We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #20 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We loved this place. We arrived in the first week of August, the weather was hot, but a little windy. They offered us impressive facilities such a modern infrastructure, pools, ocean views, comfortable rooms, great room service, very elegant thematic restaurants, buffets according to schedule, shows... and all inclusive stuff with a well differentiated Mexican spirit. The pools were amazing and the service in general, excellent. What we loved the most about this place was the friendly concierge service able to help you the 24/7.
You cannot miss MOLE, the Mexican Restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read that you had a perfect and romantic vacation in our Paradisus La Perla, also it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our dining options, our facilities, the pool area and the service provided for our staff, especially from our concierge.

We always try to create memorable moments during our guest’s holidays, your relaxation and your satisfaction are our main goals, and it is an honor to know that we accomplish our goals with you.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, here in Paradise.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,943 - 5,949 of 9,600 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived at Paradisus La Perla on May 9, 2013. The resort was outstanding. The service was great, especially the Hadar Restaurant. The wait staff were outstanding. Their names are Rafael, Evelio, Adriana and Gilberto. Please make sure you see them when they go. They provide superb serivce.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your experience in our Paradisus La Perla, with our futures guests.
We are very glad to read that you had a great experience in our resort. We are very happy to read that the service provided from our staff from Hadar was outstanding and you received the service that you deserve.

Rafael, Evelio, Adriana and Gilberto, will know about your recognition, we are very proud to have people like them working with us, because they have the strong commitment with our guest in order to provide a quality service and an excellent service. Thank you very much, for mention them.

Will be an honor host you again here, in Paradise.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Paradisus La Perla. We stayed in an ocean view Jr. Suite with Royal Service. Before our arrival I contacted the hotel to ask for a full ocean view because I had read that not all of the ocean view rooms have a very good ocean view. We stayed in room 1197, and were happy with our view. It overlooked the ocean and the RS pool. We were initially concerned about privacy, being right above the pool, but that turned out not to be an issue at all. We were also told by our Butler that she would make our reservations, bring alcohol to the room, schedule services at the Spa, etc. However, we were frustrated and disappointed with the RS and housekeeping in general. We had to ask multiple times for our mini bar to be refreshed, the second day they took one of our coffee cups and, despite asking for another one several times, it was never returned. We also had a problem getting ice for the room. Because we were in RS there were no self serve machines, and so when we called for ice after our Butler left at 5 we never knew how long it would take to get it, if it arrived at all. The last night my husband called three times, and 2 hours later he had to go to the lobby to find someone to help us. Our Butler also failed to make the reservations we requested at the spa, so my husband missed out on the massage he was looking forward to. Needless to say we were very disappointed with the service aspect of the RS. However, the other perks (exclusive pool, exclusive beach area, La Palapa restaurant) were very nice. We were very impressed with the appearance of the hotel, the restaurants were all very good with excellent service from wait staff, (Fuego was our favorite) and the amenities were very comfortable. Our other disappointment was the lack of activities. During the week there was some nice entertainment, but the bars were slow, and there was no one really out dancing. During the weekend, the main bars were all reserved for private events or weddings, so we ended up having to go into town to find something to do. All in all, we were pleased with this resort. However, we don't feel the cost of the RS was justified, in our experience. And although we said to each during the first few days that we thought we would like to return to Esmeralda with our kids in the future, by the end of the trip we agreed we will probably not return to this resort and will try somewhere different.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alexisgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review on Trip Advisor.

Our guest’s opinions are vital for us, because we can learn and improve our service, the details that you mentioned, in this moment are under revision, because are not a common situations, we truly appreciate all your observations, please be confident that we will be working, in order to do not repeat again.

On the other hand we are very glad to read that you enjoyed the amenities and the extra benefits of Royal Service, that you enjoyed our culinary experience and with the view of your room.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to change your first impression and show you and your family the real Paradisus Experience in our Paradisus La Esmeralda the next time, I assure
you that we will exceed your expectations.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived at Paradisus La Perla on April 27 and stayed for a week. The resort was spectacular. Everything was incredibly clean. The food was some of the best of I have ever had! We had a Junior Swim up Suite that was awesome, the pool was right out our door. I highly recommend this resort! My only complain was the all inclusive bracelets. Ours were "My Time" and they were purple ribbon with a large brown circle that said MY TIME on them, they were ugly. We look forward to our next trip back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for share about your recent stay in our Paradisus La Perla with our futures guests.

We are very glad to read that you had an amazing vacation; it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities, the culinary experience that we offer, your Junior Swim Up Room and the pool area. We are very committed to provide a quality service and excellent service, we are happy to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay with us.

We hope to host you again in the near future and make you repeat The Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Cancun on 4/14/13. We were shuttled to La Perla via 'bookit.com' and their driver was very nice and informative about the surrounding area.

When we arrived at La Perla we were swept away to the "Royal Service" check in desk by a golf cart. It was a great check in experience. We were escorted to our room. The room itself was wonderful. Large, inviting, and anything you could ever need or want. Unfortunately we were on the first floor and our patio had no privacy whatso ever. We stayed in that room the first night as it was so late and we were exhausted, but the next morning we spoke to management about possibly moving us.

Alma was WONDERFUL, and listened to our concerns and completely understood that this trip being our honeymoon...We definitely wanted more privacy. She said she'd do everything she could to make us happy with our accomodations and would see about getting our room changed. We were sent off to enjoy our day while they handled the behind the scenes stuff.

By 3 pm they'd moved us to a 3rd floor room with an amazing ocean view. Alma truly MADE our honeymoon by setting us up in this room. It was breathtaking, and much more then we could of wished/hoped for. I hope she truly understands our gratitude.

The food is wonderful! All the restaurants offer a great selection of dishes, and almost every type of cuisine is offered. We were not impressed with room service. The first night we arrived we were exhausted so ordered dinner to our room. They forgot my dinner, and then when they returned with it they did not bring me any utensils. One other time we ordered a pizza and ceasar salads. The pizza was cold, and barely cooked through. The salad is literally 3 pieces of regular lettace with some dressing. WIth that being said...Get out of the room! Eat out as much as you can because we didnt have ANY issues while eating out!

Also, Our fridge was rarely refilled. Not a big deal though...You can grab canned drinks from any of the main lobbys and take them back up to your room!

Overall the resort is very well cared for and maintained. We recommend going with Royal Service as you have access to the best pool (its heated) and Juan the bartender at the pool bar is amazing! Ask him to make you a Miami Vice! DELISH! The private beach access is also less crowded then the main entrance from the resort, and Jose was our favorite! He made sure we never ran out of buckets of beer, or snacks!

There are great places to go at night and be entertained or to dance. We only attended one of these nights, but it was great! A lady sung songs everyone knew and we could chime in on!

I can't say enough about La Perla! It was truly one of the best times of my life as well as my husbands and the people at Paradisus made it that way!

Room Tip: Id suggest getting a room off the 1st floor. There are great views all around, but its much nicer ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Modiddlydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience in our Paradisus La Perla, was an honor for us to be part to this special holiday.

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor, we are very glad to read that you had a great experience since the beginning to the end of your stay. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities, the different restaurants that we have in the property, our night entertainment and the service from our staff.

All our staff is very committed to provide an excellent service and to transform the holidays of our guest in memorable moments, we are very glad to read that Alma, Juan y Jose did their best to achieve that goal.

All your observations have been passed to the departments involved in order improving our service, thank you very much for your notes.

Please if you decide to come back to Playa del Carmen will be an honor to host you and pamper you again.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

What an amazing trip this was! This resort was incredible! From the moment we walked in until the moment we walked out was stellar!! It is unbelievably clean and the rooms are pure luxury! The all inclusive was top notch! Grey goose cocktails and 5 star restaurants. The clubs at night were so much fun. The pool party on Saturday was a blast! People complain about the narrow beach but I found it to be perfect ... I got off of my cabana took four steps and was in the ocean .. Drinks and food were served at will what more do you want at the beach?? We had excellent service the entire time! So friendly and efficient. Several times we had Rafael Velasco as our server and he was INCREDIBLE!!! Request him if you want impeccable service and a great personality! My husband is 6'10" and he was so funny with him out entire stay joking about their difference in size. I wanted to bring him home with me(he makes awesome lattes!!) we lived it so much we are planning to come back with our kids and stay on the family side (Esmeralda ) and have invited a group of friends and their families to join us!! Can't wait to come back to paradise!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hairmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for write about your recent experience in our Paradisus La Perla.

It is an honor for us to know that you had an amazing vacation with us, we are very happy to read that since the start and to the end you lived the Paradisus Experience. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the beach area, our several activities for example the pool party, your room and the service provided from our staff. Rafael will know about your recognition, thank you for mention him; I assure that he will be more than happy to know that he helped you to have a great vacation.

We will be waiting for you in our Paradisus La Esmeralda for repeat this experience with all your family.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This resort is fabulous. We've also been to Paradisus Palma Real in the Dominican and both are wonderful. The staff in Playa Del Carmen is extremely polite and service it amazing. The resort is clean and beautiful. The Ocean is very nice to look at but a little rocky in areas walking out. The pool is spacious and the pool bar has a swim up bar as well which is very nice.

The entertainment is nice as well. The only downside is that the entertainment alternates between North bar and South bar. The area with the children becomes overwhelming during the entertainment time because there are strollers all around and not enough seating for everyone otherwise very enjoyable.

Food is very good especially at the Sunset Grill by the pool.

Excellent trip and looking forward to our next visit to a Paradisus resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in our Paradisus Brand.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed our polite and amazing service, our facilities and our culinary experience. We are very happy to read that you had an excellent trip.

Our guest´s opinions are very important for us, your notes will be send it to our Activities department in order to verify and work on it.

Once again, thank you very much and will be an honor for us host you again, in our Paradisus La Perla or in any Paradisus.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,482 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
7,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,056 reviews
10.9 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,525 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $341 - $992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing