We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #19 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I never thought that the 10 days we spent at this hotel were going to be so perfect. There wasn't anything that i could point to be room for development, this place knows how to treat customers and made our honey moon truly memorable. The Royal service is top and the food was fresh and pool was truly enjoyable. The room was super comfortable loved the tub !. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. Cannot wait to go back even with family because thier facilities suit both couples and families.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear guest,

At Paradisus all the staff works very hard to provide the level of service our guests need and deserve. From the moment they cross the main gate, a complete new pampering experience begins. We are glad to read you perceived it and enjoyed it during your stay at La Perla – Royal Service.

Thank you very much for your confidence and selecting us to spend your honeymoon. It really was an honor to host you in Paradise!


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,052 - 6,058 of 9,456 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

great facility; food plentiful and fresh; "royal service" not up to par yet for the hype it is given; can't miss staying here as long as you don't expect too much from "royal service" in the adult section. Gym facility excellent. Other staff excellent

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate your short review from your stay at Paradisus La Perla.

We have sent your notes to Royal Service. That area is the most exclusive area at La Perla and its´ exceptionality must be perceived by our guests.

Thank you for your recommendation and remember that a little part of Paradise is right here, at Paradisus Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This resort was just amazing! It deserves its 5 stars!
From the moment we arrived until we left, every member of the staff gave an extraordinary service!
The rooms are extra comfortable. We choose a swim-up room and we much appreciated it. The bathroom was great, the tub was very large and so was the shower.
Everything was extremely clean, on the room and on the whole resort.
There are many choices of restaurant, and everywhere we ate, the food was great (except for the mexican restaurant). The choices of drinks available is almost unlimited.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone because it is truly amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear guest,

We are pleased to read you found everything you were looking for at Paradisus La Perla: high quality and variety in all of our restaurants, attentive staff, relaxation and comfort in you swim up suite.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide you a fantastic experience. It was a real honor to host you in our portion of Paradise and it would be fantastic if you decide to come back in the near future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our honeymoon at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla was perfect!
The property is brand new, everything is huge, lots of top restaurants and bars, good sized pools and easy beach acess with constant support.
Be careful not to get after 11am at the beach as will be hard to find vacant sunbeds. (Not applicable to the Royal Service beach area).
Be sure to make reservations before going to the restaurants and be aware of the night parties at Gabi.
If you like asian food, don't miss out Bana Restaurant, ask for hot sake and octopus sashimi with soy souce, lemon, chilli and furikake...delicious!

If you are in Playa for the first time, don't forget to visit the historical and natural places those are not too far away and you can buy your tickets at the company tours desk. (eg. Tulum, Cobá, Chichen Itza, Xcaret, Cozumel).
Tip: if you wish to buy mayan or asteca or mexican handicraft/souvenirs, leave it to do so inside Chichen Itza Historical Park as the prices are way cheaper, there are plenty of better options and can either negotiate.
By the way don't miss out Xcaret!
Grab a taxi to go shopping at central part of 5ª avenue, only 10 minutes from the hotel.

The experience is awesome from the arrival to the departure.
The hotel staff rocks and unfortunately we can remember of only few names of all who made our stay be so amazing: Gilberto (Bellboy), Ernesto (Waiter at Bana), Jorge Gonzalez (Front Office Manager) and Julia Melchor (Guest Services Manager).
Congratulations to Mr. Zarate for you property and your passionate staff!

We are spreading the word and looking forward to come back soon.

We are spreading the word and will definately come back soon.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean view Suite or a Royal Service Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eder R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate when our guest decide to spend an especial celebration with us. Thank you for your recommendation to other tourist to visit us for their Honeymoon. We work hard to fulfill our gests expectations, especially honeymooner’s because it is a trip that will remain in their memories forever.

Staying at Royal Service you have some extra attributes and amenities, like you described, which could be the difference for “just a holyday in México” or “I was in Paradise!” We are glad you got the second one during your stay at Paradisus.

We are sure that future Riviera Maya visitors will take your suggestions in consideration to know more the unique Yucatan Peninsula.

It would be amazing to host you again to celebrate with you one of all your future wedding anniversaries.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were greeted by Mereya, a concierge, that explained the layout of the hotel, the restaurants, the spa, made reservations for us...This was a welcome bonus to quickly get acquainted with the hotel. The hotel is well apointed, very clean and has an uncrowded feel. Our suite perfectly suited a family of four. We had a fantastic time and ate at the Sunrise Pool Bar, Noas buffet, the Market and Mole.It turns out we probably are not a great family for all inclusive since we do like to explore and eat other places but in general the food was solid.
We walked to Playa via the beach. So instead of being in the middle of the craziness, we could easily walk there and take a $10.00 cab ride back.

Other pro's, fabulous door staff that delivered our luggage in minutes to hailing us cabs in minutes. We liked the security of the front gates and beach. There were grilled items to eat near beach which was a bonus with kids and of course Javier who served us many cocktails. So many I think that I lost my diamond earrings and sun glasses! The beach/pool towels are large, soft and plentiful. The spa was fabulous and the work out room good too.

A few nits, we had to call initially to get our mini bar restocked with very basic items. The piped in music all day was not great nor hearing the dogs in the neighborhood bark at all times of day and night. You have to walk a bit to the beach which is ok but the beach is small/rocky. We'd advise walking south a bit for better swimming. As for pool, we wish there would have been more balls...around vs having to ask for them to play volleyball or use in the pool.

Last, between the airport, the hotel and the people of Playa, we found this to be a very easy, stressfree trip. Oh and the weather was perfecto!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonesy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear guest,

We really enjoy reading our guests´ comments after living the Paradisus experience and remarking their favorite areas and services around the resort.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed some relaxing walks by the beach, tasting delicacies at our specialty restaurants and being surprised by the architecture of the resort.
Please be sure that Mireya and Javier will be informed about the incredible assistance they provided to you and your family.

Thanks again for your comments, your preference and we will be pleased to host you again at Paradisus Playa del Carmen for your next getaway by the Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Rooms and amenities: very nice, modern ,clean and very well maintained. You can tell this is a new resort and it seems like they want it to stay this way 10 years from now. Definitely felt like we were in an upscale hotel. We did some spa treatments and they were very nice. By the way the pool area had by far the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen for a pool, it just seemed to speak to the high quality of the amenities overall.

Beach: this is riviera maya so the beaches are always going to be pretty nice, soft sand and beautiful color of the sea. My only complaint is that the beach are was quite small with relatively few beach beds and chairs for such a large resort. Also, there was some beach volleyball planned but I never saw anything happening at the indicated times. The "Quinta" (5th avenue, where all the shops, bars, restaurants etc are) is not within walking distance, but there's really only 1 resort that is (the Royal) so if you want all inclusive, you will cab it to 5th ave anyway.

Restaurants: Very good. Lots of variety. Breakfast buffet was huge with lots of options. lunch had several restaurants and dinner had all the restaurants available with basically all the food options you can hope for. We are used to the food scene in DC and NYC so I would say we are pretty picky, which is why we had not done an all inclusive before sine we didn't want to be stuck eating pizza and burgers all day.
In particular, we liked Fuego and it's variety of ceviches. We also did the one restaurant which was "extra" called Passion. Be prepared to eat an early lunch so you have enough room to enjoy the multi course menu although its not particularly overwhelming since they are smaller plates. The sommelier has a recommended wine pairings option which had some very good wines and some new takes on traditional parings principles.
The biggest positive for us was their attentiveness to allergies. My wife is allergic to gluten and in the US it can be a pain to get the servers to understand what it even means and half the time they just say yeah ok without further. We were very impressed that here they not only knew about the allergy by always offers to ask the chef to make sure. And the result was that the wife was very comfortable and could enjoy all the different dining options. So we HIGHLY recommend this resort to those with gluten (or other) allergies

Service: Excellent. Everybody was extremely friendly and would always say hi and ask if we needed anything. Sometimes it was a little slower, but never unacceptably long. There was usually two waiters around and you can ask for anything and they would do their best to accommodate. Also, if you read other AI reviews it seems that waiters there are stingy with the top shelf liquor. I did not find this to be the case here at all. They will make you drinks with whatever you want as long as they have it and they usually do. The only exception is tequila of the Anejo quality which is the highest grade. They have it available but it is extra.
A special thank you to Bartolo who was our server by the pool. He was very attentive and kept bringing fresh drinks even before we asked!
A little note about tips. They are in fact included in the all inclusive and we did not see people tipping most of the time. However, if you plan on being in one area a lot (a bar, pool etc) and someone is giving you great service then I would encourage you to reward it if you can. Should you do so, you'll find the service steps up even a notch higher.
Also, we had a small issue with a part of our vacation package that initially they said was not applicable, however after a few talks with their supervisor they resolved the situation to our full satisfaction.

In regards to the chaise-lounges, we did notice that they were taken WAY early (like 7:30am) and empty for a while. It was quite annoying, BUT on the lats day we were there (De 27th) they instituted a new rule that if you just left your stuff there unattended for >30 min, they would take it and leave it with security so the chaise-lounge would be open. I don't know how effectively they'll enforce it, but it certainly seems like they listened to the problems and are working on it...

timeshare sales: if you've been to any other resort, you know that each one has a timeshare program and every guest is offered an informational session. They will usually offer something nice in return, even if you don't buy. When you check in and given an overview of the resort you will be invited to a "breakfast presentation". They ask for 90 minutes and if you were not interested in it you would in fact leave right around that time. They don't play games or try sales tricks like at other TS presentations we've been to. Our sales consultant was Veronika. She was very friendly, knowledgeable and very upfront. We considered the program seriously and stayed there for a coupe of hours looking over the details. In the end it was not for us, but if you are interested, I would recommend you ask for Verinika. As with any legal contract, it's important that you understand exactly what you're signing. Don't be afraid to ask questions. It clearly seems to be a good fit for many since they have over 28,000 members.

Great experience, totally worth it. Our first try at all inclusive turned out great and well certainly be back!

Room Tip: On the la perla side, it looked like ALL rooms had jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coolraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to receive reviews from our tourists, especially when they really try to communicate every detail during the stay, just like yours. We are proud that you have had a memorable stay at Paradisus.

We are glad to read you were able to enjoy the coziness of your room, the tranquility from the beach, fresh drinks at our bars, the culinary tour offered at our specialty restaurants and buffets; the style and decoration in all the areas. We adore reflecting our interest about details to accomplish the visual impact since the moment you cross the Lobby.

We appreciate that you remarked our special interest in providing special menus for diverse dietary restrictions, all of our guests deserve the same culinary experience and an allergy is not an impediment at all.

As you accurately affirmed, we listen to our guests and act in consequence. The new policy about saving sunbeds for more than an hour, gave our tourists the opportunity to get a nice spot to relax and enjoy the Caribbean breeze.

Thank you again for your full review and please honor us again with your visit in the future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

It is a great resort for couple. Nice pool and very clean. Food is okay. Service is good. Security is good. The beach by the hotel okay, not much to do there. Got a swim up suite, it was nice. Enjoy yourself by the pool bar.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luveurope88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,932 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
7,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
16,874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Service at Paradisus La Perla
Royal Service at Paradisus La Pe...
#21 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
294 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $357 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing