We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Doesn't exist?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Calle 10 Norte y 15-20 Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 803 5023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,091 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doesn't exist?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We walked for an hour trying to locate this place. Does it exist? Where is it? Next to what stores? In dying for veg food!! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ong4490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,415
    237
    64
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Serris, France
Level Contributor
172 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“A liitle taste of Venezuela in Playa del Carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went here after reading all the great reviews on TA and we weren't disapointed.

The setting is very simple with 6 or so tables outside and the inside is where all the cooking takes place

As soon as we sat down the owner brought us the menus and gave us a complete run down of the specialities. He then brought us out 4 different glasses of juices and drinks to try while we read through the menu and made our choice.

The drinks were delicious and we decided on having the Venezuelan lemonade @ 25 pesos and a Venezuelan Chicha which was similiar to a Mexican Horachata @ 30 pesos

We both tried the Pabellón criollo @ 80 pesos. This is the Venezuelan national dish and it was superbe.

You've got black beans with salty cheese next to shredded beef and rice with fried plantain slices. There's a mini Arepa than comes with it too.

Every bite was so full of flavour that we didn't want the meal to end.

The owner is a lovely man, very warm and friendly, not at all pushy. The food is fabulous and I can't wait to return to try one of the other dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charliehonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sweet little place with Big flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The pictures of the Patacón is what brought us here. We decided to make Kaxapa Factory our first meal when we arrived in Playa. We stopped in and were greated so kindly from the owner. He chatted up with us and went over the menu. Everyone pretty much already knew what they wanted from the pictures we've seen online. We were here for their famous Patacón. Since everyone else got that, I decided to get their arepa and an empanada.

Their meats are so juicy and has tons of yummy Venezuelan flavors. We washed it down with their fresh juices. They have a variety of juices for you to sip and try before making your choice.

We were disappointed we couldn't stop by again on our trip.. but it was best first meal and it will probably be again when we return to playa!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty food and amazing fresh juice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a really great option for lunch, especially but not only if you are vegetarian. There is a lot of choice of dishes which use quality ingredients. And the juice...! He brought us a little selection of juices to try when we arrived and they were so delicious it was impossible to resist ordering large glasses with our meal (this did put the total price up a bit, but it was worth it). Its a family-run place and the owner is friendly in a genuine way that is somewhat difficult to find in this town. Easy to reach location on Av. Constituyentes, just round the corner from 5th Avenue but a world away in many other respects. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geranibub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extraordinary. Abolutely extraordinary.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The only thing more amazing than the food here is the service. Warm people serving extraordinary food . . . nothing could be better.

In all seriousness, Kaxapa Factory, you need to open a restaurant in New York (maybe Kaxapa Shop?). Sure, we have a couple of places where you can get Arepas, but your food puts theirs to shame. Really, honestly, truthfully, you would make a killing here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ringcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing