We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarians rejoice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Ranked #3 of 1,154 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vegetarians rejoice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasure to find a place that caters to freaks like me who don't eat meat or fish, (though they do serve it.) We ordered a bean and cheese empanada (warning - it's fried, so if you are calorie counting you should opt for something else), the meal with beans, rice, veggies and plantains, and (for my husband) a chicken sandwich thing (sorry - forgot the Argentinean names). Everything was absolutely delicious! My husband was absolutely swooning over the chicken. We would eat there again today but it's closed Mondays. We will go back tomorrow. The server explained the menu and brought a sampling of three juices. Very good service. Highly recommend especially if you are tired of the tourist places on 5th.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank perozzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,542
    257
    71
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We decided to stop by kaxapa after seeing all the amazing reviews. We had never had Venezuelan so I was intrigued to try and also interested in all the vegan options since I don't eat meat. The owner was incredibly friendly and welcoming to us. The fresh fruit juices were refreshing and very good. My husband ordered a meat a cheese pocket (can't remember the exact name) which he said was amazing and I has the kaxapa vegan which had beans, plantain, avocado and tofu it was totally amazing! We promised the owner we would come back for our one year anniversary so he could serve us desert. We will definitely fullfil that promise when we are back in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BDix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly, tasty and great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was lovely to discover the Kaxapa Factory thanks to the Tripadvisor reviews, as it was a perfect place for me to have a relaxed lunch and a little chat with Jose, the owner, who is, as everyone says, very friendly and welcoming!

There are several Venezuelan specialities and I think every dish has a vegan and a veggie option too. I ended up having an arepa pelua, which was a kind of corn pancake with shredded beef and manchego cheese. It was delicious, as was the fresh passionfruit juice.

I wish I'd discovered it earlier as I think I would probably have gone back several times during the week, as I found the nearby 5th avenida rather too pricey and "in your face"!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thisnamecantbetaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SO GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I came here after reading the wonderful reviews, and on the recommendation of Paul from The Coffee Stop. Everyone was right on the money. The food at this place is incredible. My wife's kaxapa was one of the most delicious dishes I've ever tasted. My arepa was also incredible. The owner, Jose Ramon, was the nicest guy ever. He was very friendly and funny. His personality made the experience that much better. I can't recommend this place highly enough. GO!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food from South America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We've been to the restaurant twice since we arrived. Very friendly / homy service. Clean, organized and well timed. The food was very good! Delicious arepas, rope vieja and other dishes from Venezuela. We recommend the location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing