We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Nearby Hotels
$267
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$241
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$610
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$385
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$726
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (9,951)
Filter reviews
9,951 results
Traveler rating
7,620
1,563
457
172
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,620
1,563
457
172
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal servicemolethe grillsouth bargabi clubla palapa restaurantyhi spadinner reservationsalfredobutler serviceguest servicesswim up suitebali bedsour honeymoonpool partypersonal butlerall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
5,647 - 5,652 of 9,951 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We recently stayed in La Perla (adults side) of the Paradisus Resort for 6 nights over Valentines Day. We had a wonderful time. We booked with Royal Service and were greeted with champagne and a cool towel and then taken via golf cart to the private royal service check in. Which went smoothly and quickly, we got in our room early which we were told that we were lucky about.

Met our butler, who offered to customize our mini bar, and he did, however after that first day we hardly saw our butler again, which was disappointing. Unlike other reviews we never received a cell phone to reach him and the only time we saw him was in passing. This is the only reason i could not give a perfect five to this hotel. It seems either the expectations need to be revisited for said butler service because from talking to other couples it seems that some loved their butler service and others felt the same way as us. Consistency would be nice i think. That being said, there was notes from him in our room, when he gave our bed an aromatherapy treatment, champagne, w/ chocolate covered strawberries, and a bath drawn with rose petals. Whether he did that or it was the turndown service, who knows?

The food here is amazing! My wife and i consider ourselves to be kinda food snobs and at every place we ate we found something we very much enjoyed. As far as upselling is concerned, every restaurant has a small menu that offers pay options, large steaks, lobster, and a wine list. But we never felt pressured to have those items whatsoever. We loved the breakfast at La Palapa, loved The Grill for lunch, at everwhere we had dinner was amazing. We never made it to passions(pay restaurant). All places have a casual dress code except for passions so dont worry about that like we did.

We spent most of our time at the Royal Service Pool. The bartenders there were amazing, very quick with their service and personable in every way. I would like to thank Lucio, Roberto, and Emmanuel. Without them i am not sure we would have had as much fun as we did. So please go see them and have Lucio make you a Hurricane! Another shout out to the guys at the Martini Bar, Estefan and Armando they were a good time and know how to make an excellent Martini.

The grounds and pool were immaculate and they employ a small army to keep it looking so , those behinds the scenes people keep La Perla looking excellent. The room for the most part was excellent as well, however there were a few things that were showing a little age considering how new this hotel is.

Lastly, yes the beach is thin, and there are rocks and coral etc. They do have signs marking this. Its not the best beach I have seen, but they do the best they can with what they have got.

Overall, your options are endless here when it comes to food, and bars. The spa treatment my wife and I both got we enjoyed very much. I would definitely recommend to others. But if you are only going for the butler service you may want to reconsider. Go for the food, and the other services they provide. We may be back there next year, time will tell!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and candid feedback about your most recent stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Your review it is very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, please be sure that we will continue to monitor this internally.

On the other hand it is a pleasure for us to learn you enjoyed the benefits of our exclusive Royal Service area, our entire facilities and the culinary experience we offer in our different restaurants, which is one of our most important attributes.

Also we would like to thank you for your kind compliments toward our staff. It is thanks to our excellent team that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests we will gladly pass on your compliments to each one of them.

It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back, and you can be sure that we will never cease in our efforts to constantly improve the quality of services provided.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very stylish, beautiful Hotel with spacious rooms. I have never met a friendlier, more helpful and observing Staff on any of my trips ! than in the Paradisus Playa del Carmen as well as in the Paradisus Cancun.
Which is not a specific fault of the hotel are constantly noisy, drunk party people from US. The beach and water at Playa del Carmen did not look like someone would imagine the Carribean Sea (no turquise water and the beach was small covered with lots of algae). The area outside the Hotel and Down Town Playa del Carmen were just not my taste. It looked like every bouring low profile tourist shopping and party area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank EllenWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you for your nice words and will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back again soon for a truly enjoyable stay.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you want to really relax and be pampered this is the place. Just beautiful!
The staff cannot do enough for you. Everyone was so wonderful...from the moment you walk in the door. I would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank cyncah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience in our property. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

We appreciate your kind comments and we look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a fantastic time at the resort - lots of options for eating and drinking, nice pool areas and activities on offer. Would really recommend Royal Service - not much more expensive and nice extra perks. All the staff were really friendly, especially Arturo at the poolside who always made sure we were cared for,

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophieom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that we were able to offer you a memorable experience that surpassed your expectations. It is a pleasure for us to learn you enjoyed the culinary experience we offer in our different restaurants and the exclusive service of the Royal Service area, but most of all we thank you for complimenting the service, as our team is the most important resource in our commitment to create memorable moments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and repeat this fantastic experience.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The resort is what you would expect from a large resort. The rooms were clean, well decorated and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our couples massage and spending the day in the quietness of the spa pool and lounge area.
The place for the best drinks were the M Bar. Every other bar the drinks were watered down. Usually I drink three rum and cokes and feel pretty good, on my first night I drank seven and felt nothing. We found the food to be good but just good, not exceptional. We found better food and atmosphere on 5th Ave. in town.
Our breakfast server Daniel Alejando at Hadar was superb. We actually looked to sit at his table every day. He was attentive, informative and friendly.

Room Tip: There are no rooms on the beach. You can't see over the mangroves from your room to see the beach. I would suggest a room over looking one of the pools.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Videocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay in our property. It is a pleasure for us to learn you enjoyed our facilities, our Yhi Spa and to know you had the opportunity to visit the 5th Av in Playa del Carmen.

Regarding your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Daniel, is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back here in Paradise.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews