We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would kick my self in the n**s for not trying curry omm”
Review of Curry Omm

Curry Omm
Reserve with OpenTable
Curry Omm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 1,514 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: AV aviacion y 3 sur
Transit: Taxi
Description: We are a small Indian restaurant in Playa, the only one offering a selection of Authentic Indian vegetarian and meat dishes, from Bombay Aloo & Dhal and Chicken Tikka Masala to Lamb Vondaloo. Open Monday to Saturday from 5.00 pm To 9.30 pm
Reviewed August 23, 2013

You know that one place you remember with a smile long after you have returned home?
This is it.

The owner (Harish) is such a character, it makes your dinner an experience in itself, he is so attentive and nice to talk to, plus he is always smiling and provides the best service i had in Playa del Carmen.

We like indian food every once in a while but we just dont like spicy food. Harish adviced us on what to eat, and when he saw we where dying from the spices on one of the dishes (they are VERY spicy) he brought us different chutneys that made everything alright.

All the dishes are made fresh and oh so tasty, the mixture of flavors is amazing.

A paragraph apart for the desserts, what a delight! There is one in particular that has carrots and risings...the best thing i had in Playa del carmen. Congratulations.

All the best for harish and claudia, i recommend that you stop by and try anything they make and you will leave happier than when you entered.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank esvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 378 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

I must say, I had tried Indian food once and it cannot compare to this. The service here is always great and since it is a small place, it makes you feel cozy and not as if you are in a big franchise restaurant.

I personally do not really dig the yogurt dishes, however, I love curry... And I must say, curry here is the best. Have tried a few other places after this and have gone back to zero. If you are around town, come and try it!

Date of visit: June 2013
Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We LOVE visiting Harry and Claudia every time we go to Playa. They have the absolute best authentic Indian food we've ever had, and we've experienced Indian cuisine in Dallas and Washington DC. Curry Omm is by far #1.

We love the Jasmine rice, meatballs, potato appetizers, and their Lemon Pie is the best!

Whether it's a group of friends, a couple, family gathering, business, this place is perfect. Their service is top-notch. We highly recommend Curry Omm - you will be pleased!

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant on our recent trip to playa del Carmen. The food was really good and the service was great. Had read the reviews on here and was not disappointed. We all had a different dish each and every one was different and tasty in its own way. The naan bread was great and I would say it was better than most Indian restaurants I have been to back home. This is the only Indian in playa del Carmen so he has no competition yet his food is still good. The only reason it has a 4 is because there was very few options on the menu but I would rather have a good small menu than a rubbish large menu. The price was very reasonably too, around £65 for 4 people having 2 courses, popadums, 3 naan breads and a couple of beers each. If you like Indian and miss it on holiday this is a must!

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura_mac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Loved the butter chicken. The owner is very actively involved in this restaurant and makes everyone feel very welcome. We need to support him in the community here as his location is in the far South end of town, near Playacar.

Date of visit: December 2012
1  Thank Jamais M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Omm also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Curry Omm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing