We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #20 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife, her sister, her boyfriend, and I stayed for five nights (we left for home on Dec. 24th to give you an idea of the season) at the Royal Service (includes all of the things the other two parts of the hotel has, as well as an exclusive pool, restaurant, and beach area). It was great. No, phenomenal! The service was ridiculously good; some of the best I have ever seen. The food was awesome (beware, however, of the room service...it was the only thing truly terrible - cold grill cheese, tasteless steak, etc.). In particular, Juan (the bartender at the Royal Service pool bar), Manuel (the Royal Service pool attendant), Eduardo (our butler...yes, Royal Service gets a butler), and Renau (the head waiter at La Palapa, the Royal Service restaurant) were awesome. Renau knew what I wanted by the second day, and I just had to sit down. Juan made great drinks, and treated my wife very, very well. They all knew our names shortly, and made an effort to talk to us no matter the time of day. We were also able to get a taxi service to Lahabna (where you get to zipline, snorkel in a cave, and swim in cenotes) and Tulum (Mayan ruins) that cost about 1600 pesos, or $160. The guy stuck with us the whole day, was really nice, and charged us virtually nothing for 8 hours. Seriously, it was heaven. The weather was great, and the beach and pool beds sweet. But the service sets it apart.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good. I would recommend asking for a room that is not near the elevator...we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floydtrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear guest,

We can hardly describe how it feels like to read we have surpassed your expectations during your stay at Paradisus La Perla – Royal Service.

We also value you remember the name of our partners that made your stay more enjoyable! Please be sure we will transfer to all of them your recognition to their outstanding work, and we trust your words will remind them to keep the attentiveness and kindness in their service that our dear guests like you value and treasure as a significant part of your whole experience.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed our unique LUXEclusive plan and our unique facilities.

Again, thank you for your recommendation to future visitors, and we will be waiting for your return to the Riviera Maya!


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,808 - 5,814 of 9,009 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

My mom and I stayed a week,its an incredible place, the service was amazing, the food was the best ever... the staff is unbelievable, very kind, very professional, polite, friendly, fun...There are many restaurants with foods from all over the world, our favorite one for dinner was La Palapa with a superb attention from Daniel the restaurant manager and for breakfast and lunch the restaurant Hadar with the best service from the manager Patricia Mendez, captain Gilberto Rodriguez, the waiters: Ivan Delgado, Darwin, Enrique, a spanish guy called Rafael and the Cheffs...At the Gabi bar: the best bartender ever and great person Victor Manuel Castillo. At the beach staff: Marisol, Carlos Calderon, Luis and Cesar Rodriguez and at the pool of la perla at the snack restaurant a great Chef Rogelio. Many thanks to all of you for making this one of our best trips ever and for all your great effort who served us and also to the hotel managers Mr. Caballero, Mr. Gonzalez Mata and the person in charge of the bellboys Mr. Martin and Jalil.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite with Ocean view on 3rd floor is a quiet and great spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossgonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Wow! You remember all the names from all our staff members who interacted with you, from bell boys, waiters, bartenders, to rooms division and front desk managers. Thank you very much for letting us know that you were impressed by the service provided by all of them, and of course we will let them know about your recognition to their attentive and caring service.

As you were able to experience, we have a strong commitment to surpass our guests´ expectations and we will keep the hard work, so the next time you honor us with your visit, you will have another unforgettable experience from Paradise.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at la Perla for a week. The suite was absolutely amazing, I have nothing negative to say about the accommodation. A lot of design also went into the facilities, the fitness centre, the bars, restaurants.....all is great.
The only shortcoming of the place is the service, it is very uneven and unpolished. Most of the restaurants serve OK food but getting decent wine service is just not there. There are 2 sommeliers on duty for all the restaurants, but only one of them is really good. Also the waiters are very inconsistent. Our fridge in the room got refilled barely every second day, we had to call and ask for water.....one more thing is this music by the pool that is on all day long. Gosh I really hated listening to the elevator music so used my iPod to block it out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vik83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear guest,

All our guest´s comments and suggestions are important for us. It is through them how we can identify the areas we need to focus and improve the services of facilities. That is why your notes have been sent to the Food and Beverage manager to evaluate if the service at the dinner restaurants is inconsistent; and also were sent to the manager in charge of restocking the minibar and be sure corrective actions will be taken on those matters.

In contrast, we want to thank you for remarking the exceptional design and décor from all the facilities.

Thank you again for your notes and we wish you a happy new year!


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband I stayed at the Paradisus La Perla for one week commencing December 9th for our 33rd anniversary. Upon check in David at the front desk upgraded us to a "ONE BEDROOM OCEANVIEW SUITE" when learning about our celebration. It was amazing and we cannot thank him enough. We would also like to say thank you to Jazmine who went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one and to all the staff who tried so very hard to please and accomodate everyone. The food was delicious in all of the restaurants that we were able to dine in. Our favourite was the Palapa...the lobster was to die for (x3). Do not listen to any of the negative reviews, we did not stay in the Royal section but were always treated royally. My husband and I have travelled extensively throughout Mexico and have stayed at many all inclusives but I must say this one is a beautiful resort with a wonderful staff and we cannot wait to return... we hope to see you all again soon

Room Tip: " one bedroom oceanview suite" has amazing views and is close to all of the amenities. Req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellife60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for considering Paradisus La Perla to celebrate a special celebration like your anniversary. We gladly receive our guests’ comments describing every detail that made possible an unforgettable experience during their stay, just the way you did.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your one bedroom suite comfort, got pampered by our warm staff and took advantage of our LUXEclusive plan with several options at all our a la cart restaurants, buffets, bars and snack bars.

We would be more than pleased to welcome you again at Paradisus La Perla, our “just for adults” Paradise.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in the Royal Service section, and the room was great. Remember, if you want to upgrade to RS, you should do it when you arrive; you will be able to negotiate a better deal.
I do like what I *think* they are trying to do; an upscale AI with gourmet food, but things haven't really worked out that way for them.

Overall, things were pretty awesome, but I think this place is confused about it's target audience. The separation between the 'kids allowed' section and 'adults only' section is not strictly enforced, and there were belly dance shows in the family section, as well as children in the adults only restaurants and areas. On several occasions i spotted children sleeping on lounge chairs / sofas in the adults only bars while their parents were drinking.

From the whole presentation and setup, it seems like they want 'upscale' guests, but have instead ended up with young 20-something drunken party-hungry people. On several occasions a manager had to 'talk down' people in the Royal Service pool area that were acting very juvenile. I would not recommend this place for a romantic couples retreat, it's more party oriented. I also want to note that we are in the high 20ies ourselves, yet we still found the party atmosphere a bit surprising/annoying.

As for food, there were some not so good restaurants, and some that were very nice. I would avoid the buffets at all costs, they are boring and very typical AI. The dress code listed on the webpage is *NOT* enforced, every single place is 'resort casual' except the Passion restaurant. I was quite disappointed with this as I was expecting a bit higher 'class' of resort.

Sunset Grill - Good for a quick snack, but not much else. If you want a burger, go to La Palapa instead.

Naos - Buffet, avoid.

Hadar - Buffet, avoid. We preferred this over Naos though.

Fuego - The food was okay, the service was not very impressive.

Bana - Very strange and confused restaurant. From the description it seemed like there were separate 'areas' for the sushi bar and the fusion part of the restaurant, but there was a single menu and you could order any mix of sushi and 'fusion' food you wanted. It seemed like children were allowed in all parts of this place even though the sushi bar was supposed to be adults only. Food here was okay-ish, but we ended up with stomach problems after visiting here on our last day. Atmosphere was 'crying and screaming children', so beware.

Mole - If you go here, note that 2 of the appetizers are always included. We ended up ordering way too much because of this. The food was pretty good though. There were children in various stages of sleep on the chairs / benches when we went at 8PM.

The grill & The market - Basically the same place, both serve grilled meat and have a self-service salad bar. The only difference is how the meat is served. Food and service was good. The meat was cooked to the right temperature here (which didn't always happen at the other places).

La Palapa - Excellent service and good food. Limited selection though.

Passion - Extremely good service and food. You get to eat here once for free if you stay 7 nights or more in Royal Service. Dress code *IS* enforced here, which was nice. Save this one for last, unless you want to be disappointed with the food for the rest of your stay :)

Music is a topic i see discussed a lot in the reviews here, and I have to agree. There is always at least two different music playing at any point in this resort, in the outside area of the RS lounge, there was in fact 3 different music PLUS the music from the random event of the day. I don't really think it's necessary to have 'elevator music' all over the place, it becomes very annoying very quickly.

The pool areas were nice, but the beach was disappointing. Do not expect to go swimming in the ocean, especially if you don't have bathing shoes with you. The water outside the Royal Service beach area is very rocky and you can't really see the bottom because of the sand swirling around. The rest of the beach wasn't much better.

The location of this resort is kinda in the middle of nowhere. They have 'prettied up' the access road to the hotel, but all the surrounding area is a bit shady. Walking into town is a waste of time, and to go shopping (or whatever else you would like to do) in Playa del Carmen you should take a taxi.

The tours offered on-site are priced very high compared to what you'd find if you went looking in town. It seems like Best Day travel had a deal with both the resort and the travel agencies, so don't expect to have any choice if you book an excursion on-site.

Room Tip: Try to get a high up room if you have the RS balcony jacuzzi, otherwise you will not get any privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elqueffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My boyfriend, myself and two of our friends visited this resort for a week in
December just before Christmas and it was a great experience! I was a little nervous
about travelling to Mexico originally, but I have to say that this resort helped
change my opinion.

When we arrived, we were actually upgraded to a suite with a jacuzzi on the balcony
on the La Esmerelda side, but we spent all of our time at La Perla because it was
adults only. If you get the offer to upgrade to the family side, I would still take
it because the rooms are amazing! There was so much room and we loved the jacuzzi
outside so much.

In terms of food, overall this was a 150% improvement over our last trip to the
Dominican and we never went hungry or got sick all week. Our favourite restaurants
were the Japanese restaurant, Bana (we went here twice, once for sushi and once for
the teppanyaki, which was amazing...I highly recommend it!), Vento, and Fuego. I was
a little bit disappointed with La Palapa, which is the Royal Service restaurant
that's open to all at night, but parts of the meal were still very good. Also, Mole
was the first restaurant we went to and I wasn't overly impressed with that one
either. However, the buffets were great and there was something great to be said
about everywhere we ate.

The service obviously varied from place to place, but definitely if you tip you will
get great service all over the resort. Jesus at the Grill was extremely attentive
over our three and a half hour dinner even though we were a little bit rowdy! :)
Surprise shots are everyone's specialty!

In terms of the beach, having been to Cuba and DR in the past, it wasn't what I was
expecting for down south, as the beach was really narrow. Definitely get up early
and get chairs if you want an umbrella! And bring water shoes. You can go in the
water without them, but it's easier if you have them.

In terms of location, if you want to go to Playa del Carmen to party every night,
it's not very close. We did the walk down the beach, and it was about 45 minutes
each way. It was a nice way to spend the afternoon, and you could always cab as well
if you wanted.

In terms of night and party life, I thought it was a really good balance. There were
definitely people there to party, and you could always join them if you wanted, but
if you just wanted to relax, it was easy to do because the restaurants weren't
anywhere near our rooms. The nightly entertainment was pretty good from what we saw,
but overall, the best part was definitely the pool party on Saturday. Don't miss
this one!

Hope this helps, but I would definitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyJ1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Paradisus experience with us. We are glad to read your friends and both of you had a pleasant stay with us, while all of you found what you were looking for: fun, relaxation, food quality and variety, comfort, warm service and a unique place where all the elements mentioned gets together in one place.

The same way we are pleased to know you confirmed by yourself that traveling to Mexico is completely safe and there is no need to stay 24/7 inside a resort. Playa del Carmen offers an unique atmosphere to walk around on the 5th avenue and have a great shopping afternoon, diner or even fun night life.

We appreciate your recommendation and please honor us with your presence in the near future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just returned from a 4night/5day stay at Paradisus with good insight for anyone considering staying here..its true check-in is smooth, nice refreshing towels, smiles and lots of hospitality but that's where it ends. Its a beautiful resort in general. With that being said, there is nothing inside the resort or rooms to remind you of where you are or what country your in..for all i knew i could have been in Vegas. The people behind the front desk and concierges in general for the most part are useless. They are very inflexible and unwilling to compromise. Dinner reservations cannot usually be changed nor can the restaurant even thou every night they were 90% empty. If you ask for a room upgrade and are fortunate enough to be granted one in the "Royal Reserve" you will find yourself on a section of the resort that has amenities that you cannot use...i thought that was particularly pointless. Also, the stretch of beach, if i can call it that, has about 20 feet of sand before you hit the water. Literally no room to relax. The pool is tiny and honestly looks like a hot tub on the resort map. Anyone in doubt can look at the resort map online and make your own conclusions. Best thing about this resort is the 24hr room service which is great for those who have paid for the all-inclusive, but wish to be adventurous and leave the resort by day. In addition, Playa del Carmen is in a good location to do day excursions (zip-lining, snorkeling, cave diving & visiting the Ruins) I felt for a more "authentic" feeling vacation one should stay in Cancun ( for the amazing beaches) and travel to Isla Mujeras, which is where authenticity lives. It's about a 5 minute cab ride to the ferry to enjoy the food, culture and shopping. If you want to be treated like royalty as some have mentioned, PAY & STAY IN ROYAL RESERVE, or else you will be treated like a second class citizen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard otherwise you will be facing a parking lot
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
9  Thank F1Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at Paradisus La Perla. At Paradisus we have a strong commitment on continuous improvement; therefore your comments are very important.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced to modify dinner reservations and the lack of information provided about the exclusive Royal Service area. We will reinforce that data and improve our way to transmit it to our guests. All our guests are important for us as our reason to be in the hospitality industry.

We are sorry and surprised at the same time to know that the service provided by our attentive staff was not the adequate to complete your requirements. Most of our guests find the service at the resort warm, polite and most of all, efficient.

We do hope sincerely that you will give us another opportunity to host you at Paradisus.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,475 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#37 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,328 reviews
10.9 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,941 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $325 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing