We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian Food”
Review of Curry Omm

Curry Omm
Reserve with OpenTable
Curry Omm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #160 of 1,257 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: AV aviacion y 3 sur
Transit: Taxi
Description: We are a small Indian restaurant in Playa, the only one offering a selection of Authentic Indian vegetarian and meat dishes, from Bombay Aloo & Dhal to Chicken Tikka Masala & Lamb Vondaloo. Open Monday to Saturday from 5.00 To 9.20 Pm Please NOTE: We will be closed from Aug 20th to Sep 29th. We will reopen on Sep 30th at 5.0pm.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very small restraunt at begining of 5th street.
Food was lovely. great food cooked fresh. was surprised didnt think it would be as nice. a hidden gem
doesnt look much from the outside but just shows cant judge a book by its cover.
small restraunt only 4 or 5 tables but excellent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Londoner18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curry O, Owner at Curry Omm, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Londer18, thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for Curry Omm. Very happy you enjoyed the food, we like to keep our place small so we can provide an excellent personal service and food that every client deserves.

Looking forward to seeing you back in Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    47
    25
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Food, Excellent Service & Great Prices”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

After a week of either (a) Mexican cuisine, or (b) overpriced Italian / Argentinian food, we were delighted to find Curry Omm. We live in the San Francisco Bay Area, where the quality of Indian food is off the charts, so we weren't sure what to expect. At Curry Omm, we found some of the best Indian foods we've had (outside of dining at our Indian friends' houses when their grandmothers were cooking for us!)

We ordered the papadum, the house-made chutneys, and the lamb vindaloo. All were exceptional. The owner asked us how hot we wanted the curry. My husband always orders it too hot and I get a stomach ache. After we received the perfect dish of vindaloo, we complemented the owner on the spice level. He grinned, winked, and said "I made it a little less spicy than the gentleman ordered because I could tell the lady was worried." Great perceptive service!

We had hoped to visit earlier during our stay but the place was packed. I'd recommend either calling in for a table or planning your visit when it is not a Friday or Saturday night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Indian food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Sorry for late review. We went to curry ominous November and was absolutely delighted to find an Indian restaurant in playa del carmen not sure how we missed it the year before.
It was a very mild but wet evening but we still managed to get a table outside which was great. We were welcomed by Hanish the owner who was lovely and informative. We had starters and a main. The butter chicken and chicken madras all of which were exceptional.. We met a terrific couple sitting next to us a Canadian guy and his Spanish girlfriend having more drinks in the pouring rain we never felt rushed to leave. Best meal we had in our 3 weeks. Everyone should give curry omm a go you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerseyChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I dined there the other night. The owner was very, very friendly and attentive. I had onion bajhias as an appetizer - great with a nice chutney accompanying it.
We had naan bread, lamb vindaloo and chicken tika marsala for the main course. All were excellent. If you don't like "hot" food then I would stick to one of the milder dishes. Personally I thought the vindaloo was great - just saying.
If you want Indian food in Mexico, this is the place to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curry O, Owner at Curry Omm, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Joe, we are very happy you enjoyed your meal with us. You are right, if you prefer to eat not so spicy dishes, we do offer a variety of mild dishes including Butter Chicken and Dhal Makani, both of which are very mild but full of Indian flavors add fresh mango chutney and a soft tava garlic nan to complete your main course. Of course if you do prefer a spicy dish than you can always finish with a choice of authentic Indian desserts, including Gulab Jaman and Labangs. We look forward to seeing you back at Curry Omm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Meal At Curry Omm”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were in the Riviera Maya for three weeks and managed to get in three visits to Curry Omm. The welcome from Harish & Claudia is always warm and welcoming and the food is EXCELLENT ! We have visited Curry Omm in previous years the the food did not disappoint this year... The quality of the meats and flavours are some of the best we have tasted (and we know our curries) and the onion bhajis, samosas and home made chutneys are to die for. Highly recommended and great value for money. Will see you both again next year ! A very Happy New Year from the Spaniard and the Yorkshireman in Spain !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curry O, Owner at Curry Omm, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Carl... lovely to see you both again this year, thank you for taking the time to write a fine review for Curry Omm. We work hard to maintain a high standard so all our clients receive the best we offer. We look forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Omm also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Curry Omm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing