We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find !”
Review of Curry Omm

Curry Omm
Reserve with OpenTable
Curry Omm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: AV aviacion y 3 sur
Transit: Taxi
Description: We are a small Indian restaurant in Playa, the only one offering a selection of Authentic Indian vegetarian and meat dishes, from Bombay Aloo & Dhal to Chicken Tikka Masala & Lamb Vondaloo. Open Monday to Saturday from 5.00 To 9.20 Pm Please NOTE: We will be closed from Aug 20th to Sep 29th. We will reopen on Sep 30th at 5.0pm.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great find !”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

After a week of traveling in Yucatan Peninsula, my gf and I were looking for some variety in our meal. After reading the reviews, we drove down to this small Indian place and it didn't disappoint.

The lentils were well done, the nan bread was tasty. The chai was quite refreshing.

Harish and his wife were gracious hosts. The place is well done and gives you the sense of being at a home in India; relaxed and elegant. The Bollywood songs added to the flavor of the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123sub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    48
    29
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the best chai of my life”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

A great little gem of a place away from la Quinta and the over expensive-not so great food of playa.
I was hesitant as in the uk Indian food is everywhere and often not great. But my friend had never tried the cuisine (she's Mexican) and so we tried it.
The menu seemed standard but the dishes that came out where so good. Explosions of spices and tastes. The host was lovely, accommodating and chatted to us a lot. He explained many of the dishes and recommended the chai....which was amazing. And then desert.....coconut cigar rolls. We couldn't stop eating yet were so full.
I've thought about it since and I don't think I've had such good authentic healthy Indian food in the uk unless it was home cooked. Awesome place to try if you can't handle anymore tacos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyndalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Curry, Spices and an Indian atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

lat night I had Lamb Madrasa, some Indian bread and a great pistachio dessert with a chai Indian coffee. I loved it. It was delicious, the atmosphere gives you a sense of being as close to Idndia from Paya del Carmen as one can get.
Oh, we started off with these light crispy flakes ( I cant remember what they ar emade from) and you spoon in a little fresh onion mix, not spicey and very upliftling fresh flavor.
I went home happy and full. This is my 5th or 6th time eating here the past year.
It is close to Playacar and just steps frpm 5th Ave,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous indian food in Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent indian food in Playa with wonderful service and a relaxed ambiance. The lamb curry was delicious, the meat very tender (young lambs of a certain age are hand selected by the owners to get that fantastic quality), Chicken tikka is delicious, as appetizers the bhajjis, vegetable samosas and lamb samosas are extraordinary with delicious sauce for dipping. For vegetarians or for a change of flavor the Chana Choley and Dal Makhani are perfectly blended curries. For dessert Labank and Gulab Jamun are very addicting. Unfortunately, could only work thru a portion of the menu during my weekend stay in Playa Del Carmen, will have to go back soon to continue working down the list. Very friendly service from the owners is also another reason that there are a lot of repeat customers. For authentic indian food, with spices hand blended from various sources, Curry Omm is a must visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“happy to have some indian food as an option in playa...don't get your hopes up too high though”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

first, let me say service is great and having the chance to break up the seafood, italian, mexican monopoly of the local cuisine was what we were looking for. now, people should be a bit more realistic...i'm not sure where some of the reviewers are coming from but this will not be the best indian food you have ever had. come on people...where have you eaten before if you think this spot is even close to the best?

if this place were in the states it would be 3 stars tops. i think they must struggle for all the right ingredients so i'lll cut them some slack.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raj_lakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Omm also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Curry Omm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing