We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #46 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hi !

we have just spent 10 days here with thomas cook.

upon arrival we were taken to our room quickly by the bell boy....all my requests which i emailed to the hotel had been granted.....which i was very happy about.

we were in block 17.....excellent location but you can hear the shows in the evening.

the hotel was clean and well kept, we only spent 1 day on the beach and choose the pool. although you are asked not to reserve your sunbeds this rule is completly ignored and we found unless you were down by 9am then you would get a very shaded bed. the waitress service around the pool was excellent we tipped a few pesos a day.....although the drink quality was very hit and miss....some drinks strong and some no rum at all.....

we ate in all the restaurants.....japanese.....hhhmmmmm its just grilled chicken and beef....really nothing special.....

the hotel would benefit from putting on the ceiling fans in the lobby bar.....

overall we had a good holiday

Room Tip: email ahead with your requests
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,604)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Tucan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,252 - 2,258 of 6,604 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stayed at many Iberostars around the world and this is truly one of the best! I wont go much in to detail as i think you should go and check it out for yourself's and you wont be disappointed! Excellent standards at every aspect!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor.
Your insightful comments are highly appreciated.
Thank you again for sharing your trip with others who may be considering a stay
with us. Looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again,
receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tucan for 5 nights returning 9/22. To put it right out there, we are not high end type of people; we enjoy nice, decent places to visit; we don't enjoy haughty, demanding people, just relaxing good times. We are in our late 40's and this was a 25th wedding anniversary trip. We have stayed in various places in Cozumel a half dozen times; this was our first trip to PDC.

We had great flights on Usairways. After arriving in Cancun, we took the yellow cab deal for transport to the hotel; 64 bucks one way, for round trip it was only 32 bucks more so we took the deal. We had booked the trip on Expedia roughly one week prior and did not add in ground transportation.

Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted at the front desk and not so nicely informed that they did not have a reservation for us. The front desk, including the manager when we asked for him took a "not our fault" attitude. It was a 2 hour wait to get a room; they simply dialed Expedia and handed us the phone. The phone had a terrible volume on it; I could barely hear the person on the other end. Instead of a "how can we help" response I expected from the hotel, I got the same "you solve it attitude" that another poster complained of.

The physical property was very pleasant. The wildlife was a neat side attraction. The room was pleasant and housekeeping outstanding; we left her a tip everyday. AC in room set to coolest was just so-so. Bed was hard but tolerable. We are used to them in Mexico.

Wait staff was good; food was generally good. We did the steakhouse, Japanese, and Italian. All nice and well presented. The buffet appetizers were good. The specialty restaurants have either no ac or poor ac. This made meals short and not enjoyable. It was so hot in the public areas, I would literally have to go and change immediately before going to dinner (with mandatory long pants) and then change right after.

The drinks were adequate; nothing to rave about and much better in Cozumel. The best beer is from the mini bar in the room. Waiters and waitresses were pleasant and quick to please.

We barely did any shows as it was simply too hot to be enjoyable. The same was true with hanging around the bar and socializing; simply too hot to be much fun and no place for relief. I usually enjoy the heat, but the way the resort is configured, the air doesn't move.

The beach was nice. Very wavy. I did one dive with the hotel. It was a shallow one dive in the afternoon. We spent 20 minutes on the sandbed before making the way against the current to the room. That sucked. The reef was unremarkable compared to Coz. Not much of fish life as I expected. Perhaps it was because the dive site was almost underneath were the ferry ran.

We did the Xplore park. Just grabbed a cab and did it on our own. Highlight of the trip; not crowded at all. My wife got freaked out by a large snake slithering on a railing when coming around a corner on one of the towers. It is a solid 4 hour trip to do all the attractions and you do burn calories on the multiple climbs.

On the second to the last night we had some young jerks who came in at 4 am yelling and screaming next door, and then yabbering loudly about female anatomy and procreation tactics for another half hour. They repeated the behavior the following night. We didn't have confidence the front desk would resolve so we just tolerated it.

We walked into PDC and bought some jewelry from a guy at "Artesanias" (DO NOT USE THIS GUY!)on the right about a quarter of the way down. He said he recognized us from the hotel, he worked PT in the steakhouse and his wife supervises in guest relations. He won my wife's confidence and she bought a ring and necklace from him. He did calculations on his calculator for the best deal. He offered his deals at an exchange rate of 15 to one instead of 12.8 to one. After checking my card balance on the last night, I found this not to be the case and he essentially charged us several hundred dollars extra. We complained to the hotel that this guy was using the hotel and his employment to his illicit advantage. No response from the hotel.

On the last day there was a problem with our cab. We had to get a different cab, and then get reimbursed at the airport our original 32 bucks for the return fare. The front desk was once again of no help to facilitate the issue, same response, "here's the phone".

All in all we expected a lot more after reading the reviews. We were disappointed with this hotel/company/ and Expedia. It would take a lot for us to try Iberostar again, or PDC for that matter. I know I am in the minority with this review. If it was one thing, I'd overlook, but it was simply too many and again, the front desk is the face of the property and as my wife and our are both managers in our professions, it is sad that this is the case for management at is otherwise a nice property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank kyleinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, we are deeply sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. We appreciate the time you have invested in writing this feedback.

After carefully reading your review. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with our different services and facilities. We are definitely looking into this situation as our staff must be committed to high standard and personal service in order to ensure continued customer satisfaction.

We also would like to mention that recently our maitre has added a great variety of wines; each one is offered according to the specialty restaurant. Our intention is to try to fulfill as much as possible all our guests’ need in this area. As we understand that our guests expectations could be different, we have the optional service with extra charge for certain wines that are not part of the all inclusive.

On the other hand, our hotel has been working to improve our facilities and services, all the TV's have been changed to flat wide screens with new features.

All this has been made with the only intention to gain our guests' trust and have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. We always strive for our guest’s satisfaction, and it is much appreciated when our guests forward all their petitions and concerns to do all within our reach to assure our guests will enjoy their vacation with us.

We regret to hear that our premises did not fulfill your expectations. We value our hotels natural surrounding as it represents one of our main attractions along with the breathtaking Caribbean atmosphere. Some facilities such as the spa, some restaurants, stores, rooms, among others do have air conditioning system; the rest of the facilities due to the hotel style and structure are open air.
Hopefully, we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future so you can experience the improvements in our facilities and services that will be accomplished thanks to our guests’ feedbacks.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 wks in September 12 and I must say that overall we had a good holiday. The staff are warm and friendly and the place is spotless . The grounds are beautiful with lots of wild animals to see. I would not rate this a 4.5 star hotel though as the food is not the best and if you choose to dine ale carte the steak house is about the best place to dine. The hotel bars are not very comfortable as the chairs all need reupholstered , the pool area is ideal for children and very safe but stay away from the swim up bar as the concrete floor is all broken and you could cut yourself. The big pool is great though and very warm. Plenty of sun beds and lots going on around the pool and the beach. The drinks are of good quality and you can order any cocktail you so desire. Bedrooms are kept clean and you can have clean towels everyday if you wish. Tip the maid every day and your fridge will be topped up with drinks daily . Overall a nice hotel. Xxxx

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in September.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

stayed at the tucan for 7 nights in april of 2012,this was our 2nd visit .we liked it so much the first time we decided to return with friends.its scary recommending a resort to friends you want them to like it as much as you did and not feel like you steered them wrong.well they loved it as much as we did the grounds are beautiful the food is very good the palapas are plentiful and the beach is the most beautiful we have been to.the iberostar is a wonderful chain of resorts we have also stayed at the iberostar bavaro in punta cana, very nice .The proximity to playa del carmen is a wonderful chance to experience some night life head down to some of the clubs along the water in playa you wont be disappointed.we felt very safe going to playa at night there is only cab service you use and they are very professional.the rooms here are very nice and the housekeeping service is very good we always tipped the housekeeper very well she workes very hard.we thought this resort was very beautiful the grounds have a nature preserve running through the center and the foliage and buildings have a very tropical feel.Beautiful

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tricia12262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear guest:

We would like to express our gratitude to dedicate your time and attention to share your kind compliments on the hotel; we are more than pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We feel really proud and honored reading your comments which we will be extremely pleased to share with our staff and extend them your congratulations and thanks.
Please be assured that all the assistance, friendliness and team dedication you have experienced is part of the Iberostar team.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at in the next future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week for our 30th anniversary and really enjoyed it. The wildlife was an added bonus. The Tucan is a very beautiful place and we have no problem recommending it very highly. We were in building 14 on the Tucan side and it backs up to the jungle. Quite a treat for two central Illinois folks who only are used to hearing cows and pigs!! We were entralled by all the variety and beauty at the resort. We are not big party folks so the music at night went a little late for our taste, but it in no way diminished our enjoyment. The beach is absolutely stunning - especially at night or earlier in the morning - with that incredible white sand, and the even more incredible crystal clear blue/turquoise water.

The food was great and even though we did see some duplication across resaurants, if you couldn't find enough variety and quality, you may want to examine your standards - they may be a bit unreasonable!! :-) Our only problem was that we ate WAY too much and it's going to take some time and effort to shed some of the weight we may have gained. The staff was very nice and everone had a ready smile and, "Buenas Dias!" for us. I believe we liked Iberostar Tucan better than any we have visited in the past. We give it 5 stars!! Thanks for making our special anniversary trip even more special!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear guest:

We would like to express our gratitude to dedicate your time and attention to share your kind compliments on the hotel; we are more than pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We feel really proud and honored reading your comments which we will be extremely pleased to share with our staff and extend them your congratulations and thanks.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at in the next future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tucan for 7 days last year and liked it so much that we decided to go back this year for 12 days. It was like we had been there not long ago!
Hats off to the entire staff (especially Ofelia at the beach, Mery at the reception, star friends).
Food was very good; some people say it is repetitive but the trick is not to taste everything all at once. There is more than enough variety to satisfy everyone.
Enjoyed Steakhouse (choose the tenderloin) and Japanese restaurants.
Beautiful grounds and beach. Pool is great but we are beach bums....
Rooms are clean and spacious; beds are comfortable.
Buildings 13 and 15 on jungle side are great if you want to see monkeys; we were on 3rd floor.
You can purchase a calling card at the reception 1) $25 to call US and Canada (landlines only) and 2) $45 to call US and Canada (landlines and cell phones. Calls are to be made from your room and calling card is valid for 7 days.
See you soon, Iberostar Tucan!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review; it was a pleasure reading it! We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest!

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your recent Mexican vacations and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
680 reviews
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,084 reviews
23.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,022 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $189 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing