We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,246)
Filter reviews
7,246 results
Traveler rating
4,467
1,971
527
171
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,467
1,971
527
171
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star friends howler monkeys jungle area specialty restaurants swim up bar dressel divers japanese restaurant ate at the japanese pool beach gated community other resorts emailed the hotel plenty of chairs magic show cab ride apple vacations buffet food
Filter
Updating list...
2,372 - 2,377 of 7,246 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I (along with 4 freinds) spent the week of Feb 17-24 at this fine resort, My wife and I spent a week at it 10 years ago, while our friends had never been to it. We have been to AI resorts for the past 10 years. Although the resort is 10 years older, the staff has done an amazing job in keeping it looking immaculate. Every day you will find people doing lawn care, power washing the pavement, shining the marble and washing mirrors, etc. The waiters, waitresses and bartenders were all excellent and it was so obvious that they enjoyed their jobs. We did not have contact with a single person that did not enjoy his/her job. I am just learning Spanish and the staff enjoyed my attempts. Unlike many people that we observed, we gave nice tips for every drink and meal that we had. The employees really appreciate it, but I don't think that influenced the service that we received as I saw that everyone got this fine service. We only ate at 2 specialty restaurants: The Tropical and the Steakhouse. The Tropical was just alright, but the Steakhouse was definitely 5 star. We got to book the Tropical the day after we went to the Reservation Desk, while we could not get into the Steak Restaurant until 5 days later - obviously many people know how good it actually is. I have read many reviews on how the buffet restaurant is quite "repetitive." Although the breakfast and lunch buffets at the restaurant located on the beach may tend to get a little repetitive due to their size, the main buffet located near the lobby has many more choices than one can imagine. The food is of excellent quality, too, and none of us got any stomach disorders, either, On the negative side: the beds are way too hard! One couple in our group had a mattress topper and they had a better time for sleep. The women were all a little upset with the lighting in the bathroom, saying that they should have had brought a make-up mirror, although that shouldn't have to be done at a resort of this quality. We only went to one show, The Match Game, which I have now seen on 7 or 8 occasions. We missed the Magic Show, which some people from Montana told us was one, if not, the best Magic Show that they had ever attended. We were away on a trip so we missed the Mexican Folk Ballet which is always an excellent show. In short, it will NOT be another 10 years before we got back to this Iberostar again. Of all the resorts that we have been to, this is our favorite!

Room Tip: 1700-1900 blocks are closer to the lobby, 1200-1400 are closer to the beach. We really enjoyed the 1800 block.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pepper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing us again for your recent vacation and for sharing your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our well-kept and spotless grounds ad surroundings and above all that you had such a great time with our employees. They are a great asset of our hotel and work hard to achieve the complete satisfaction of our clients, so we will be congratulating them for a job very well done during your stay.

We are happy you really enjoyed our cuisine both at our buffets and specialty restaurants and highlighting its quality and variety, and also very pleased that you liked our shows.

We appreciate your constructive criticism as it gives us guidelines to keep offering the best service to our clients. We are passing your feedback on the different aspects of the room to the departments involved.

We also hope that it will not be another 10 years until your next visit; it would be a real pleasure to serve you again next time you visit Riviera Maya.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was great - beautiful grounds, pool and facilities. The staff was great - very helpful and provided very good service. I had a few minor issues though. I hate having to pay for internet access. I know this is common in nice hotels but I always feel 'robbed' by this charge as I doubt it costs them that much to provide. Isn't this place supposed to be 'ALL inclusive'?? Afterall, I can get free wifi at comfort Suites and Super 8!

There are a few mosquitos here but I dont really blame the resort for this (mostly out of their control) and they are very small (only mild itching). Insect repelent fixed the problem.

The room was nice but the bed was pretty hard.

The entertainment at night starts kind of late (9:30) and goes to near midnight. It would be rather loud if you have a room near the stage (everything is open-air here except the room). Fortunately we did not so no problem for us but I would recommend getting a room close to the pool and beach (away from the stage). Also, the Howler Monkeys WILL wake you up at 5am everyday if you are near them (which we were). They are very loud in the mornings. So if you want a quiet, good nights sleep, this may not be the place for you (kids would probably love it though).

The only other thing the bugged me was the difficulty in getting into the premium restaurants for dinner. It was sometimes hard to get a reservation (be sure to do that first thing when you get there) even though much of the time a third of the tables were used. I dont understand that.

Lastly, there were a significant number of smokers at this hotel (perhaps because there were alot of Europeans, Mexicans and South Americans there). We didnt have a problem in the restaurants but they were all around the pool and lobby bar and just about everywhere else. The only saving grace was the breeze off the ocean if you picked your pool chairs strategically.

In general, I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the open air stage and the howler monkeys (although I dont think there are many units that can do both)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal as your holiday’s destination and for taking time to share you experience.

We appreciate your positive evaluation about the beautiful hotel premises and the friendliness of our staff members. At Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service.

We regret to hear a few areas that you felt uncomfortable with; most of them have been looked into by our Management based on previous reviews. We keep a standard in all our beds when it comes to its firmness; nevertheless we also have toppers to soften and make the bed more comfortable. We have also de option of leaving extra pillows and extra blankets in the rooms upon guest request.

We would like to inform you that our booking system is based on restaurant seatings for our 5 specialty restaurants at 18:30, 19:00, 20:30 and 21:00. We want our guests to enjoy a nice dinner, which is why we do not reserve all tables in each seating. If we book all tables in one seating, our guests might be forced to eat faster and the experience would not be relaxing. Booking every table in the 4 seatings also leads guests to wait for previous guests to finish their meals and are enjoying their evening, and that eventually causes a whole delayed reservation system, which affects many guests and the service overall. We thank you for your understanding regarding this situation.

It will be a pleasure to host you back in the near future. Our team is always willing to follow up with any request within our reach in order to ensure an enjoyable vacation for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at the Iberostar Toucan. We were a family of 4; children ages 10 and 12. We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. The property is wonderful. It's a great family resort. We loved the wooded paths and all the different birds and animals. We even saw the family of monkeys one morning! It's a great international resort with folks from all over Europe, North America and South America. That was fun! Most of the staff spoke English well so that was not a problem. As others have said, the rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are HARD! We asked for mattress toppers and they were quickly provided by a very friendly and lovely housekeeper. The activity staff at this resort are fabulous. A tribute to the good people of Mexico! They were SUPER hard and I hope they are rewarded! We especially loved Maurico and is aqua aerobics and Zumba classes and kids show at night! There were plenty of activities and entertainment going all day long. My 12 year old son took the Scuba Discovery class. He spent a couple of hours in training in the morning and then went on an actual dive in the afternoon. It was $175 and he had a great time. He loved his instructor Micki who was terrific. The food at the buffets is good. It was great for a family where there was something to satisfy everyone! There was enough variety for us. No one in our party got sick at this resort and we drank the water AND put ice in our drinks and used tap water to brush our teeth -- not one! So that was not a problem at all. As others have commented, we tried to book reservations at the restaurants but the 8:30/9:00 times we were given were too late for our family. Plus, we enjoyed the kids show in the theater at 8pm and didn't want to miss that so we stuck with the buffet. The beach is gorgeous. My only complaint is that due to the nearby jetski, scuba and parasail operations, you were smelling diesel fuel all day when sitting on the beach! And even though they say you cannot reserve chairs at the pool, EVERYONE DOES IT. After 2 days of arriving around 9am and not finding any chairs, we had to join the fray. The towel stand does not open until 8 and we finally realized that people keep towels from the day before and get out there before the towel stand even opens! I would agree with others that the tropical drinks were quite LAME. My husband finally asked one day if we could get a "real" Margarita and they did oblige. The lack of wireless internet was kind of a bummer. I know you are on vacation, but being able to brag about being in the carribbean on facebook would have been fun! :-)

I would have given this resort 5 stars except for 1 problem: we were delayed on our trip there due to a snow storm in Boston and we missed our connection to Cancun and had to stay over in Chicago and take the first flight out the next morning. We booked our trip through Expedia and that night in Chicago we called to let them know that we were still coming the next day. However, when we got to the hotel we were told our reservation was cancelled even though it was PAID IN FULL! We spent an agonizing hour worried that we were stranded in Mexico! We're not sure who to fault here so we will give the resort the benefit of the doubt. They produced an e-mail from THEIR reservation department saying the reservation was a "no show". But we never cancelled it. And after reaching someone at Expedia we were told they never cancelled it. We understand mistakes happen, but what upset us was that we felt we were treated like we did something wrong. The reception person basically showed us to a phone and told us to deal with it ourselves. The matter was finally resolved and they put us in a desirable building right up next to the pool and beach. I would have liked to have seen more of an effort from the reception staff to 1 -- make sure we knew that we had a room at the resort regardless of the outcome of the reservation so we didn't worry for an hour about where we were going to sleep that night! and 2 -- more of an effort on their part to resolve it and not make us feel like we did something wrong!

Room Tip: Building 11 at the Toucan was great!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie66Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your family vacation and for taking time to write a review.

We want to express you how honored we are to acknowledge that the excellent service provided by our friendly staff, the beauty of our hotel and our gastronomy have ensured you an unforgettable experience.

On the other hand, we apologize about the service offered at front desk. We would like to inform you that we have shared your comments with management to look into it and reinforce training where necessary.

We are already looking forward to welcome you back; please feel free to contact us before your arrival.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Mexico and the Iberostar Tucan - my husband, myself, and two teenagers. It is a wonderful resort and I would certainly recommend it. Here are a few things that would have been helpful to me when trying to decide on an all-inclusive in Playa Del Carmen:
BEACH: Beautiful wide beach with soft sand!! No rocks, no seaweed. The ocean water was a bit choppier that we had hoped for, thus we didn't feel comfortable taking out the kayaks and catamarans. There were a few people walking the beach selling cigars/jewelry/etc, but they were polite - not at all pushy. The resort does not provide boogie boards or floats but you can buy them at the gift shop.
LOCATION: The resort in located in Playacar, which is a gated community of homes and resorts that is ~3 square miles and is located within Playa del Carmen. Playacar is very safe - I felt totally comfortable going for a run by myself each morning. It takes about 30-40 minutes to walk to the shopping area of Playa del Carmen, but it is a lovely walk. You can take a cab for $7. There is also a small market area about 5-10 minute walk from the resort - they have a pharmacy, souvenier shops, and a Starbucks.
ROOMS: Clean, basic. Our room had 2 double beds plus a small "sofa" that was perfect for our teenage son. There was some storage for clothing but not enough for 4 people - we ended up just using our suitcases. The TV was a bit old, but we didn't spend much time watching it anyhow. AC, shower, etc all worked just fine.
INTERNET: It cost $5 for 15 minutes of internet access in the lobby. No internet access from the rooms.
FOOD: Buffet food was decent, not gourmet by any means - large variety of foods so it was always possible to find something tasty to eat. You are guarenteed reservations at 3 of the specialty restaurants if you stay for a week, and the food at these is pretty good.
RESORT: Absolutely beautiful grounds. It takes 5-10 minutes to walk from one end of the resort to the other, but the walking paths are all so beautiful that it is a pleasure. The staff are all pleasant and attentive.
ACTIVITIES: The activities include group tennis lessons, group bike ride around Playacar, air rifle shooting, archery, darts, bingo, salsa dancing lessons, aqua aerobics,yoga, scuba lessons in the pool, water polo, water volleyball, beach volleyball, beach soccer. I am sure that I have forgotten a few. There is basically an activity each hour or so from 8:00 AM until 4:00 PM. The Star Friends who run the activities are lots of fun and do a great job of encouraging participation. The week we went was school vacation week, so many of the activities were over crowded, but still fun. Each evening they have a show that starts at 9:30 PM - they were cute, could have been a bit more professional, but enjoyable none the less.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jmsShrewsbury_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for you kind review of your recent stay at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We are very grateful that you highlighted the beauty of our beach, our grounds, great location and activities! Thanks for appreciating our staff’s hard work and also our large variety of food and its quality.

We are happy to announce that we will be having internet in all rooms this year, responding to our guests’ requests.

We hope you visit us again soon, please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything you need.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our reservations were for the Quetzal but we were booked into building 17 on the Tucan side. We asked for quiet and that's what we received. Throughout our stay, everything we received or were involved in was exactly as represented. The whole stay went very smoothly.

The hotel is well maintained but lived in. The staff is very friendly and always working to make our stay more enjoyable. The food was fine and if you looked, yes, there were new offerings everyday. We enjoyed the specialty restaurants, the morning buffet, and the buffet on the shore.
The wait staff acknowledged my wife's birthday including singing "Happy Birthday".
The beach was perfect, we used both palapas and umbrellas. We feel the umbrellas offer a great
option if 100% sun is more than you are looking for and you couldn't find an empty palapa. The beaches are in great shape! People watching is entertaining. The walks along the beach were
relaxing.

We would definitely stay here again. The proximity to Playa Del Carmen is great for our morning walks.

Room Tip: Building 17 is right across from the buffet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Layner51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guests!

Thank you so much for choosing Tucan & Quetzal and for taking the time to write a review and share it with the rest of the online community.

We are very satisfied to read that your expectations were met and your stay went so well. Thanks for your kind words about our beautiful grounds and our staff. Without them we wouldn’t be able to reach our main goal, which is the complete satisfaction of our clients. We are happy you appreciated the small gesture towards your wife’s birthday :-)

Thank you for mentioning our beautiful beach, it is really spectacular, as the amazing sunsets you can watch from the lovely white sand.

We are thrilled to read that you would come back to our resort, we would be honored to serve you again at your home away from home Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews