We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Excellent Meal At Curry Omm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curry Omm

Curry Omm
Reserve with OpenTable
Curry Omm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: AV aviacion y 3 sur
Transit: Taxi
Description: We are a small Indian restaurant in Playa, the only one offering a selection of Authentic Indian vegetarian and meat dishes, from Bombay Aloo & Dhal to Chicken Tikka Masala & Lamb Vondaloo. Open Monday to Saturday from 5.00 To 9.20 Pm Please NOTE: We will be closed from Aug 20th to Sep 29th. We will reopen on Sep 30th at 5.0pm.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Meal At Curry Omm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were in the Riviera Maya for three weeks and managed to get in three visits to Curry Omm. The welcome from Harish & Claudia is always warm and welcoming and the food is EXCELLENT ! We have visited Curry Omm in previous years the the food did not disappoint this year... The quality of the meats and flavours are some of the best we have tasted (and we know our curries) and the onion bhajis, samosas and home made chutneys are to die for. Highly recommended and great value for money. Will see you both again next year ! A very Happy New Year from the Spaniard and the Yorkshireman in Spain !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curry O, Owner at Curry Omm, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Carl... lovely to see you both again this year, thank you for taking the time to write a fine review for Curry Omm. We work hard to maintain a high standard so all our clients receive the best we offer. We look forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    47
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice owners, great food, romantic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

It was a relief to find Indian food in Playa. The owners, Claudia and Harish, are very friendly and mostly enjoy coking and serving their customers. Had a nice conversation with them. Had samosa in phyllo dough, naan, and veg, biriyani. Very good Indian food. Harish even explained to us how to make the samosas in phyllo dough and how to bake, not deep fry.
Restaurant is very cute and clean. Please don't ever expand - the size is perfect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curry O, Owner at Curry Omm, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Tim... we have no plans to expand, we have just the right size to provide excellent service, spend time with our clients and of course serve excellent food. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
“service good, food even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We have been in this restaurant 5 times every time that we came to Playa, service very pleasant, even over attentive, they really take care of you, the food was really very good, from the 3 courses, desserts specially remarkable I always found indian sweets kind of odd but not here Curry Omm has a fantastic choice we had Labang, coconut rolls so well done fantastic taste and texture. Excellent value we would definitely have other meal here on our next trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curry O, Owner at Curry Omm, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Mary... thank you for your review, it's always good to see you at Curry Omm and we look forward to your next visit. We do pride ourselves in providing a personal service and food of excellent quality. We go to great lengths to get our spices and I make our garam masala freshly. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Everything has a but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

When first coming into town we noticed an indian and kept it in mind and we in fact went on our 3rd trip into town as our final meal before we flew home - only indian around.. As many have pointed out so you dont get a lot of choice.

We had to come back after 45 minutes for a table - clearly well known and popular! Not very many tables; seating inside and out..But after the meal we did say we should if gone somewhere else instead of waiting.

The owner seems very proud, takes pride in his business and customers -you do feel looked after especially being Londoners. The waitress was also very friendly.

Restaurant was clean, service fast.. Toilet in a obscure place.. Down the toad unlock a door not sure on safety by myself if it was darker...But at least they have one i guess and it was relatively clean. Reasonably priced. They do cola instead of pepsi like everywhere else in Mexico!

Ive saved the actual food till last because i don't actually have a lot to say about it.. We were hungry it was nice we left not hungry. Nann was slightly too greasy:oily for my preference.. Samosas were good. We didn't find the curries anything special or wow factor like where we've tasted before which is why I've only rated 3 that and both me and my partner had upset stomach systems the next day!:( However i do appreciate and admire they're a small business with a very very small kitchen cooking a cuisine in which no where else in the area offers. So if your missing home go for it.. Just don't expect too high then maybe youll be pleasantly surprised :)

Helpful?
Thank LucyAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curry O, Owner at Curry Omm, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi Lucy, I recall serving you both as we chatted about London. We thank you for taking the time to write a review on Curry Omm

Your points include the location of the bathroom and a locked door, I don’t understand your concern for it being dark as the whole place is very well lit up even throughout the evening till we close and it is locked because it is not a Public toilet, we like to keep it clean for our customers and not be used by the hundreds of people that want a free bathroom.

And for the food, though very surprised at your rating, since during our conversations, both of you said the food was excellent! I personally visited your table at least 3 times to check on everything and neither of you mentioned a single thing that was out of order! If your Naan was “oily” and in fact we use butter, than I could have changed it straight away.

The one thing I do not like about reviews is that people don’t give us an opportunity to resolve issues that can be so easily fixed at the time, which can make a difference between having a good meal and turning it to an excellent one! We try very hard to maintain a high standard so your visit to Curry Omm is an authentic experience of great food and service and we do this by keeping it a small place and giving personal service.

It is not a crime to have a small kitchen, At Curry Omm we have a kitchen with 12 professional burners, a large griddle, 2 fryers, profession cooking pots that can cook for weddings and much more, what you don’t see or even realize that our kitchen runs on several shifts, but you would never see that and we don’t need you to see that either.

We prepare each dish as it is ordered, our spices come from various countries as they are not readily available in Mexico and I blend the seeds, roast and freshly grind our masalas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum, yum....Omm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I just had dinner there and it was great....veggie samosas and chicken tiki masala .... Perfection!
Mark this restaurant at the top of your list!
No need to elaborate....excellent.
Trish

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishOwens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curry O, Owner at Curry Omm, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Trish, great to see you at Curry Omm, very pleased you had a lovely meal with us. Claudia enjoyed talking to you very much. We look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Omm also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Curry Omm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing