We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Spot in Playa!”
Review of Sala Rosa - CLOSED

Sala Rosa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Delightful bar and tapas popular with locals and tourists, serving delicious food, drinks and artisanal beers, great music and vibe with a beautiful outdoor patio located on 38th Avenue near the corner of 5th Avenue. Daily specials include draft beer, Happy Hour, drink promotions and live entertainment most weekends.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Favorite Spot in Playa!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

It is small, charming, good music, good food, great staff, lovely owners (two lovely French Canadian sisters) - just has a good vibe!!! After living here for 13 years full time, it is my personal favorite place in town. Sala Rosa always has a wide variety or nationalities hanging out. It feels welcoming to all types and ages. It is a nice mix of everything I look for in a local watering hole and don't let me forget to mention the tapas are delicious. I personally love the stuffed dates, special grilled cheese with Gazpacho on the side, the pork sandwich with slaw and the salmon balls. Hear the mushrooms are fantastic but I don't like mushrooms, so I haven't ordered them. My Favorite Spot in Playa.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    12
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique gem”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The beautiful and friendly owners (they are sisters) are always there to greet patrons and make sure your visit will be pleasant. Great drinks, funky music, an eclectic clientele, unique decor and a great food menu--they offer the best bar food I've had. This place keeps improving all the time. Well done!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyNomad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and drink in Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great ambience, nice music. Really nice variety of drink and awesome tapas style food. If you are in Playa del Carmen even for a couple of night, you definitely have to stop there to try the tapas and having a nice drink!!! I will go back there anything that I'm in Playa!!! Good job!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidkodak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see in playa del carmen”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

38th ave is my favorite avenue in all playa so far. Friendliest place with amazing people with good service. My favorite spot is outside bench on the patio. Perfect place to enjoy a nice breeze along with people watching while eating and enjoying drinks. great view. I sometimes find people passing by and taking pictures of this place from the outside so you can imagine architecture of this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Explorer2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreams of bacon wrapped dates + Sangria”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is by far my most favorite local haunt of Playa! I lived in Playa for nearly a year and frequented this charming outdoor hotspot. Off of the beaten path of 12th street bars and clubs, the ambience can't be beat, the sangria will liven your soul, the DJs will keep you energized but are not overly loud that you can't have a fun conversation with friends, and the tapas are some of the most amazing I've tried worldwide. Do not miss a chance to start or end your night out here - you will not regret it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Rosa also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing