We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Ranked #3 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We found this place thanks to Tripadvisor and we really enjoyed the dinner there. A wonderful family run restaurant with very friendly staff and terrific, reasonably priced fresh food. The samples of the drinks was fabulous. The four of us ended up with the same type of dinner, so the waitress brought samples of other menu items for us to taste. We will definitely go back to eat there again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLNColumbia_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,662
    279
    84
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Holy Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great place!!

Thank you dear tripadvisores for letting me know about this place

I came there with some friends, and had so much fun and amazing food, we came back the next day

We fell inlove with the staff,

Hope this stay a little ,cheap and special gem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodexperto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Closest Venezuela's tastes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I lived in Playa del Carmen, and I know very well how the things works over there. This restaurant is simple single nice cause the next things:
-Easy to find, easy to go!
-Cheap
-Authentic, regional

If you have never been in Venezuela or America Central, and if you are in México now or you are planning to travel there, do not hesitate to visit this restaurant, here you will have an sample of how is the food in a big part of the central continent.

Then you'll have you own review.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramón G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Two teens and parents wowed by the charming Venezuelan family running this restaurant. Felt so bad for next door neighbor restaurant with no business two nights in a row. Kaxapa is unique, and therefore can get away with being off Avenida Quinta. My guess is that Kaxapa customers find it by searching for meatless meals, as we did. Arepas, Cachapas, Empanadas, just fabulous. Unique fruit drinks (one tasted like a rice pudding shake). Primarily outdoor seating. Our favorite: the veggie-zuelan pabellon turnover. Meat lovers will not feel cheated here if they go meatless, and there are meat options as well. I'm a tough critic. Can't say enough nice things about this very humble gem. Felt guilty when the modest bill arrived.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RaymondAsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Once again amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We first visited this restaurant last August and found the food and value amazing. On our recent trip this August we were just as blown away. Not only was the food delicious but the owner remembered us. Such a friendly family run place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank absnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing