We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always comeback to here no matter how many other hotels we look at .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #46 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Will be returning for 3rd time in a row next may to this hotel and yes a few improvement here and there are needed. But this is a excellent hotel in a good location with a lovely beach with some lovely if not cheaky lol wildlife roaming around the resort. Food is outstanding best steak ive ever had here, staff are friendly and hard working. Plenty of things going on around the pool all day the evening shows are of a good quality but once you have seen them all its nothin new. I have seen and heard that this hotel has undergone some improvement over the last few months i look forward to seeing them in person . Would recomend the hotel to all ages, couples, families plenty for everyone cannot wait to return .

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor.
Your insightful comments are highly appreciated.
Thank you again for sharing your trip with others who may be considering a stay
with us. Looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again,
receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,242 - 2,248 of 6,652 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had many family and friends staying at the Tucan for our wedding... I can't think of anything I would change. It was PERFECT. We had a blast at the beach and just hanging out.. and our wedding planner, Alejandra was so so great. She took care of everything.. didn't have to worry or think about a thing.

I also love that the resort has a jungle and all kinds of animals.. every trip you make anywhere, you will run into some kind of wild life.

We had a GREAT experience and would definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank ttraveler167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation and having your wedding at this hotel. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a great time at this resort. We researched it beforehand like many of you are. Stayed in block 17, although we had asked for another building, we booked last minute and there was nothing available. This location was good though bc we were infront of the buffets, close to the lobby, and a nice walk through the jungle to the pool/beach.
Like many have said before, this is no place for high heels. Wedges ok.
Food was excellent. While not every item was excellent, there was plenty of food option that were delicious and filling. Breakfast was my fave. Service was VERY good. Have travelled to Cuba several times, DR as well. Our first experience in Mexico (here at Iberostar) was a very good one. Employees went above and beyond to serve us well. Tips are not expected, and we didnt always tip, but we did take notice of who really deserved tips and tipped very well. You get to know the servers after a few days.
Beach buffet and grill are awesome. It doesnt get better than going to eat in your bathing suit.
Ice cream hut was equally as awesome. LOVED the coconut icecream.
Paella on the beach was THE GREATEST lunch ever!!! Man, it was sooo good.
In terms of food, mexico puts cuba to shame. Everything was yummmmmmmmyyyyy!!!
No complaints really. Pool was great, large, with kid friendly areas. Beach was ok, nothing compared to Cuban beaches, but ok. If you love snorkelling do the snorkel excursion!! I did it once, hubby did it twice. It was sooo great and not too expensive.
Nice 10min walk to the Playa Car shopping plaza. Not a far drive to town for other things (we made a walmart run for my toddlers milk needs).
Had an awesome veal dish at the italian restaurant. Hubby had lasagna and wasnt impressed. Steak house meat was tooo tough. Not overly impressed. Honestly, the buffet was great for us...
Coffee isnt that great (expresso), not impressed about that for a latin country.
Had a great time and would totally go back :)

Room Tip: 14 is great, right in the jungle if you like that. stayed in 17, good central location. anyroom you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumita_rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in October.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at the Tucan Oct.18 - 25, 2012. We found this resort to be pleasant, but not outstanding.
Upon arrival, front desk did not have our names for our reservations. (there were 6 couples).
We were finally assigned rooms all in building 13, a very good location.
Our room were fresh and clean, although somewhat dated. On the balcony of the room which my husband and I occupied, the monkeys came to visit several times a day. Although we never fed or encouraged them, the came right up to the door, moved the furniture . We were unable to use the balcony.
Food in the buffets was ok, but there were not the beautiful carvings and other nice presentations that we have seen in other resorts. On the other hand, the theme restaurants were very good. Drinks were ok. Service was good enough.
The entertainment was very well done and activities were fun. The staff was reasonably friendly.
Loved the gorgeous beach! Charming grounds.
We have stayed in 6 resorts in Cancun and Riviera Maya. Tucan was nice, but not our favorite.

Room Tip: Buildings 12 and 13 are close to beach and pools. Closer to the trees, more monkeys!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Firstnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The experience overall was great! We greatly enjoyed the friendly and hard working staff. A shout out to Natalia and all those who make up the entertainment at the Iberostar tucan. Very hard working and fun people. The meals were wonderful. The choices very good. We have travled to the area in previous trips,however this was by far our favorite.The beach was very nice! We were able to wade out pretty far with no rocks or other funky stuff. Just a nice layer of soft sand.The pool is really large and very clean.The wildlife in the form of monkeys,peacocks and agouti's among others was a delight.They just roam free and bother no one in the process which is certainly a surprise as far as monkeys are concerned. Overall a quality vacation that we would recommend to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank sunburnVillaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor.
Your insightful comments are highly appreciated.
Thank you again for sharing your trip with others who may be considering a stay
with us. Looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again,
receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

And I would definely choose this hotel again. Everybody is nice and very kind and friendly. Many says the beds are hard, but we think, they were very ok.
Iberostar Friends make a great job to do activities for the guest, and every day, there are activities for different choice at any age- dance-lessons, Aqua-Gym, competitions, water-football and off-course shows in the night.

Room Tip: Depending if You want to be close to the pool or the restaurants, both is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henriette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My new wife and I just got married here Oct 21. We had a small group of 10 with us and everyone was very happy. Our wedding was great everything was planned very well without any hassle. The wedding cordinator was excellent she made it so easy we met the second day with her for 20 minutes and that was it. We used Adventure photo and they were great as well they were located next door. As for the rest of the resort. The food was great we have stayed at several RIUs as well and there food is not even close. Yes the beds are hard but I could handle it for a week just have another cocktail. The pool bar was cold and needed a little attention. The main pool was great warm and very large never felt crowded, there was always a waitress coming around for drinks. The beach was great nice soft sand and thenwater was really warm. It was calm for the first few days then we had some big waves. That worked good for boogie boarding. If you rent a boogie board beware the guys in the towel shack try and make extra money from that. Ours got a little messed up and he said he needed another $25 cash to replace it I told him I would take it up with the front desk next thing you know it was fine no big deal he said. Walking through the jungle was cool seeing all the animals and monkeys everywhere. We had our wedding dinner at the steakhouse and it was great, we went to the mexican one evening and it was not anything special, friends of ours went to the japenese and they said it was great. As for the bars beer is beer and yea the alchol is not top shelf but that did not seem to bother anyone in our group. We wil return very soon we just booked another Iberostar in Jamacia fornthe honeymoon cannot wait!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hook98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in October.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay and wedding with us.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
686 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,565 reviews
23.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,132 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $200 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing