We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay at La Perla!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #22 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay at La Perla!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent 8 days and 7 nights at the Paradisus La Perla at the end of February and it was truly incredible! We traveled as a couple (we’re in our late 20’s) and also were part of a large corporate group staying at the resort, but arrived early so that we could extend our stay.

We stayed in a 1st floor Royal Service Junior Luxury Suite. The rooms are huge! There are his and hers closets with drawers in between and a large bathroom area. The shower is awesome, it is really large and there are two rainfall shower heads. There’s also a really large tub (maybe a bit too large, it takes a long time to fill and drain), which made for nice relaxing baths. The beds were comfortable and there is a large living area. Additionally, most of the rooms have a private Jacuzzi tub on the patio/balcony area. Only top floor rooms have an ocean view, but we didn’t spend much time in the room so it didn’t matter much to us.

The Royal Service area was great, we didn’t use the Butler as much as some of the other guests but we did have them book dinner reservations, exchange currency, answer questions about the property, etc. There is also an open bar area in the Royal Service lounge with top shelf liquor that is accessible all day/evening, along with hors derves. You can also request that they bring you a bottle of liquor to your room daily (by request and only certain brands).

There are two main pool areas (as well as several smaller ones), one for all guests and one for Royal Service. The Royal Service pool is heated and both pools have swim up bars. There is music playing at both pools, the Royal Service pool has calmer music and the main pool has top 40 style music, and DJ on Saturday for their pool party. The service by the Royal Service pool was definitely better, but if you tip the server or bartender early in the day they are very attentive. Be sure to specify what brand of liquor you want if you want top shelf.

One of the best perks of Royal Service was being able to eat at La Palapa for breakfast and lunch (it’s exclusively for Royal Service except for dinner, where it opens to other resort guests as well). The food is WAY better than the other lunch options. For breakfast I definitely recommend the almond croissant from the bread basket that they bring around. For lunch, the asparagus and cerviche appetizers are awesome and the chicken pita and croque monsieur were great. The best thing about La Palapa was the service- we were truly treated like royalty! From being greeted by name by Roxana on every visit to the outstanding service from Renau and Ivan at breakfast and lunch. Be sure to tip all of them, they deserve it!

The other restaurants on the property are amazing as well, especially Passion! The 9 course tasting menu is incredible (our favorites were the scallop dish and the foie gras). We got to eat there 1 night free since we stayed 7 nights, but I would recommend that others pay the additional $45 per person and experience Passion! The only restaurant we were not crazy about was The Market, Brazilian meat just isn’t our thing, but our server at The Market (Reyes) was fantastic! Other dinner favorites were Bana (the teppanyaki), La Palapa, Fuego and Vento. We actually didn’t eat at a buffet once on our trip, there were so many restaurants to choose from! The Sunset Grill by the main pool also has amazing white cerviche, if you want a snack. We ended up making later dinner reservations most nights (between 8 and 9) so that we could head to the bars after eating. There are ample after dinner drink options, both outdoors and indoors. We also took advantage of the late night room service!

The beach area was also nice, although it was narrow, we never had a problem finding a bed/chair and the service on the beach was great as well. Others mentioned the beach being rocky and to have seaweed, which we didn’t experience during our stay (aside from a few rocks here and there in the water), we found it to be really nice!

The hotel also offers free non-motorized sports, like kayaking and you can rent jet ski’s onsite for a relatively affordable rate.

A few very minor cons: I know that there were multiple people on our trip who did get sick, luckily I escaped that! Since bottled water is free, I advise asking for it at each meal. If you don’t ask, they pour you a glass of water. Also, our room smelled sort of musty and wasn’t all that soundproof, you can hear people walking by and can hear people walking above you as well.

Overall our stay was incredible and we cannot wait to return to La Perla!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAISY00700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your experience in our Paradisus La Perla, with our future guests.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our exclusive Royal Service Area and benefits; also we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities, you room, our culinary experience, especially La Palapa, that you enjoyed the beach area and know that the service provided from our staff was the service you deserve. Roxana, Renau and Reyes, will know about your mention, thank you for recognize their work.

It is an honor read that you enjoyed every part of our Resort, thank you very much for share all the details of your stay; your notes are very important for us and very valuables, we truly appreciate your review.

Will be an honor host you again and make you repeat The Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,464
    1,386
    416
    150
    111
See reviews for
967
5,512
100
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,933)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What an amazing resort, ALL of the food was delicious, the staff were very friendly and efficient, ocean view room and royal service were well worth the extra few dollars. Only wish they had snorkeling and other water sports equipment available (kayaks...etc)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for write and share your about your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read that you had an amazing vacation in our Resort; it is a pleasure read that you enjoyed our culinary experience, to know that you enjoyed the facilities and the benefits of our exclusive Royal Service Area and to know that the service for our staff was always friendly and efficient.

Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, is heartwarming know that we achieved that mission with you during your stay

Please if you decide to return to Playa del Carmen, will be an honor host you again here in Paradise.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla in late June, and we loved it. The resort itself was beautiful, elegant and luxurious, and the service was wonderful from beginning to end. The restaurants were outstanding as well. I wasn't sure if the weather would be too hot in June, but it wasn't. The high temperature was in the low to mid 80s each day we were there.

We opted for a luxury junior suite, partial ocean view room with the Royal Service. The rooms were great. We were on the 2nd floor, so our balcony had a two person hot tub on it. The bathroom has a two person soaking tub, and the giant shower is built for two, with two rain shower heads. The bed was also very comfortable, and the big flat screen TV was nice. You can see for yourself what the rooms look like from the resort website. The pictures are accurate, and there are no unpleasant surprises.

In my opinion, paying extra for the Royal Service was worthwhile. I liked having a private check-in area and lounge, a private pool area, a private beach area, access to La Palapa restaurant next to the private pool, and it was nice having a personal concierge assigned to us. They call the personal concierges butlers, but concierge is a better term. The name of the person who was assigned to us was Aldo, and he was great. He helped us with anything we needed. He gave us advice about the restaurants and services at the resort, he made reservations for us at the restaurants and spa, he confirmed our trip back to the airport with the shuttle service, and he gave us advice about what options were available to us for medicine or seeing a doctor when my wife came down with a cold.

We enjoyed every one of the restaurants we ate at. As I mentioned, La Palapa restaurant was a good option for lunch and breakfast because it was just a few steps away from our room and right next to the pool. The menu isn't extensive, but the food and service was good. Our favorite restaurant was The Market, a Brazilian style steakhouse. We also enjoyed The Grill, Fuego, Mole, and Hadar. The service at all of the restaurants was great. Rigoberto, Carolina, Alfredy, and Ignacio were some who we saw multiple times. I wish I remembered more of the names of the employees because they were all terrific.

The only real negative associated with the resort is that you can't walk straight out into the ocean from the Royal Service beach because there are rocks under the water. We walked a short way down the beach to an area that hand a nice, sandy bottom when we wanted to swim in the ocean. It wasn't a big deal, and we spent more time by the pool than by the ocean anyway.

This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort, and my wife and I agreed we would do this again at Paradisus La Perla or another Melia resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KALFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Perla, Playa del Carmen for your first experience in an All Inclusive resort, was a pleasure, show you the Paradisus Experience.

We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful experience in our Resort, we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed every part of your room, that you enjoyed the Royal Service Area with all the benefits, to know that you enjoyed our dining options and to know that the service for our staff was terrific, especially from Aldo, Rigoberto, Carolina, Alfredo and Ignacio, thank you for mention them.

It is an honor read that we surpassed your expectations; will be an honor for us, host you here or in any other Meliá Hotel.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just got back from this paradise of a resort. We had a excellent time & Royal Service is definitely the way to go! We enjoyed our breakfast with our waiter Renau Arroyo which has gone beyond the call of duty to please us @ La Palapa every morning. We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read, that you had the opportunity to enjoy our exclusive Royal Service Area with all the benefits,; also is a pleasure to read that you had an amazing experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

Renau will know about your mention, thank you very much for recognize his work, he has the strong committed to always please our guests and always provide an excellent service.

Will be a pleasure host you again and make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the time we arrived at the hotel until the time you leave the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have the best vacation. It just happened to be my birthday one of the days that we were staying here. On that day there was a nock on the door and when I answered the door, there was a birthday cake being delivered from the hotel. I couldn’t believe that they sent a birthday cake without asking for one. This is the type of service you receive when staying there. Even at the buffet restaurants, they take such good care of you to make sure you have a relaxing time to the souvenir shop.
The hotels atmosphere is next to none. We can’t wait to go back.
Charlie & Mike

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

We are very happy to learn that from the moment you arrived to the end of your stay, you received the treatment and the service you deserve, it is a pleasure for us, be part of especial occasions we hope this birthday was a memorable moment.

It is an honor read that you enjoyed our facilities, our different restaurants and the relax atmosphere in all the property.

Thank you very much for your confident, and we will be waiting for you on your next visit.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our 4th trip to the Riviera Maya. My husband and I love Mexico and always have the best time...except this time was a little harder to really enjoy it. When we arrived and were given the run down of the resort, we were automatically told that we were not allowed to make dinner reservations for more than 2 restaurants at a time. We were disappointed to learn that the times available were all super late but we were willing to look past that as we had heard that the food was of great quality at this resort. When we got to the room, there was no liquor in the minibar...strike 2. We called and they stated that we would have to order glasses or liquor vs them providing a bottle. The kicker was that on the 2nd night, when we returned from our dinner, my iphone was stolen from INSIDE MY ROOM. I contacted security and provided an "investigation" that at the end resulted in them stating that the individual who was in my room, was only there for 30 secs to "pick up plates"; even though we left the plates right outside the door prior to us leaving.

We eventually got upgraded to the Royal Service and were given a much better customer service after switching over. The Royal Service pool is quiet and smaller than the general pool and the bartenders are awesome! Especially JUAN!! The access to the beach through the Royal Serv area is quicker access and provide little beds with butler service.

Guillermo was our butler and was fantastic!!! He was excellent at helping us out with our requests. We also had an express check out...however beware of the charges that get posted as we had 3 errors on our bill.

Overall, I believe that if you are going to this resort, you should just go through their Royal Service since the service is much better.

Room Tip: Splurge a little more and upgrade to the Royal Service.... It is worth it... However, do not waste m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola_44_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience about your recent stay in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

Our guest’s opinions are very important for us, because thank to your notes we can learn and improve our services, your notes have been send to the departments involved in this case, Front Desk, Security Department and Food and Beverages in order to verify our process, thank you for your observations.

On the other hand, we are happy to learn that you enjoyed our exclusive Royal Service area and all the especial benefits; also we are glad to know that the service provided from Guillermo and Juan was beyond and fantastic.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, and exceed your expectations.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I would reccommend this resort to anyone looking for a truly relaxing first class getaway. The staff was impeccable in every way and we were truly sad to leave them! We will return!! Royal Service area was spectacular!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for share about your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

It is an honor for us to be part of especial events in our guest’s lives and it is heartwarming to read that was perfect.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our exclusive Royal Service Area and to know that the service provided from our staff was impeccable, our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guest, and it is a pleasure to learn that we accomplish that goal with you during your stay in our Resort.

We appreciate your recommendation and we will be waiting for you in your next visit.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
2.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,130 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,406 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus By Melia Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing