We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Playa!”
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Ranked #4 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Venezuelan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Playa!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

And that's saying something. I suggest trying the kaxapa (Cachapa)! The owner--Jose (?)--is an incredibly charming man who greets each table and even remembered our orders from our first visit. Could be because we dined with locals but, either way, this place is a must visit if in Playa Del Carmen.

Helpful?
Thank PShankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,763
    306
    88
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This place was awesome. Great food, excellent, friendly service, at a fair price. I will eat here every time I come! The owner is such a kind, friendly man!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JWMillertyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Real Venezuelan food in Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

It may not be in the best area of Playa del Carmen or the most glamorous place but it has delicious food in a cute appropriate place.
I'm Venezuelan and live in California, we don't have a place like that there, it was like being in Venezuela. Family run business, the Mom makes the food, the Dad the incredible juices and the daugther wait on the tables.
Try all the arepas ( Reina Pepeada, Carne Mechada, La Peluda...) then the Cachapas were excellent- with pork!! and then we also had the typical dish: Pabellon.
It was nice to support this family business but nicer to have such great food!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mariedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like home!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

If you want to eat real Venezuelan food don't miss the opportunity to visit Kaxapa in Playa. The food was delicious and fresh and the services friendly and outstanding. We visited two different times and they treat us like old friends. I love it and I will go again in my next visit to Playa.

Helpful?
Thank Alty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“WOW and WOW again”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I was introduced to Kaxapa by a loyal customer. This is a treat .... a laid back family enterprise that offers quality at a very reasonable price. The portions are large, and the atmosphere is friendly.
The assortment of homemade juices was a fun taste experience. Ingredients are fresh, and interesting. You won't be disappointed in the deserts with corn cake and coconut flan on the menu. It's a wonderful place that has built its fan base on the excellence of its food. Who needs atmosphere? You can find plenty of atmosphere and inflated prices in other tourist sections of Playa Del Carmen.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank womantraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing