fish, flamingos, peacocks, monkeys, agouti, etc), and a nightly lit "walk in the forest" . Roosters can be noisy in the mornings. All is very accessible animal-safe. Only 2 kms from Playa Del Carmen, so very walkable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank cupcaketourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff and Management, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your vacations!

We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy all our services. We especially want to thank you for your positive comments regarding our grounds, wildlife and our pool area.

We hope you can visit us again soon; we look forward to welcome all of you back.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#45 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,931 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,183 reviews
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#61 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $207 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing