We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful and serene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #23 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful and serene”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

the hotel is beautiful and extremeley serene. perfect for a getaway. the beach is gorgeous and staff are on hand to help with anything. stay in the adults only part, no child rule is strictly enforced!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen for your passed vacation.

We are very happy to read that you had a very relaxing holiday, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities, the beach area and to know that the service provided form our staff was very helpful.

We appreciate your comments, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future, here in Paradise.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,157
    1,325
    394
    141
    108
See reviews for
896
5,272
97
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,843)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was my second time at this resort. The food was great and the service was top notch. The servers are very attentive. You will not regret your stay at this resort. The spa is amazing, take full advantage of this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

It is an honor for us to learn that you had an amazing vacation in our Resort, to know that you enjoyed our dining options, the YHI Spa and to know that the service from our staff was the service that you deserve.

We will be waiting for you on your third visit.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We did 8 days/7 nights at the all adults side of the resort and spent the money to upgrade our room to Royal Service. It was well worth it. Not only were we given preferred access across the resort including restaurants and beach accommodations, but we spent 90% of time at the Royal Service pool. The people we met were there were just great and, to a person, were friendly and fun. Didn't really feel the need to expand the social circle beyond the 30-50 folks in Royal Service.

The first thing you need to know is that the staff makes this place though everything else is pretty much spectacular too. Special shout out to our butler, Nash. One of the things that sticks out about her service is that we celebrated a birthday during the vacation and unprompted, our room was decorated - and I mean decorated - along with some awesome chocolate cake for the early afternoon. At dinner that night, another cake and celebration with no prompting from us. This is just one example of the above and beyond consideration and service provided by Nash. In fact that night at dinner we had a couple of service hiccups from restaurant staff, but the next day after a passing comment to Nash, the entire up-charge we had at the meal - the biggest of the stay I would add - was removed from our bill all together. We did not request that. Again and again, total commitment to making sure we were happy. When we told her what had happened her unflinching and immediate response was "that does NOT happen to my guests."

Back to the Royal Service pool... Marco, Juan and Arturo made each and everyday of our poolside experience spectacular. Funny guys, talented bartenders/servers, and extremely concerned with our satisfaction - we had to get pictures with them at the end of the stay as they had been so important to making our vacation what it was. Beyond these guys, the pool side food was quickly delivered and delicious and each afternoon there was some form of live music. DJ afternoon found us dancing around the pool for a couple of hours as, with all the other entertainment, it was a great performance and the alcohol was plentiful.

Just a wonderful place and experience. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you want the full resort experience, but have the feeling you can escape in to your own world aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank altacomadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for share your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen, for your past getaway, we appreciate the time that you took in write your review.

It is a real honor for us learn that you had a wonderful vacation in our Resort, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed our exclusive Royal Service Area, and the benefits, our facilities, our culinary experience and to know that the service provided from our staff was beyond your expectative, especially the service from Nash, Marco, Arturo and Juan, they have a strong committed to create memorable moments in any opportunity, and we are glad to know that they accomplish that goal with you.

We will be waiting for you in your next trip, to make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at La Perla from 6/18/13 - 6/27/13. We had paid in advance for the Royal Service and it was TOTALLY worth it! We were upgraded at no charge upon check-in to a one bedroom suite with a swim-up. It was on a corner, not adjoined to the Royal Service pool, and we couldn't have been more thrilled (totally secluded and quiet - room 1008). Our "butler", Celina was fantastic, although we hardly used her services that much (we were kind of flaky with our reservations, NO fault of hers). The entire staff at La Perla was top notch, but I'd like to give some special attention and gratitude to those who made our stay EXTRA special: Rigoberto - Gabi Club (best bartender), Jonathan - he was part of the "entertainment crew" and such a wonderful person (funny and fun!), Paula, Luis (beach waiter - "Welcome to my office!"), Alfredo - THE most patient and kind bartender in the Royal Service swim-up bar (Memo says HOLA!), and our fantastic waiter at Fuego - Sr. Rodriguez. We have never stayed at a resort in Mexico twice - La Perla will definitely be the first place we go back to next year (if not sooner!). Also, Erik in the Royal Service check-in area was always patient and helpful to us. The food was magnificent as others have said. La Palapas and Fuego were our faves. I was wondering what the people who wrote negative reviews about this place were thinking?? It's ALMOST perfect.......their room service pizza could use a facelift!! That's all I've got...... enjoy!

Room Tip: If going for the swim-up suite - ask for one in the building NOT attached to the royal service pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen, with our future guests.

It is an honor for us to be part of especial occasions, was a pleasure for us to be part of your 20th Wedding Anniversary.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities, our Royal Service Area, your room, our dining options and to know that the service provided from our staff was excellent and very helpful. Our mission is the total satisfaction of our guests, it an honor to read that we accomplish with you.

Celina, Rigoberto, Jonathan, Paula, Luis, Alfredo, Memo and Erik, will know about your mention, thank you very much for your recognition, they will be very happy to learn that they helped you to had a memorable stay in our Resort.

Will be an honor for us, make you repeat the Paradisus Experience and pamper you again.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,541 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have recently returned from what was meant to be a 21 night multi-resort trip to Mexico but due to a mechanical failure with our aircraft the flight was delayed by 24 hours so we spent our first night in a hotel in central Manchester. Our multi-resort trip was split 2 nights at Paradisus La Perla, 3 nights at El Dorado Maroma, 3 nights at Excellence Riviera Cancun, 5 nights at The Beloved Hotel and 7 nights at Excellence Playa Mujeres

This was our 31st trip to the Caribbean and our 8th trip to Mexico having stayed previously at Occidental Grand Xcaret [Royal Club], El Dorado Royale Casitas, Zoetry Bonita, Secrets Silversands and Secrets Maroma Beach and on multiple occasions staying at Excellence Riviera Cancun, Excellence Playa Mujeres and The Beloved Hotel so we like to think that we have a fairly good well calibrated holiday measuring stick

We spent a full day at Paradisus La Perla & La Esmeralda in 2012 and were impressed enough to want to return for a few nights at La Perla but unfortunately due the delayed flight it was curtailed to only two nights

Just prior to our arrival the area had had 4 days of the heaviest rain it had experienced in the past decade and on the way from the airport to the resort this was very apparent with lots of standing water with part of the highway even being flooded

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a one bedroom swim up master suite. As many regular readers of TripAdvisor will know we are lucky enough to travel a lot and are very well treated by the resorts we stay at. As I have said on many previous occasions such generous upgrades do not influence what I write or comment upon as my integrity over the years on TripAdvisor has been built upon my being honest and unbiased and all resorts know this and appreciate it

The suite as you will see from the photos is modern and well equipped with a large bedroom, lounge adjoined by the kitchen / dining area and two bathrooms as well as a large patio with its own two person Jacuzzi

After getting settled in we grabbed and drink and re-familiarised ourselves with the resort layout and checked out where we would be dining that evening. At La Perla you need to make reservations to dine in the evening and we had made them in advance of our stay

On the first evening we dined in the Bana Restaurant which offers a contemporary Asian experience. The Bana has three areas to it – Sushi, Teppanyaki as well as an a la carte menu which we opted for. The food was very good indeed and the restaurant was nicely decorated but just lacked ambiance

After our meal we ventured around to the North Avenue Bar where the entertainment was being held. The evening shows mostly take place in the Gabi Club but due to the recent poor weather they were holding these indoors. The show which was the Eternal King of Pop, a twist of the usual Michael Jackson Show, was very entertaining and worth watching

No problem with getting top shelf drinks and even though the bar was packed the service was excellent

After a good nights sleep we had our first breakfast in the Hadar Restaurant La Perla where we had an extensive range of hot and cold fare to choose from with some of the hot food being cooked to order. The food we had was very good for an AI Resort but again the restaurant itself just lacked atmosphere. However, the service was excellent

To maximise our time at the resort we stayed at the La Perla Pool most of the day with lunch at the Sunrise Grill. Great menu with some items we had not seen at other similar AI properties. The main pool has gentle background music in the morning but this is cranked up at lunchtime for the water aerobics. In the afternoon it continued with a livelier backdrop again being cranked up for the late afternoon Zumba Class

For our second and final evening we ate in the Vento Restaurant which is described as being Mediterranean but in fact covers a much larger global span. The Vento offers some of the best menus I have seen with the food beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. However, again the restaurant lacked ambiance overall with loud background music which had absolutely no association with the theme of the restaurant. We were also disappointed that since the time of our booking the trip last year they had relaxed their dress code rules and men were allowed to wear shorts to the majority of the restaurants which to us is inappropriate in what are meant to be nice a la carte restaurants

For breakfast guests staying at La Perla have as well as room service two options for breakfast – Hadar at La Perla which is adult only and Naos the equivalent restaurant at La Esmeralda which is open to all

For lunch in addition to room service you have four options – Naos, Sunrise Grill at La Perla, Sunset Grill at La Esmeralda and The Market

In the evening you have a multitude of dining options on offer ranging from what looked like comprehensive buffets at one end of the spectrum though to The Passion Restaurant which offers elegant signature cuisine by 7 Star Michelin Chef Martin Berasategui for which a supplement of US$40pp applies in certain circumstances

As far as drinks go you again have a multitude of bars and lounges on offer someone of which are open air and others which are elegant cocktail bars with AC – something for everyone. You also have, weather permitting, the wonderful Gabi Club which we unfortunately not able to use during our brief stay

The resort sits back from the beach with a mangrove area between the beach and the resort. You access the beach by means of raised wooden walkways and personally I am glad they have left the mangroves intact as all too often resort owners destroy them with no thought for the environment

The beach with its soft sand is beautiful, although quite narrow and is shared by the two resorts with the Royal Club having their own section. There are quite a few loungers and shades albeit only one row deep due to the narrowness of the beach front. On the days we were at the resort there was some weed washed ashore which they were busy cleaning up but it did look much better on the day we were leaving than when we arrived as the sand was beginning to dry out and they were getting back to normal

La Perla will not suit everyone as very few of the restaurants & bars are adult only and also due to the fact that you will come across children in some parts of the common areas – not something we were bothered about but some people seem to never want to set eyes on a child when they are on holiday – each to their own which is why travel is so interesting

The opportunity to upscale at both resorts with the Royal Service at La Perla and the Family Concierge at La Esmeralda will also be very attractive to those that wish the extra benefits that come with the upgraded package

Are we glad we stayed for a few nights to chill out after our delayed flight from the UK – Yes. Would we return – most likely not as although the food was excellent and the restaurants nicely decorated they had poor acoustics which made them very noisy and they lacked ambiance which is a great shame. In addition, we did not like the more relaxed dress code which was implemented after we booked our trip. The pool scene at the main pool at La Perla was also a little too noisy for our tastes from lunchtime onwards

On the flipflop_man 360 holiday scoring matrix which measures 14 different parameters which are important to us Paradisus La Perla scored 296

Should you be interested in seeing some photos of the resort please click on the link below to my online photo sharing website - SlickPic:

http://www.slickpic.com/u/flipflopman/ParadisusLaPerlaJune2013/photo?play#4918653

Best viewed in full screen slideshow format as this way you will be able to see the title labels

For photos and videos of other trips we have made feel free to check out

http://www.slickpic.com/u/flipflopman

Please note that any time you enter the happy world of flipflop_man’s magic moments and memories it is always wise to have a drink in hand as there are always a lot of them to see – we are very lucky people.

As always I am happy to answer any questions

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank flipflop_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the time you took sharing your experience.

Our guest’s opinions and observations are very important for us, because thank to you notes, we can learn, improve our services and know about your preferences, it is an honor read reviews like yours, because, give us the opportunity to know better our guests. As a person with a lot of experience in different hotels your opinion is very valuable for us.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and our culinary experience, thank you for letting us know the details of each restaurant that you liked.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and exceed your expectations.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wow, after many all inclusive nightmares this resort was a true 5 star resort. I reccomend this resort to all and it you are comparing this to another resort and this is 100 to 200 more a night it is well worth it. It truly is a 5 star resort and the Malia hotels are the bomb. All food in Mexico is ok but this resort is better than ok, not amazing but not crap like other all inclusvies that claim they Are the best. I love the fact this resort is a hotel and not a time share trying to sell you all week long. I would go back there every year if the plane trip was direct from SD.

Room Tip: Great place, great value, top shelf liquor and decent food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Griffin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to read that our service exceed your expectations and to know that you enjoyed our culinary experience. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests; it is a pleasure read that we accomplish that mission with you during your stay in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

Please if you decide to return to Playa del Carmen will be an honor for us host you and pamper you again.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my second time at an All-inclusive resort, I'm usually not a fan. However the Paradisus La Perla, was awesome great service you never had to look far for anyone to help you for any reason. The food was great , rooms were very nice and there were activities that were fun it you wanted to do some of them. We were there for one of my girlfriends 50th birthday, it seems like all of the staff new it was her birthday they brought her special desserts really went overboard to accommodate us in every way!! Great place would def recommend !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickel6903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your experience in our Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen, with our future guests.

We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed our dining options, your room, the activities and to know that the service provided from our staff was as you deserve.

For us it is a pleasure to be part of special occasions and we always do our best to create
memorable moments in any opportunity, we are happy to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay with us.

Please if you decide to return to Playa del Carmen, will be an honor host you again.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,726 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#49 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,167 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing