We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal @ 5th”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kool Fish Restaurant - CLOSED

Kool Fish Restaurant
Price range: $2 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great deal @ 5th”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A quaint restaurant on the 5th near 34th ave - great food & price is fantastic - best deal on the 5th - try the the fish soup

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cameron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    89
    21
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good kool fish”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is a nice, colorful place, out of the main pedestrian area. Jesus, the manager, is very funny and welcoming. We went there twice, ordering a fish soup (very good), coconut shrimps (excellent) and, the 2nd time, we got Lobster (good but slightly overcooked). Portions are large and prices cheap.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_ortica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Kool Fish Best Seafood in Playa!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our family has eaten here twice in as many weeks, and we will definitely be going back at least two more times as we are staying in Playa for a total of six weeks.

Kool Fish is by far the best place for seafood anywhere. The Manjar del Mar is to die for and you better be hungry! We have also tried the Coconut Shrimp with Mango sauce, Mayan Shrimps in a Sambuca/ Mayan Licqour sauce, Grouper Fillet in a garlic sauce; all done to absolute perfection.

The ambiance and background music is really nice, and Arturo is the best and most attentive waiter alive! TRY IT YOU WON'T BE SORRY!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianaaaaaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
618 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Good food and great prices”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Small and friendly place at the quiet northern end of 5th Avenue. The food is good and the prices very reasonable. The ceviche was excellent and the gin and tonic very drinkable!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Local Restaurant - Great Service and Food”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I visited KOOL Fish during our February trip to PDC and had a wonderful experience. Very friendly staff, quiet part of 5th ave (norte), and an excellent, varied menu. Nice outdoor 'street' seating, for excellent people watching while you dine. It feels authentically "local", and not just set up to attract tourists. The Filete de Pescado (fish fillet) with ajillo was superb, and my wife really liked the Camarones Koolfish. Great food at very reasonable prices. I recommended it to our friends who were in PDC the following week, and they, too, really enjoyed it -- enough to go back a second time before they left. We will most definitely get back there the next time we are in PDC.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swordword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kool Fish Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing