We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and welcome experience”
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Ranked #4 of 1,258 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Amazing food and welcome experience”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had to stop by after seeing this small restaurant so highly rated -- we began with the humble and jovial host offering us samples of fresh juice and explaining each Venezuelan dish. We had a chicken kaxapa and also a sandwich type dish with fried plantains as the bread. Everything was delicious. Very fresh and full of flavor, we didn't know what to expect but both dishes were incredible. Also, the host made us feel very welcome, we will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nismo z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,719
    295
    86
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great find!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

amazing service. the owner was so friendly and chatted to everyone in the restaurant. the food was great also and the passion fruit juice was delicious!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadey_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Friendliest host in Playa!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Lunch at Kaxapa lived up to expectations. We had a Kaxapa (stuffed corn pancake) and a sandwich which used fried plantain instead of bread, stuffed with a kind of chicken salad (sorry forget the name). Both were delicious and great value. Same goes for the fresh passion fruit juice. The owner, Jose Ramon, was delightful and definitely the friendliest restaurant owner we have ever come across in Playa. Look for the green awning across from Scotiabank on Constituyentes. Don't miss Kaxapa factory for a taste of authentic Venezuelan food and a chat with the charming owner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LINYKenmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Must Visit Kaxapa!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious! The service was warm and friendly. It is a bit hard to find...if you walk UP on the main 5th Ave, crossover Constituentes, and make a left. Pass the Chocolate Cafe, next block. Look for the green awning. We had the house platillo, $80 pesos. Fruit drinks are $25 pesos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SantiFried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Tasty, something different, nice people”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Very tasty empaniadas, as well as the passion fruit juice and the main dishes. First time trying venezuelian food and very positevly supprised. Very nice people. I really recommend it to try it out. Very good prices

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing