We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Riviera Adventours

Riviera Adventours
Ranked #6 of 374 Tours in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rejuvenate your body, clear your mind and lift your spirit when you reconnect with your senses while you join us as we explore the waters and jungle of the Riviera Maya. In which ever expedition you choose, you will have the opportunity to de-stress, reconnect with your senses and get into your element - it will be an experience of a lifetime that you will never forget! With over (31) years experience exploring the Yucatan Peninsula, our expeditions will give you the opportunity to get to know the wonderful Riviera Maya on a personal basis. We are a local small family business. We offer you private and or small group Expeditions. Our tours are a more rewarding and personal experience, including Small and/or Personal tours which include Swimming with the Turtles; swimming in a beautiful Natural Aquarium amongst a large variety of Tropical fish; a trip into the mysterious Mineral filled depths of one of the World's Largest Underground River and Cave Systems, Snorkeling in the Mesoamerican Coral Reef; visiting the ancient mystical and awe inspiring Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza and Ek Balam Mayan ruins; or snorkel amongst the Whale Sharks for a surreal, once in a lifetime experience; immerse yourself within the peaceful and tranquil serenity of the Sian Ka'an Biosphere or visit the Flamingos at Rio Lagartos. All of our Expeditions include a minimum of four locations each (Most others are two locations for the same price), Fruit, Coffee and a Pastry in the morning, Snacks, Cold Beer, Water, Juice, Soft Drinks throughout the day, Lunch and Round-trip Air-conditioned Transportation and top notch dive quality snorkel equipment. Most of our tours include a (4) course meal at the World Famous “Oscar & Lalo Restaurant, Bar & Grill”. We can also provide you with a private or custom expedition for any of our tours and activities. We look forward to sharing this beautiful paradise with you and having an other Amazing day! Relax and let us be your guide!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our day with Francisco and Marique (sp?) was a highlight of our time in Playa del Carmen. Francisco was a great guide and easy to spend the day with. He was incredibly patient with my mom, who was a little hesitant about some of the experiences and needed some help. It was a fantastic tour with a number of really unique experiences. I would definitely recommend the tour. I was a little hesitant with the price, but thought it was definitely worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sweeschle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    11
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Riviera Adventours made our holiday a dream holiday!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Yair, Virginia and the other staff members from Riviera Adventours really made our holiday a dream holiday. We did four tours with them and loved Tulum, Coba, Ek Balam, Chichen Itza, Sia’an Kaan, cenote Il-Kil, Dos Ojos, swimming with sea turtles at Akumal Bay and zip lining. Riviera Adventours is a small company that works in small groups. The service is great and they avoid the crowds, even at Chichen Itza. Yair could tell us a lot about the Mayan culture and Virginia about the trees and plants in the area. During the water activities we could leave our personal belongings in the van with the driver. The drinks and snacks provided during the drives and the food in the restaurant Oscar and Lalos are great and the monkey, Lalita, is the cutest. She likes to play!

We hope to visit Rio Lagartos and the whale sharks in the future with Riviera Adventours. They are the best!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Siets3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach, florida
2 reviews
“Fun, First Class and Friendly”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We liked Riviera Adventours so much that we booked a 2nd trip with them. They take care of everything from food, snacks, equipment, destinations fees, and even a delicious authentic mexican lunch at their private restaurant. Francisco was an amazing guide that made sure we were having fun, and took all the pictures we wanted at all the destinations. Both trips were amazing as we would HIGHLY recommend you use this tour company if you want to go and see the best places with the nicest people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vmgfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day of our vacation”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Apologies for the lateness of this review. A lot of things happening at home after our 10 day trip to Mexico in June 2012. The memories of our day with Riviera Adventours are still strong even before the Christmas holiday. Anyone who makes it down to the Playa Del Carmen area owes it to themselves to look up Virginia, Francisco, Oscar( and don't forget Lalita) and the rest of the staff and book a day with them. My family did the Tuluum Tour. It was a long fun-filled active day. We started early with a pick-up at the Iberostar Lindo where we were staying. Francisco was prompt and engaging with his excitement and knowledge of the area. Had a nice breakfast pastry and coffee to start our day. We did a self tour of Tuluum. The ruins are fantastic. Loved the beach and the views. We then went zip-lining over cenote, snorkelling in cenote and Akumal Bay, lunch at Oscar and Lalo's( food was fresh and delicious) and finished up the day swimming with some beautiful Loggerhead turtles.After our swim with the turtles, Virginia brought Lalita down for one last photo opportunity. Nice touch Virginia. We had never snorkelled before but it is something we enjoyed doing thanks to Francisco's patience and professionalism. When we made it back to the hotel we were all exhausted but extremely fullfilled. If you like being busy, active and engaged for a full day you want to do this tour. Virginia and Francisco thank you so much and again I'm sorry this took so long to write. We know we have family down in PDC the next time we come to visit.If you want ordinary book someplace else. If you want a personal, warm and family atmosphere go with Riviera Adventours

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NickM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“BEST EXCURSION EVER & THE HIGHTLIGHT OF OUR TRIP!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Can't even describe how impressed we were with this company! Every single personalized detail was thought out including snacks in the van & breakfast treats to start our day. Virginia & her staff are friendly, helpful and truly go above & beyond to make the excursion memorable. We had adults and children in our group and there was something for everyone. Swimming with sea turtles were such a wonderful experience. Meeting and spending time with Lalita and having lunch at the restaurant were Lalita lives was definitely a HUGE highlight of our day!!! The tour guides know how to keep you moving so you can experience so much in one day...as well as they know the right times to get you to places so you aren't waiting in lines. The tour guides know the area well and you feel completely safe with them. We loved swimming in the private cenotes and jumping off the cliffs. We also loved snorkeling in the private lagoon seeing all the gorgeous fish. Swimming in the cenote caves was such an incredible experience as well as zip lining. We can't wait to book our trip again this summer and we will definitely be contacting Virginia for another tour. Plus, we can't wait to see Lalita again!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Halliel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera Adventours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Riviera Adventours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing