We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"20th Anniversary Celebration"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #20 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 5 days at Paradisus La Playa and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. We had read reviews on Trip Advisor prior to traveling and knew to ask for the upgrade to the Royal Service if we wanted a special experience. We weren't disappointed!

We really enjoyed the private lounge, pool and bar/restaurant area that Royal Service offered. We did use the butler service, but it wasn't the most important thing to us. During the day, you can return to the lounge area and get snacks, drinks (alcohol and non), coffee, etc. at any time. Rooms were also provided with a refrigerator, mini bar and small espresso machine. If you asked for a particular liquor, beer, or soda, your fridge would be stocked without hesitation. We were placed on the first floor, although our request was for an upper floor, but it ended up being fine because the area was so quiet (we never felt our privacy was compromised).

Celina was our primary butler (Alma was her "companero" on Celina's day off) and she was wonderful. The butlers brought us bottles of champagne and a sipping tequila, made our dinner reservations, and helped with travel and flight arrangements. In their absence, every member of the Royal Service staff was always attentive to our every need or inquiry. We only made one minor request, for more hangers, that was not fulfilled. The rose petal bath set for us in the Jacuzzi helped us "get over" this, however!

We really enjoyed the private pool area with Marco, the pool bartender, and Arturo, the pool/beach waiter during the day. They were both very personable and always attentive. Upgrading to the Royal Service meant the pool was not over crowded, and we were always able to easily find seating by the pool or beach. Gabriel, the pool concierge, was always ready to help set us up at the beach or pool with towels and a special place to lounge. He always checked back with us during the day to see if we needed anything new. We enjoyed chatting about movies with him! He is very personable and definitely an asset to the hotel.

Roxana, the hostess at La Palapa, always greeted us enthusiastically when we ate at that restaurant and helped me practice my Spanish. When my husband accidentally stepped on a sting ray, the beach staff, including Ivan the lifeguard and the security guard (another Arturo?) were very attentive and helpful. They stayed with us until my husband felt comfortable and tended to his wound. All we can say about this unfortunate incident is to do the "stingray shuffle" when walking into the water, especially early in the AM!

As for the rest of the resort, we really enjoyed the variety and diversity of the restaurants. Being from New York, we have some of the best food in the world, and we were very pleasantly surprised. We have stayed at other all-inclusives and the food has all started to taste the same after a few days. Our favorite restaurant was Fuego, with its fresh ceviche. Every meal was delicious. We had authentic Mexican, fresh sushi, and delicious Italian. During one lunch at the Grill, our request for a "special" dish of fried calamari was granted. We enjoyed the fresh hamburgers at the beach BBQ for lunch as well.

Each night, there was some sort of entertainment going on. We really enjoyed the live music in the Gabi Room, as well as the Mayan dance group. Tequila tasting at the Blue Agave is a must, as well as a stop by the hookah bar! The atmosphere of the entire hotel is very sophisticated, with a modern decor. The loungers located in every area of the hotel made it very inviting for pure relaxation!

On our return trip to the airport, we spoke with a family from our local area who stayed at the La Esmeralda side of the resort. They were equally happy with their choice and said their nearly 2-year old son was very comfortable there. The staff was very accommodating for children and they never felt too crowded at the pool or beach either.

Overall, we would certainly rate this with the "excellent" rating, with no hesitation. Other couples we met at the Royal Service area this week agreed. The discussions about the rocks at the Royal Service beach were no problem for any of us - we just walked a few feet into pure turquoise water... No complaints!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have more privacy. If you want a swim-up room, be aware that the pool closes at 7PM a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachgoer914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your confidence and for choosing our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen, for this important celebration.

We are happy to read you enjoyed of our exclusive Royal Service Area and all the especial benefits. Also we are glad to learn you enjoyed your room, the amenities, the private pool area, to know you enjoyed our culinary experience, to know you enjoyed our night entertainment and to know the service from our staff was always focused in your satisfaction and relaxation.

Celina, Marco, Arturo, Gabriel, Roxana and Ivan, will know about your recognition, thank you for mention them, all our team has the strong commitment in always provide a quality and an excellent service.

Please if you decide to return to Playa del Carmen, will be an honor for us host you again.

Alan Becerirl
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,804 - 5,810 of 9,588 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at La Perla for our honeymoon. The beach wasn't the best, but the rest was PHENOMENAL! Definitely upgrade to the Royal Service. Celina, our butler, made our trip excellent. She booked all of our excursions and restaurant reservations, gave great suggestions, and treated us like VIP. All of the restaurants had a great menu, and Passion was the best. Lucero welcomed us warmly, and the service by Augusto and Yonder was exceptional. The service from the entire resort was the best we have ever experienced. THANK YOU to everyone, especially Celina, for making our honeymoon better than we could have ever imagined.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms with the private pool entry, and get the Royal Service. Perfect for adults only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keely G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure for us to be part of especial occasion for our guests, thank you very much for your confidence.

We are glad to read you had a memorable Honeymoon in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen, to know you enjoyed of our Royal Service benefits, to know you enjoyed our dining options, especially Passion Restaurant by Martin Berasategui and to know the service provided for our staff was always focused in your total satisfaction.

Celina, Lucero, Augusto and Yonder will know about your mention, thank you for recognize their work; all our team has the strong commitment to create memorable moments in any opportunity.

Once again thank you for your confidence, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again and make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I went here about a month ago and selected the Royal Service room. The royal service is certainly worth it. You get your private area, private restaurant, private beach (thumbs down) private lounge etc... There are loungers/beds all over the resort so if you are a pool person you will love this place. What I did not like was the beach. I will tell you after reading mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. Well let me break it down real simple. YOU CANNOT SWIM IN THE ROYAL SERVICE BEACH. The water is blue and beautiful but the amount of rocks and seaweed is overwhelming. We walked down the beach (5 minute walk) to a sister property LA Esmeralda, where they beach was very nice.

Rooms:
The rooms are very nice, no it is not an aquarium in the pictures you see but still very clean. You get a hot tube inside and outside. Be sure to get the top floor. The 1st-3rd floors are not private, and the railing is glass. The top floor is more private and we enjoyed that much more. Once again if you do not care for privacy stay on any of the floors and I would even recommend the swim up suite.

Service:
Absolutely no attitude by any of the staff. The staffs are kind, attentive and whiling to help you with anything you need.

Food:
The food was good. I would not say it is excellent but it is very good compared to other all inclusive we have stayed in the past. There are a few restaurants located on the property and a few buffet style restaurants.
Overall we enjoyed this place and would return.

Room Tip: Royal service and top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ygtk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen, and thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and with our future guests.

We are happy to learn you enjoyed of our exclusive Royal Service Area, to know you enjoyed your room, to read the service provided from our staff was kind, attentive and whiling to help you anytime and to know you enjoyed our dining options.

It is a pleasure read you enjoyed your stay in our Resort; we will be waiting for you on your next visit, to make you live a unique experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I just returned home from a week at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla. We were looking for rest and relaxation and thanks to the advice from others, we got what we wanted. We asked for an upgrade to Royal Service and requested the third floor and what a difference. It was nice and quiet with a nice view of ocean and the complex. The suite spacious and first rate attentiveness by the butler crew. Alba, with only a week as a butler, helped us out when our suitcases did not arrive from American Airlines and then at the end of the trip with our boarding passes. She greeted us every day and helped us navigate the restaurants and our overall experience at the all inclusive. Monica, our head butler made sure that all went smoothly for us. We loved eating at El Fuego for dinner and the breakfast buffet at Hadra. At the beach we received what we needed every day from Gabriel and from the crew that served drinks. Thanks to Alberto in charge of security at the beach for being friendly and helpful. At the pool we did not get the same level of service as we were ignored when it came to getting drinks from the staff working there. The focus of the staff at the pool was a boisterous group and the rest of us did not receive the same level of attention. The beach at the hotel is a bit rocky and you have to walk a bit to find a place to swim. We loved the drinks and we had great weather. Eating lunch at the Palapa was great and thanks to Roxana for greeting us and always remembering our names. Our advice is Royal Service and a third floor room. Great place to vacation for a week.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms at Royal Service the best for quiet and relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen for your past vacations.

It is a pleasure read you had a resting and relaxing holidays in our Resort, also we are glad to read you enjoyed of our exclusive Royal Service, to know you enjoyed our facilities and to know the service provided for most of our team was always helpful and attentive.

Our guest’s observations are very important for us, because thank to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service, your notes have been passed to the department in charge in order to take the proper measures, all our guests have to receive the same level of service, this is not a common situation and does not represent our commitment with our guests.

Once again thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great hotel, great service, great food.

We stayed at the «Royal Service» section. Had a jacuzzi in our room, another one on the balcony with a view over the pool and the ocean.

Royal service is great. Just a call to our butler and we got a reservation at Passion (fabulous restaurant), a hot bath covered with rose petals on our balcony at our return. Oh yeah! And a bottle of champagne too!

We'll be back, for sure.

Room Tip: Don't forget to reserve early your day bed by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen with our future guests.

We are very happy to read you had a great experience in our Resort, to learn you enjoyed of our exclusive Royal Service area and to know you enjoyed the little details of your butler. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guest; it is a pleasure read we accomplished that goal with you during your stay with us.

We will be waiting for you in your next visit; will be a pleasure makes you repeat this unique experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went to Paradisus La Perla for our Honeymoon the second week of July. We couldn't have asked for a better resort. We stayed in the Royal Services part of the resort and it was tremendous. Everyone was super nice and accomodating. Everyone would go out of their way to make us feel at home. Our butler, Selena was fantastic!! She made sure we had everything we needed. It was quite relaxing lounging around the pool in the Royal Services. It was never crowded, so there was always available lounge chairs. The staff around the pool were outstanding, especially the pool bar bartenders, Jose and Everado!!. They were entertaining and always made sure we were ok and had a full drink. They made some delicous drinks as well. The beer and liquor selections was very surprising. Usually at an "all inclusive" resort, you usually get watered down drinks or only 1 choice of beer. Arturo and Emanual were also very helpful around the "Royal Services" pool. They were very polite and very helpful with setting up chairs or cabanas for the day and just making sure we had everything we needed.

The only downfall to the resort is that the beach area is very small.

We will definitely be going back to this place and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen for your honeymoon; it is a pleasure for us to be part in memorable moments for our guests.

It is an honor read you had a wonderful holiday in our Resort, we are glad to learn you enjoyed our facilities, we are happy to know the service provided from our staff was always focused in your satisfaction and to know you enjoyed of our exclusive Royal Service Area

Celina, Jose, Everardo, Arturo and Emanuel will know about your mention, thank you for recognize their work; we assure you they will be more than happy to hear they helped you to have a wonderful holiday.

We appreciate your recommendation and we will be waiting for you on your next visit to make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Paradisus La perla from July 5 to July 12 2013; right from the greeting at the entrance, you can see the service is a notch above the others.

Luis from Guest services sat down with us, asked us about why we were there, what we wanted to do and then went on and explained everything we needed to know about the resort. He then showed us around the resort making sure we knew where everything was and that we felt comfortable. He did a very good job at giving us a good first impression of the resort.

I have to say that ALL staff members were extremely nice and will do everything to make you happy.

The biggest difference between this hotel and other "all-inclusive" hotels we have been to is the food which is simply amazing at this place...whether it's for lunch or dinner, you always have a culinary experience. Be sure to try the Passion restaurant which is the one you need to pay for but is affordable and very much worth it.

So all and all, the service and the food are really the things that stood out for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor, thank you for share your experience in our Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen.

It is an honor for read you had a first class holiday with an excellent service in our Resort, we have the strong commitment with our guests in always provide a quality service with high standards, in order to provide the service that our valuables guests deserve.

Also we are very happy to read you enjoyed our culinary experience, we are very proud of every chef because they create a unique experience in our different Restaurants.

Once again thank you for your review, please if you decide to return to Playa del Carmen, will be an honor host you and make you repeat this memorable experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,474 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
7,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,041 reviews
10.9 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,512 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $344 - $979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing