We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #19 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, one side is for children the other adults. Check in was a little bit of a hassle but once we spoke to the manager Jorge Gonzalez he helped us with all of our issues. The staff is excellent! At the guest services desk there is a lovely woman by the name of Lucia Guerrero. She always had a smile on her face and was always so helpful. She made a wonderful stay even more pleasant. I would recommend this hotel. We were there before and will certainly return!

Room Tip: If you are a family stay with them on the esmerelda side the hotel is very spread out, or make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

It makes us so happy to know that you had a fabulous holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you.

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations. We will
surely congratulate Jorge and Lucia in your behalf.

Thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you again.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,435 - 5,441 of 9,459 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Beautiful hotel close to the ocean. Staff is very courteous and friendly. We were on an all inclusive plan and didn't have to spend a dime except for outside the hotel. Weather in December/January is perfect. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vazmann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Propietario at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

We are delighted to read that you spent a great time in our property. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

We appreciate your kind comments, will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Pablo Cogollud
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We love the Staff, always a hola and a smile, even the staff cleaning the pool wave and acknowledge us! Paradisus Le Perle (Royal Service), is our home away from home.
I have been reading Trip Advisor, and for those that Do Not PAY to stayin the Royal Service Section, I am glad you are asked to leave. I am not trying to sound stuck-up, but if you want a heated pool, Butler Service,( Monica, you are incredible!) your own Resturant (La Palapa, Fantastic meal Chef Nadia), top Liquor, and Meals & Beverages brought pool side & free Spanish Lessons, you get (Artoulo who is amazing!) GET OFF YOUR WALLET! you pay for what you get!
I also, need to mention some outstanding service we received at La Palapa, Raneul,(sorry if I spelled it wrong) remembered what we ordered, and how we liked our meal prepared, Coffee & Fruit for my husband & Tea with milk for me!! from our LAST visit. Raneal personally took his time and picked out a Christmas card for us in both Spanish & English.
We were greeted by staff all over the complex, with hugs & Welcome Home.
We have made so many good friends at this Resort as always my Husband has a favorite, "Diego", when we met him he spoke some English ( Not sure of any other language), but his energy and friendly smile, and effort made him so special to us. This year I noticed a polished expert waiter, I wish my Spanish was as good as his English.
I know that Trip Advisor is so important to the Hotel business, but employyees whose name make it to this site are acknowledged. So People write their names down! The comments about the beach are true, incredible walk ( you can walk to town by beach if you wish!) Just swim were the locals are 2mins. up-or-down the beach.

Room Tip: Can not go wrong with Royal Service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANET R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us and for your preference in our property.

On behalf of all the staff at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, we want to take this opportunity to thank for believing and trusting on us. We are proud to learn we were able to create another memorable experience.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back to your second home, Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a great time at this all inclusive resort. We stayed on the La Perla side, which is for adults only. The pools were very clean and inviting. The room was very well maintained and large. We had a king size bed and a sitting area with a balcony which faced the pool. The couch was very comfortable and I fell asleep on it several times. The bathroom was very luxurious because it had a rainshower shower and a jacuzzi tub which was big enough for two. The floors were marble and soften with a carpet under the bed. Decor was modern. Spacious closets with an ironing board and an umbrella for those drizzly afternoons. Food was buffet style in some restaurants. Food types ran from American, Japanese fusion, Brazilian and something in-between, no problem finding anything to eat. Room service is also included and they seemed to be very quick even though the grounds are huge and you can get lost very quickly in the first few days. Access to the beach is clearly marked with a wooden walkway. Towel service was also available for the beach with feet showers for dusting off the sand. Entertained was varied and spread through the grounds. They had exercise classes during the day and Elvis Impersonator one night. Walked over to the family side and they had cotton candy and popcorn available with fun activities for the kids. Cabs to the downtown shopping are are reasonable and quick. Lots of different shops to see and browse through, you have your regulars like Starbucks, Forever 21 and then you have local artists and the expected tourist stuff. Very relaxing and enjoyable time.

Room Tip: They offer swim up rooms which have a pool access. The rooms on the pool side tend to be noisey dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nativecagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.

It makes us so happy to know that you had a great time with us and we want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you. One of our top priorities is to provide the highest quality service always oriented to the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are happy to read you enjoyed our facilities, the dinning experience we offer in our different restaurants and the night entertainment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We returned from La Perla on friday whilst having a lovely holiday we don't know if the hotel lived up to expectations.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful we stayed in the ROYAL service area, the beds are so comfortable and Air con worked really well, rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed daily. WE stayed in four rooms as there was my boyfriend and I and then some of his family. Our butler was Sandra she had finished for the day when we arrived, and was greeted by the concierge of royal service, They had booked us into the Fuego restaurant for 9pm. We thought that this was too late as we were tired and hungry plus my boyfriends dad and uncle had arrived hours before us from Russia and were experiencing an 8 hour time difference. The royal service concierge told us that we could not change the time as there was no availability so we agreed to 9pm as we had no other choice at 6pm, we all went for a walk only to find out the grill had space to fit us in at 6pm. This aggravated us as we was told there was no availability, I thought by paying the extra for royal service they would have tried to help us out.

The ROYAL service pool: this was a lovely shallow pool with lounges set into the pool, a pool bar and personal waiter service. Arturo was our waiter and what a lovely man he was always on the ball and looked after you. We felt that there were not enough sun loungers, luckily for us we were waking at 6:30 am so were able to get good loungers and were sunbathing from 7:30 am haha

Beach: I have travelled a lot around the caribbean and whilst its not the best beach its not bad, lovely soft sand, peaceful and beach butlers to bring you drinks and lunch if you wish to not move from your lounger. All beaches in Mexico are public so locals are along to walk along the shore line these do not hassle or cause any trouble, YES they do try to sell stuff but don't shout they just walk quiet along the shoreline holding out the items they try and sell and is only a few locals that do this.

Royal service: As I said before our butler was Sandra, We didn't actually meet her till a few days into our holidays when we took the time out to go and find her. Once we introduced ourselves she was very good. We went into Playa Del Carmen to a mexican restaurant that was suggested by concierge as we wanted to try "REAL" mexican food as the hotel did not satisfy us. Mi Pueblo was suggested by the hotel and made us the reservation. if this restaurant is suggested to you STAY AWAY!!!! Worst food and service ever!! When we said to Sandra that we were extremely unhappy about the Mexican meal at Mi Pueblo, She went out of her way to organise a private meal for us in Lapalapa restaurant which is Royal service restaurant. This was beautiful and the best meal we had at the hotel. Another maybe of staff who was a huge help was Hector another member of royal service concierge, my boyfriend and his sister went scuba diving whilst I stayed and sunbathed, Hector took time out of his day to make sure I was ok and didn't need anything. So thanks Hector!! :)

Christmas and New Year: The hotel had a lovely christmas feel and was decorated with christmas trees and bows with baubles. There was also lovely christmas songs playing faintly in the background. The hotel set a 5 course meal for christmas eve and new years eve this was awful. Bad food and poor service. We only attended the new years eve as we went to the town for christmas eve. On new years eve our steak was burnt as they did not understand i like my steak medium-rare, my potatoes weren't cooked, so i told the waiter for our reply to be Oh OK and then nothing else was done. On the upside the beach party and fireworks were fab and had a great time partying away ay midnight to bring the new year in :)

Food: this was very hit and miss, We ate 3 times at the grill and all 3 times were nothing special and i didn't enjoy my meal once there. Feugo was a very good restaurant and the chicken and beef risotto was lovely. We ate twice at Bana and would highly recommend. Lapalapa is the Royal service restaurant for breakfast and lunch and then opens in the evening for ADULTS only. This in the evening was lovely good food and good service. We went to the market one evening which is in the la esmeralda side and this was a lovely evening we asked to be away from the children as we went an adult holiday away from children and boy did they pull through we were completely on our own away from everybody is was lovely :) For the amount of money we paid for the holiday we expected a little more.

My suggestion would be to take a spanish book with you as i think there is a language barrier as some things we asked for came wrong. We would certainly return to Playa del carmen but not this hotel I'm afraid.

Room Tip: 1384 royal service ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joannecapewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the issues you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

First, the opportunity to choose either the adults only or family wing of the property was unique. We chose Adults Only and loved the no kids experience at meals and poolside. We chose the "Swim-up Junior Suite" and loved it. Our patio still felt private and yet you could still dive right into the pool. The service from check-in, to room service, to poolside service to restaurant service was impeccable. Breakfast and lunch options were all good, but dinners were a hit and miss from a food quality perspective.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 151J0hn_S151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Propietario at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

It is a pleasure for us to read your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such a great time in our property. We want to ensure that once you walk through our lobby doors, you’re able to relax and enjoy every moment of your vacation.

We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Except for Reception and Bellboy everything was throughly enjoyable Jonathan at the Acqua Gym is Super, Bernabe and Jorge at the Pool and the Beach are excellent and so is Selena and Sergio at the Pool Bar. Omar deserves a mention for attention and Israel as well.

Really love the staff they are very well trained. Great Spot for a family vacation.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Serge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable

Regarding the details mentioned they have been shared with the management as to evaluate and take the proper action.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,935 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
7,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
16,877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Service at Paradisus La Perla
Royal Service at Paradisus La Pe...
#21 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
294 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $357 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing