We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven...in a nutshell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #24 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven...in a nutshell”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Must say that I was skeptical going to Mexico... A total misconception of the friendly people and safety in the surroundings of the city. The hotel was very exceptional, the cleanliness, the support staff, the restaurant choices, the evening shows, and the details pertaining to the hotel, was out of this world. I recommend this hotel to everyone whom will read this review. Can't wait to go back.....

Room Tip: The swim up suites are the most private rooms. If you enjoy peace and your own comfort of a room, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, it is an honor read we accomplished this mission with you during your stay; we appreciate your recommendation, thank you very much.

We are happy to learn you had an exceptional holiday, to know you enjoyed our facilities, our dining options and to know you enjoyed our night entertainment, all those details you mentioned are attributes of our Paradisus Brand it is a pleasure read you noticed them.

We will be waiting for you in your next visit to make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,455
    1,386
    416
    150
    111
See reviews for
963
5,510
100
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,933)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you like the ocean, you will be a bit disappointed as you don't see it from walking around the hotel. Although the hotel faces the ocean, it's a short walk to the beach; there is thick and tall vegetation between the beach and the hotel that hides the view, and you don't get to hear the waves. Otherwise, it's a great place for a great vacation, and the beach is wonderful and the water is clean and you have a great swim. The people working there, no matter the area, are great, very helpful. If you want good information about the hotel, talk to Suemi Garcia; she is the best. We would definitely return to Paradisus, La Perla.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of La Perla are quieter; away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude_Dholah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read you had a relaxed vacation, it is a pleasure for us to learn you enjoyed our facilities, to know you enjoyed the pool area and to know the service provided from our teams was very helpful, especially Perla.

Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, it is heartwarming read we achieve that mission with you during your stay.

We will be waiting for you in your next visit to make you repeat this relaxing vacation in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My girlfriend is allergic to dairy, gluten and rice wine vinegar. Even eating out in the states, without a language barrier, is difficult. Sometimes I feel that explaining her allergies is more difficult than explaining open heart surgery. For that reason, I dreaded an all inclusive vacation. Well, I was wrong. The staff at Paradisus were unbelievably sensitive and accomodating to her needs. The chefs created substitute dishes that were fantastic. I recommend the Royal Service for a) the exclusive pool service (a tip of my hat to Arturo whose pool service was unrivaled) and b) the exclusive use of La Palepa restaurant for breakfast and lunch. LaPalepa alone is worth the price. Renau, our waiter at La Palepa, was....fantastic. Both Arturo and Renau made our stay A+++++ Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took in sharing your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

We are very happy to read you had an amazing vacation, also it is a pleasure learn you enjoyed of our exclusive Royal Service Area, to know you enjoyed our dining options and the most important we are glad to read the service provided from our staff especially from Food and Beverage Department was accommodating and sensitive to you and your girlfriend needs.

Arturo and Renau will know about your recognition, they will be more than happy to know they helped you to have a memorable experience.

We have a strong commitment with all our guests in always offer a personalized service and focused in the different needs of our guests in order to provide an excellent service and a unique experience.

Will be an honor host you in the near future and make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stay was phenomenal! The service provided was unbelievably great! (especially Rigoberto Santos in the Hadar restaurant and Marco in the lobby who took our luggage to our room). All of the staff was very professional and very friendly. The shows and activities held every day were also very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your experience on Trip Advisor about your stay in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

It is a pleasure for us read you had a phenomenal experience in our Resort. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the daily activities and to know the service provided from our team was always professional and friendly, Rigoberto and Marco will know about your mention, thank you for recognize their work.

Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests; is an honor for us knows we accomplished that mission with you during your stay.

Will be an honor host you again, in the near future and make you repeat this memorable experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a weeks stay at the Paradisus La Perla in Playa Del Carmen. We chose this particular resort because of all the wonderful reviews.This is absolutely the place to stay hands down...it's a top 3 resort in Playa Del Carmen. We researched other resorts THOROUGHLY and didn't find another property that could even compare to the La Perla. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out everything was absolutely perfect! We have been to Mexico 5 times (in the past 4 years) and this is by far the best resort we have stayed at between the food, the staff, and the overall ambiance of the resort.

I will first start off with the rooms....they look just as they are portrayed in all the pictures you see online. They are extremely clean with beautiful decor! We stayed in the swim up room and believe it's worth every penny. The cleaning staff never came too early as to not wake us up and our fridge was always stocked. In fact, we left a note saying we would rather have more water in our fridge and the staff was sure to deliver with extra water bottles.

The food was much better than what you would expect at an all-inclusive...we were very impressed. For dinner we dined at Fuego, Bana, The Grill, The Market, La Palapa, Passion, and Mole. Our favorites were Bana and La Palapa although ALL were really good. I didn't have one meal that I just didn't like. Even the buffet lines had delicious and fresh options that we were impressed with. Also, all water is filtered at the resort so you never had to worry about getting sick.

Staff members at this resort really made our trip memorable! Every staff member went above and beyond to make you feel welcome and to make sure your stay is relaxing. We never felt pressure to tip but rather tip if we felt the need to. (tipping is not necessary but once we saw how hard the staff worked to make our stay better we wanted to slip a few dollars in here or there- THEY DESERVE IT!) Ask for Reyes on the beach. He provided us with amazing and personable service and remembered us from day 1 and also remembered our drink selections. He was willing to do whatever he needed to make our time on the beach more enjoyable. At the main pool look for Omar...he will be the hardest working guy at La Perla. We watched him as he busted his tail taking drink and food orders. He checked on us frequently so we never had an empty drink. At The Grill be sure and ask for Fransisco or Lissandro by name....fantastic people! They want you to have a great experience..both had fun personalities and were able to answer any questions you may have about the menu.

The entire property itself was absolutely gorgeous...beautiful decor and extremely clean. The setup of the resort couldn't be better...we didn't feel like we had to walk far to get where we needed to go. There are little seating areas everywhere so if you just wanted to sit and relax you had a lot of options. When we visit Mexico we usually will leave our resort several times but we only left one time and that was to do an excursion. (Side note: We used Best Day and booked with Esteban at the hotel- HE'S GREAT...very helpful!!) There is really no reason to leave because this resort has everything you need. They have optional activities throughout the day such as yoga, dancing, sushi making, wine and tequila tasting. On Saturday they had a pool party...it was a blast! At night they have different shows..we went to the Michael Jackson show. It was entertaining! We also went to the Red Lounge a few nights and they had really good music and great service at the bar. We were surprised at how lively the hotel bar...lots of people dancing and having a good time. ***I know people have complaints about the beach but honestly it was a good beach so don't let that scare you away from staying here. Yes, the beach is short but it's still gorgeous and we got in the water everyday. We didn't have ANY problems getting chairs...the water is blue and the sand is white!

Overall we would definitely go back to Paradisus La Perla and hope to go back very soon! If you are even considering staying here look no further because you will not be disappointed! We had the time of our lives and met WONDERFUL new friends...this was an unforgettable trip and our next vacation will be hard to top our time at the La Perla! Thanks to everyone at the hotel who made our trip special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey1659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Perla for your recent vacations and thank you for sharing your experience with our future guests.

It is a pleasure read you had an unforgettable trip in our resort, your satisfaction and relaxation is our goal and we are happy to learn we accomplished that mission with you during your stay.

We are glad to know you enjoyed our facilities, your room, our culinary experience, our night entertainment and to know the service of our staff was beyond and always focused in please you. Reyes, Omar, and Francisco will know about your mention, thank you for recognize their work, our team has the strong commitment in create memorable moments in any opportunity.

Will be an honor for us host you again on your next visit to make your repeat this wonderful experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

La Perla says it all.. The resort its self is amazing the design, the decor, the cleaness, friendiness of the staff did everything they could for us to be satisfied. I can say this is the first resort i could compare to the sevice you received on a cruise. Bellieve me I travel a minimum of 3 trips a year.
The facility:
Well design, just big enough, all at walking distance, the choice of rooms from regular that are amazing to the Royal area.
Pool well design including enough jacuzies so you want to be alone you can.
Dont need to go far for washroom, all arround the facility you have some..
Very easy learn the facility, most of the restaurent are all in the same area.
Beach: I can only say this is the area that its ok, I saw alot better beaches.
its long if you use the beach for walking you will like it. For swiming well you only to section that you have sand from the start but the majority you to walk a could 20 feet on rocks before walking on the sand.
The showers are far from the beach, but you have excellent service for your drinks and food. Waiters are walking up and down the beach at all time.
Here is the way I evaluate the beach out of 10
1 for shower availability, 5 for swiming,8 for walking,10 for the service
All the restaurent are excellent again depending your tast, but you will find one at your tast for sure.We had a amazing service each morming with Ivan and Enrique !they made to remember what we took in our coffee, wich type of juice we drank and made sure the coffee cups were top up everytime you took a zip...Bravo to both of them.
You at 5 minutes by taxi to get to 5ave in playa del carmen for all your shopping or bars, very safe area dont be scare to out the resort you will enjoy
If you are looking for a resort close to Playa del Carmen, with amazing facility and service its worth the little extra in the cost of your vacation to select this resort. We all work hard so we all deserve that little extra..
The rooms are impecable, cleaness is amazing and the service is excellent





  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

It is a pleasure read we exceed your expectations; we are glad to learn you enjoyed our facilities, your room, the beach area, to know you enjoyed our dining options and to know the service provided from our staff was very helpful and always focused in your satisfaction. Ivan and Enrique will know about your mention, thank you for recognize their work.

We appreciate your confidence, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the near future and make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 5 days at Paradisus La Playa and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. We had read reviews on Trip Advisor prior to traveling and knew to ask for the upgrade to the Royal Service if we wanted a special experience. We weren't disappointed!

We really enjoyed the private lounge, pool and bar/restaurant area that Royal Service offered. We did use the butler service, but it wasn't the most important thing to us. During the day, you can return to the lounge area and get snacks, drinks (alcohol and non), coffee, etc. at any time. Rooms were also provided with a refrigerator, mini bar and small espresso machine. If you asked for a particular liquor, beer, or soda, your fridge would be stocked without hesitation. We were placed on the first floor, although our request was for an upper floor, but it ended up being fine because the area was so quiet (we never felt our privacy was compromised).

Celina was our primary butler (Alma was her "companero" on Celina's day off) and she was wonderful. The butlers brought us bottles of champagne and a sipping tequila, made our dinner reservations, and helped with travel and flight arrangements. In their absence, every member of the Royal Service staff was always attentive to our every need or inquiry. We only made one minor request, for more hangers, that was not fulfilled. The rose petal bath set for us in the Jacuzzi helped us "get over" this, however!

We really enjoyed the private pool area with Marco, the pool bartender, and Arturo, the pool/beach waiter during the day. They were both very personable and always attentive. Upgrading to the Royal Service meant the pool was not over crowded, and we were always able to easily find seating by the pool or beach. Gabriel, the pool concierge, was always ready to help set us up at the beach or pool with towels and a special place to lounge. He always checked back with us during the day to see if we needed anything new. We enjoyed chatting about movies with him! He is very personable and definitely an asset to the hotel.

Roxana, the hostess at La Palapa, always greeted us enthusiastically when we ate at that restaurant and helped me practice my Spanish. When my husband accidentally stepped on a sting ray, the beach staff, including Ivan the lifeguard and the security guard (another Arturo?) were very attentive and helpful. They stayed with us until my husband felt comfortable and tended to his wound. All we can say about this unfortunate incident is to do the "stingray shuffle" when walking into the water, especially early in the AM!

As for the rest of the resort, we really enjoyed the variety and diversity of the restaurants. Being from New York, we have some of the best food in the world, and we were very pleasantly surprised. We have stayed at other all-inclusives and the food has all started to taste the same after a few days. Our favorite restaurant was Fuego, with its fresh ceviche. Every meal was delicious. We had authentic Mexican, fresh sushi, and delicious Italian. During one lunch at the Grill, our request for a "special" dish of fried calamari was granted. We enjoyed the fresh hamburgers at the beach BBQ for lunch as well.

Each night, there was some sort of entertainment going on. We really enjoyed the live music in the Gabi Room, as well as the Mayan dance group. Tequila tasting at the Blue Agave is a must, as well as a stop by the hookah bar! The atmosphere of the entire hotel is very sophisticated, with a modern decor. The loungers located in every area of the hotel made it very inviting for pure relaxation!

On our return trip to the airport, we spoke with a family from our local area who stayed at the La Esmeralda side of the resort. They were equally happy with their choice and said their nearly 2-year old son was very comfortable there. The staff was very accommodating for children and they never felt too crowded at the pool or beach either.

Overall, we would certainly rate this with the "excellent" rating, with no hesitation. Other couples we met at the Royal Service area this week agreed. The discussions about the rocks at the Royal Service beach were no problem for any of us - we just walked a few feet into pure turquoise water... No complaints!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have more privacy. If you want a swim-up room, be aware that the pool closes at 7PM a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachgoer914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your confidence and for choosing our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen, for this important celebration.

We are happy to read you enjoyed of our exclusive Royal Service Area and all the especial benefits. Also we are glad to learn you enjoyed your room, the amenities, the private pool area, to know you enjoyed our culinary experience, to know you enjoyed our night entertainment and to know the service from our staff was always focused in your satisfaction and relaxation.

Celina, Marco, Arturo, Gabriel, Roxana and Ivan, will know about your recognition, thank you for mention them, all our team has the strong commitment in always provide a quality and an excellent service.

Please if you decide to return to Playa del Carmen, will be an honor for us host you again.

Alan Becerirl
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
2.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,126 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,405 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus By Melia Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing