We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Nearby Hotels
$331
$236
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$229
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$370
$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
$583
$436
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $498/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$535
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$292
$269
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$480
$339
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,120)
Filter reviews
10,120 results
Traveler rating
7,750
1,592
465
172
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,750
1,592
465
172
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal servicemolethe grillsouth bargabi clubla palapa restaurantyhi spadinner reservationsalfredomaster suitebutler serviceguest servicesswim up suiteour honeymoonbali bedspool partytop shelf
Filter
Updating list...
6,511 - 6,516 of 10,120 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Absolutely stunning resort from the lobby, to the grounds to the restaurants and most importantly the suites. One of the first resorts I can say in all honesty that photos of the resorts are not glorified... what you see is what you get.

Luxury JR Suite Tropical View
Highly suggest asking for a pool view I believe there are suites that face the exterior areas of the resort which wouldn't be as pleasant. We had room 1167 which was on the second floor with a decent pool view. Room was immaculate- new modern furnishings and very clean. For 2 adults the room is quite spacious. We did however see some of the 1 Bedroom Master Suites and those looked amazing. There was a swim out suite directly below our room which looked nice- beware that the water in the pools is a little cold (more on that later). A lot of the swim out suites were in shaded areas so I imagine those pools to be especially cool during the winter months.

Beach
We are not really beach people but from the little time we spent at the beach it was quite nice. Do bear in mind that it is a long narrow strip of beach so the loungers are quite close together. There are two sections of beach for La Perla and La Esmeralda. I also noticed an exclusive area for "Family Concierge" and "Royal Service" even on the beach.

Pool
We spent most of our time around the main pool at the La Perla side. Waiter service was attentive constantly checking if you need the refill and will even deliver lunch to your lounger. The pool water is a little bit cool but only takes a few minutes to get used to. The "towel reservation" system is definitely in full affect at this resort and we did have to get up early to reserve a spot in the sun. During our stay there was a music festival going on that brought a DJ and entertainment to the pool. This was great for us as otherwise I imagine the pool would be a little too quiet.

Dining
The 24 hour room service menu is great... having stayed at other 5 star resorts I must say the menu is a little more limited in comparison to counterparts such as El Dorado Resorts by Karisma. The service however was quick (30-40 mins) and always hot. We ate at the breakfast buffet at the La Perla side each morning and there are no complaints there- great selection. For dinner we ate twice at Bana (excellent sushi and Japanese), Vento (wasn't impressed with the menu but the truffle risotto was very good), La Palapa (New Years eve dinner consisted of an excellent surf and turf) and the Market buffet (we especially enjoyed the 'make your own pasta' station). For lunch we generally ate around the pool area on the La Perla side- highly recommend the guacamole, burritos and the caprese foccacia. Around the main pool on the La Perla side there is always hot dogs/hamburgers/chicken burgers being prepared on demand as well as Spanish paella which was very good as well. We also dined at the The Grill for lunch on our arrival day- there is an excellent salad buffet there.

You do have to make dinner reservations for the a la carte dinner reservations. We stayed over New Years and the hotel was at 100% occupancy and we never had a problem making reservations. Also, a lot of the restaurants are shared between the La Esmeralda (family side) I did notice that they tried to keep the couples seated all together and families seated apart. There are however, many options that are adults only if that's something that's important to you.

Bars and Entertainment
All the bars do indeed have top shelf liquor (Grey Goose etc)- I didn't always see the bottles being displayed you just had to ask for it. There are plenty of bars available around the resort... you will not go thirsty. The "Gabi Club" by the beach had limited entertainment that usually wrapped up by 10pm or so. The set up at the Gabi Club was quite chic yet it's a shame they don't utilize the space properly or at least play some sort of music for dancing. Unlike other all inclusive resorts the set up for when they actually have entertainment is very poor and pretty much all the seating is some sort of obstructed view causing you to stand to view the entertainment. One plus is the proximity to Playa Del Carmen- $10 quick cab ride and your right in the heart of Playa for night-life or just people watch.

New Years Eve
We dined at La Palapa (adults only dining) and had a wonderful meal. Having stayed at other resorts during New Years they really didn't go out of their way to decorate the resort accordingly. I do believe the did put on some sort of party/entertainment for New Years Eve. We spent New Years Eve at Coco Bongo and noticed many other guests were also leaving the resort to go into Playa Del Carmen. Perhaps this is why they didn't go out of their way to hype New Years Eve? On the contrary, the did throw a decent pool party with a DJ for New Years Day by the main pool at the La Perla section.

La Esmeralda (Family Section)
The resorts are basically 2 "U" shaped resorts that share a lot of central dining, entertainment and bars. The pool area looked great for children- pirate ship mini water park and other inflatable water activities for kids. The Family Concierge pool is definitely heated as it was significantly warmer then that of the main pools.

Excursions
We spent Saturday at XPLOR and it was excellent. I'm sure the park was extremely busy due to the time of year. We did not book through the hotel's excursion desk as they were asking for $175USD per person with round trip transportation (where you waste time going to other resorts doing pick ups). A taxi to XPLOR was roughly $30USD and the entrance was $120.00 per person. Although the savings were minimal I recommend it this way so you don't have to be in the lobby at 8am and don't have to wait until 5:30pm to be brought back to the resort. We arrived at roughly 10:30am and stayed until about 3:30pm. The highlights were the Amphibious vehicles, cave swim and the zip lining that ends in the water. Also be aware that you may only utilize each activity maximum 2 times which was somewhat disappointing. The park also provided non alcoholic beverages and buffet lunch with admission- the food at lunch was very fresh with plenty of selection.

We spent New Years Eve in Playa Del Carmen at Coco Bongo. We did reserve a table with bottle service on the second floor for approx $750.00 USD (entrance, bottles and basic mixers). The shows were great as always and the service was attentive throughout the evening even though it was New Years and it was jammed. Be aware when pre-reserving your tables that some of the tables are just a "ledge" on the balconies with some stools and enough room to put your drink down. Upon arriving this was first where they wanted to seat us but at a rate of $750USD this was unacceptable and they moved us to an actual table.

Staff and Service
The staff by the pool area especially were all great and very attentive. Service at the dinner restaurants were fine but lacked at the buffets. Much of the wait staff at the buffets seemed to speak limited English compared to their colleagues at the other bars and dinner restaurants. My significant other speaks fluent Spanish so this definitely came in handy. It seemed a little strange to have to wait in line to be seated at the table even at the buffets. Service at breakfast was very slow for simple things like juice and coffee sometimes we were even half through our meal before we were even offered coffee.

Although we had a great time and liked the resort we would possibly think of returning and perhaps upgrading to Royal Service.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you took the time to share with us your detailed Paradisus La Perla experience, and we feel satisfied that we were able to surpass your expectations regarding facilities, food, beverages, room comfort, activities and service.

Thank you for emphasizing that we do have complete adults only areas like the whole swimming pool zone, Welcome lounge, Yhi Spa, Yhi moves (gym), and restaurants like Hadar, Fuego, Passion by Martin Berasategui, The Grill and Sunrise. Bana turns into adults only after 8:00pm. Those options are available for guests willing to stay in a keep the calm ambiance.

We appreciate all your kind words and we will appreciate your recommendation to your relatives to stay with us in order to have a fantastic experience and let us pamper them as we pampered you this time.



Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I went to La Perla in April of 2012 and it was the best vacation we've had! This was our 6th trip to Mexico and we typically stay at 4-5 star all-inclusive resorts (others we've stayed at include Secrets Maroma, Aventura Spa Palace & Live Aqua). The food quality was absolutely the best we've had at any resort. Our favorite restaurants were Bana, (DElicious sushi) and Fuego. The rooms (love the balcony hot tub) and grounds were gorgeous (we had ocean view suite, not Royal Service). The evening entertainment was excellent and NOT the typical cheesy shows you find at other resorts.The beach is beautiful, but very rocky in some areas especially on the adults side, better beach can be found on the family side of the resort. The service was so-so, although some workers were really wonderful (especially by the bar areas), service overall was inconsistent and can be improved and hopefully will over time as this is a relatively new resort. All in all we had a great trip and will be returning this month (something we don't usually do, we like to try out new places but La Perla was that good)! Can't wait to go back , my mouth is watering just thinking about it;)

Room Tip: Bring boat shoes.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear guest,

It is surprising for us that 8 months after your stay at Paradisus La Perla, you have decided to let us know about the amazing experience it was.

Thank you for remarking the amazing LUXEclusive plan that clearly distinguishes us from the rest of the all-inclusive resorts in the area. We keep the same quality and you will be able to taste all your favorite dishes in your next visit.

We are so happy to know your return to Paradise is coming closer. Please feel free to contact me at alan.becerril@melia.com for any assistance you may require.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stay in this hotel for New Years , was the best ever... Very very good food , personal is very nice educate and helpful , for adults is excellent beautiful people , for kids is the best a lot of activities for then and many place just for then, I stay many many hotel in world always 5 stars , and this is the best by far... It is expensive but worth every Pennie ... Super recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear guest,

It is great for us to read you had a fantastic time during New Year’s week with all the activities, shows, happenings, performances and bands to satisfy different guests´ preferences. As you observed, the resort was in its maximum capacity.

We appreciate your recommendation to future visitors and please, when you think in Paradise, think in Paradisus La Perla.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent our holidays at the Paradisus La Perla in December. We never stayed in an all inclusive resort before and usually travel around, so expectations were very high. Overall we had a great stay at this beautiful resort. We were looking for a relaxing holiday in the sun and found the Paradisus to be the perfect “chill out” place to recharge our batteries.

1 – RESORT. Looks exactly like on the pictures. Modern architecture and loungy atmosphere all over. Seats and sofas everywhere to relax. Very clean, with staff cleaning everywhere all day long. We stayed in the Royal Service area and I can confirm the pool in this area is warmer than the other pools. Lots of sun beds and palapas around the pools and on the beach but the “towel game” starts early in the morning. At 8 am about 85% of the pool and beach beds are marked with towels and books. The resort is at 1 kilometer beach walking from Playa del Carmen and 2,40 kilometers walking to the pier (I jogged this stretch and loved it). In the eve you can take a taxi to the resort.

2- ROOMS. The room was gorgeous and the bed is the best hotel bed I ever slept in. Jacuzzi on the balcony. Loved the Thierry Mugler shower products. We had a leak from the airco with water dribbling from the ceiling, when we called the front desk the handyman was there in literally only one minute. That’s what I call service.

3 – RESTAURANTS AND BARS. We dined in all of the restaurants, except Naos. Food and service varies from average to great. Our number 1 was two dinners at Bana with great service twice from friendly Ernesto. Xmas eve dinner at Passion was fantastic, but it was odd to have 9 (!) different people serving our table. Nevertheless it was a great experience and our “main” waiter Valentin did an outstanding job. Waiter Isidoro at The Grill was also remarkable. I rate some of the food and service at Paradisus “average” because food was served cold twice (The Market, Bana), and the calzone I had for lunch at The Grill was inedible, service at lunch was also rude there. We loved hanging out at the North Ave bar in the evening. Friendly service from all staff there.

4 – ENTERTAINMENT. We are no big fans of hotel entertainment, so Paradisus was the right place for us. There is entertainment, but not an overdose. If you like to party all night long this is not the place where you will dance the night away.

5 – ROYAL SERVICE (RS). We stayed in the Royal Service area. Smiling staff everywhere, and always lots of butlers gathering at the reception desks and greeting you. But... I still need to find out what Royal Service is all about. The only service we got was dinner reservations and they were messed up. Dates were not corresponding with the week days, so they had to redo the whole list. At Passion our reservations list stated December 24, but when we showed up we could see and feel that there was no reservation made. The friendly Passion staff did everything to “hide” the communication mistake made by their RS colleagues and we got a table after a 15 mins wait (in a 50% empty restaurant). The surprise came the day after, when we found a confirmation card in our room for a Dec. 25 reservation at Passion. This proved the mistake from the day before. We went to the RS reception and they told us they would immediately cancel the reservation. Not. We got a call later that eve from Passion to tell us they were looking forward to welcome us in an hour, so once again a RS communication issue. On a different evening we also noticed no reservation was made in one of the other restaurants, so we were once again placed at the bar to wait. It became somehow "funny" to see how staff masks up mistakes, and acting as if everything was under control.

On the day we arrived, it was late in the evening and we were tired. We were guided to our room, and would meet our butler later. For the next two days we decided to discover the region and left the resort during the day, so only on our third day we were relaxing at the pool. Our butler came to greet us there for the first time, which was nice, but leaving us with some sort of guilt that we decided to go our own way during the first days (“I was looking for you guys for 3 days!”). I was at Paradisus to enjoy pure freedom. We also never had the guided tour and explanations of the property, and I don’t think it was up to us to ask but up to RS to offer it, whatever day of your stay.

Also, I was secretly hoping to find a tiny little attention from RS for Xmas in the room, but maybe my expectations were too high.

I liked the self service bar in the RS lobby, where I discovered Kalhua!

So all in all, RS is a mystery to me and I didn't experience the whole RS fuzz. At this point I was disappointed.

6 – BEACH. Yes, the beach is a small strip like other reviews already mention with sun beds very close to each other. We preferred to sit at the pool and only went to the beach early in the morning for our jogging or late afternoon to relax, and I liked it.

Some other points:
- The acoustics and noise in most of the restaurants (with high ceilings) is terrible. For a more relaxed and less noisy dining go to The Market, The Grill, La Palapa and Bana.
- Rooms are made up very late, I didn’t bother much though.
- Wifi coverage is perfect, but throughout our stay we had to go and see the RS reception 4 times to get a new login and password, although the voucher always stated passwords were “valid until December 31”.
- Like other reviewers, I did not like the “chill out” music (muzak) playing all day long in the resort. I can tell you that after a couple of days it starts to be more than annoying to hear the same muzak blasting from the Bose boxes.
- The breakfast buffet at Hadar is nice, but the setting is dark. It’s a pity that on a bright sunny morning you have to walk into a gloomy inside restaurant with black walls, floor and ceiling and dimmed lights to enjoy breakfast. At La Palapa in the RS area you can have breakfast outside, but only a la carte.
- Rent a car or take an excursion and discover the region. Driving is a breeze. Great snorkelling options (like Akumal, Puerto Morelos or the Chaak Tun cenote).
- Yes, the staff really makes a difference at Paradisus. It was my first time in Mexico and the hospitality, service and smiles from people like Arturo (RS pool waiter), Isidoro (The Grill), Valentin (Passion), Ernesto (Bana), the North Ave bar staff, Bianca from the South Ave bar and the room maids we crossed make me want to go back to this country and the Paradisus.

Would I go back? Yes, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear guest,

We really feel honored to know you selected Paradisus La Perla – Royal Service for you first trip in Mexico! It is great to read that after experiencing the warm service at different resort areas you want to come back to the country and we would be happy if you come back to Paradisus.

We have sent your notes to the Royal Service manager to let her know about the opportunity areas to work with her staff and improve the service at our most exclusive area in the resort. The extra benefits and services for our Royal Service guests (the opportunity to have breakfast and lunch at “La Palapa”, the private pool with pool concierge service, additional amenities in your suite, private lobby with a bar available 24 hours, butler assistance, etc.) are great motivation for returning guests.

We appreciate your detailed review from our facilities, activities, services and the surrounded area. We are sure it will be helpful for some of our readers.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Dates: 10-17 December 2012

Webb: paradisuslaperla.com

Wifi: Free of charge and good working.

Style: All inclusive luxury adult-only modern design resort. 

Situation: By the sea, close to Playa del Carmen (10 minutes with taxi).

Service: Excellent

Room: #1294 Luxury Junior Suites Royal Service Ocean view

Room description: Large comfortable 53 sq.m modern elegant design. Terrace 14 sq.m. with jacuzzi (which takes a long time to fill up!). Living are with sofa, 40 inch flat screen tv, IPod player, Nespresso machine, Iron/iron board, safe. Terrific ocean and pool view. 

Bed: Large and very comfortable. Pillow menu. Aromatherapy menu.

Bathroom: Large open style with 2 sliding doors, 2 sinks, big bathtub, big shower with 2 rain-showers. WC separate room in hallway. 

Amenities: Very good

Restaurant: Many. Recommend Fuego and Sushi bar.

Breakfast: Great a la carte selection.

Facilities: Great gym, Spa, bars, entertainment, library, tennis courts, beach, swimming pools and much more.

General: It is a beautiful and new (built 2011) all inclusive resort (394 rooms) but some of the restaurants and bars are shared with the adjacent family resort La Esmeralda. The design and layout is terrific. Royal service with 122 rooms is definitely worth the extra. Separate check-in (which in our case was really slow). Own restaurant, La Palapa which is good. Private beach area with comfortable twin lounging beds. Private pool, with again comfortable twin lounging beds. Yes beach is narrow (but very long, white and wonderful) and areas with lots of rocks in the water. So not ideal if you want to swim in the ocean all day. Food for breakfast and lunch good but dinner is not exiting which mainly due to bad cooking. Really disappointed with Mexican restaurant (Mole), the ”gourmet” restaurant (Passion) and the Teppanyaki. Wine and spirits of good quality (except their sparkling wine), but the cocktails are made out of syrup, no fresh fruit. The Martini bar is an exception and Gabi bar has a nice in and outdoor atmosphere (although still poor cocktails). The staff is very friendly and helpful but service could be a bit quicker. Had a friendly butler but generally don’t understand the concept. It’s like any staff member. Liked the 2 complimentary pieces pressing service per day. Unfortunately had an IPhone stolen from the room, so make sure you lock all your valuables in the safe!! The entertainment is pretty regular and of good quality. Many activities. It is a great resort with surprisingly quite a young clientele. A real pity the food and drinks diminishes the overall rating but would still consider coming back, and would definitely recommend the resort (Royal service).

Room Tip: Royal Service. Room on top floors (3 or 4) if you want ocean view. Swim up suites lack privacy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your Paradisus La Perla experience.

It is good to know your overall experience was good while you enjoyed the facilities, amenities, room´s comfort, modern ambiance and dining options.

We are quite surprised to read that our LUXEclusive plan did not suit your expectations regarding quality in food and beverages, as our chefs are always willing to listen to our guests and prepare something special at all our restaurants, even for guests with severe dietary restrictions. Our premium bar is available at all our bars and you can order your favorite brands.

We appreciate your recommendation to future visitors to stay at Paradisus as everyone finds what they are looking for in Paradise.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews