We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must try” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Ranked #3 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Adorable Venezuelan restaurant. Just like eating on the patio of your grandparents house. Charming owner. Jose the happy waiter is precious and very attentive customer. The food is all home made and cooked to order and it is delicious! Good portions and fairly priced. I will eat here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hanksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,660
    279
    83
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful family owned business with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's refreshing to find a family run business in the bustle of Playa. As a recent reviewer said, this place has excellent vegetarian and vegan options. The owner couldn't be more gracious and accommodating and the food is superb and reasonably priced.

NOTE: the owner is a huge Red Sox fan so if you're coming from New England, I suspect a cap or other souvenir would be most welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best service ever... Food is delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Got there after so many nice reviews here. The owner received us with a large smile and as soon as we asked for the juice menu, he prompty came with a tasting of all his juices. I asked about the ice tea and he also handed me some jamaican flower tea to taste before ordering.
The food was tastefull and the portions were generous for the price. Venezuelan food there was much better than many places I tried in Venezuela.
You should give it a try! :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexandreP922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply perfecto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I loved this place. I am mostly vegetarian and always searching for great places to eat. We attempted to eat at this quaint spot on our first day in Playa however the tables were all full so we attempted again the next day and we were so glad we did!

The Kaxapa Chevere was wonderful. Filled with black beans, fried plantain, oaxaca cheese, and avocado, I was delighted and pleasantly full. I ordered an empanada on top of this and when it came I was too full to eat it so had to take out. The juices were a great compliment and the owner spent time explaining the dishes with such detail.

If I ever return to Playa, I will definitely make this an eating destination...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Affordable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is a wonderful little gem in Playa del Carmen! I don't know what's better, the delicious food or the adorable owner! The food is Venezuelan, wonderful little sandwiches made of arepa bread, corn cakes or plantains. The food is so fresh and they also have exotic juices to choose from. I'm a vegetarian, my husband is a real meat-eater and we were both very satisfied! Highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mistinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing