We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$227
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$753
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,001)
Filter reviews
7,001 results
Traveler rating
4,300
1,922
509
163
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,300
1,922
509
163
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelmagic showplenty of chairsapple vacationscab ride
Filter
Updating list...
2,298 - 2,303 of 7,001 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Dear trippers,

Where do we start? it was just amazing!! great lokation, great service, very nice food a great beach, great beds and a huge swimmingpool! Iberostar Tucan deserves a medal for a great balance of price and all the things mentioned above. My wife and I enjoyed Tucan for 7 nights!

A few details we would like to mention. The resort is a 45-60 minutes drive away from the Cancun airport. Near this resort you will find a small shopping and souvenir area.You can walk there in about 10-15 minutes. There is also a Star Bucks and a free wifi if you order something you will get a code to log into the www. We also took a short taxi ride (7 USD) to the 5th Avenue of Playa del Carmen. Go and see it if you want to taste the Mexican sphere. From there you can also take the ferry to the isle of Cozumel. Since we have been there in 2001 we skipped that part, but we absolutely advise you to go there, because its beautiful.
So far for now! enjoy Iberostar Tucan like we did!
The Heinles.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHeinles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We are really happy to read that you were happy with our hotel’s service, location, gastronomy, rooms and all our facilities.

We work hard to achieve the complete satisfaction of our clients so comments like yours are really motivating and we are sure will prove helpful for the rest of the travelers who are planning their holidays right now 

Thanks for your tips to other travelers too!

We hope that next time you visit Mexico, you choose us once again, as it would be a pleasure to host you at Iberostar Tucan.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent staff.. Bar staff are some of the best I have ever encountered on my numerous trips.. especially Santos at the Pool bar. Front Desk check in and check out were superb. All of the Maids were fantastic.. rooms were clean..beaches fantastic and just good times..I would go back in a heart beat

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank walbych63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!! We are grateful you shared it with the rest of the online community, since it may help others choose us in the future :-)

Our staff is the most important asset we have to reach our main goal, which is the complete satisfaction of our clients, so we will definitely share your comments with them, especially with Santos; your words are very encouraging and motivational and remind us why we love what we do.

We do hope that as you said, you come back. It would be a real pleasure to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from another fantastic vacation at the Iberostar Tucan. I can't say enough about the Staff there. Very helpful and courteous. I sent an email with a request before we left. Knowing that the resort was very busy this time of year. However the reservation staff was spot on, with the request I sent.
The waitstaff and House keeping were fantastic. Don't forget the entertainment staff (Star Friends) They are there for you from 9am until 11pm. great job.
The food was very good with something for everyone at the buffets. The three restaurants we went to were very good as well. The Mexica, Grill, And Steak house.
The beach is beautiful with plenty of lounge chairs. It does pay to get to the beach early for a prime spot. Same with the beautiful pool.
Many people think that just because it is an All Inclusive, you don't need to tip. I have been in the service business for 25 years and can appriciate hard work. A small tip of a dollar here and the can make your vacation even better. Although you will still get great service anyway. Visit and ENJOY !

Room Tip: Beds are hard. Request a topper for your bed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seabilltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear guest,

We are so grateful for your delightful review and of course for your loyalty towards our hotel.

We feel honored to read that you were really happy with our kind and hardworking staff. We will be passing you comments on to all of them, since they do deserve recognition for their hard work.

We are happy too that you liked our food so much and that we were able to accommodate your request.

We would love to host you again in the near future, it would be a pleasure to attend any request you may have.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been back to this hotel 3 times with my family, once just as a couple. I definitely think this is a great hotel for families; there is so much for the kids to do. The staff are great, so friendly and always saying "Hola". The only let down is the gym - it needs air conditioning. The choice of a la carte resturants is great and the buffett is fantastic for breakfast and lunch, but I tend to like something a bit more special for dinners, which is only a personal thing.
The beach is just beautiful and is only one hotel from the end of the strip, so you can wander to the end of it and be the only people there. For the money we paid, the whole trip is such excellent value

Room Tip: Not one near the night club. Ask if you can have one near the sea front - many times we did and that was what we got!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for having chosen Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal once again for your holidays. We also thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your third stay among us.

We would like to express how pleased we are to hear that you had enjoyed another unforgettable experience among us after your first visit. At Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service and to offer a varied gastronomy so we are happy to read your assessment of both aspects of our services and take into account your feedback about the dinner buffet.

We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and offer a very special service!

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Second visit to this resort, this time with our two 12 year olds. Very family-friendly, lots of on site activities to keep everyone happy. The wild animals were amazing, with Howler monkeys visible from our balcony each day. Safe environment to allow our kids to do things without us. Our son even took the 2 day scuba certification class (extra fee) without us and was well taken care of by the dive team. The food was plentiful, but quality was not over the top. The website should be updated with more details as it is lacking. For instance, we wanted 2 connected rooms. The website had no details, nor did our travel agent. I emailed the hotel ahead of time asking if they could make sure to locate our two rooms directly next to each other. They said they would try, and indeed when we checked in they did. But at check in we also learned that they did have rooms with connecting doors. We had to wait two days and then a set was available and they moved us into it. So they were very accomodating, but the lack of details up front was frustrating. Hotel staff, especially the activities people, were fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank Bjorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the hotel Management we would like to thank you for posting your review about your experience at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal and for choosing our hotel for your vacations.

We are very pleased to read that our beautiful premises and the service provided by our friendly staff ensured you a memorable holiday. At Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service.

On the other hand, we have shared your suggestions regarding the food quality and the lack of information prior to your arrival. Thank you so much for your feedback on these departments.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again, please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews