We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Paradisus Nov 5-14 / 12” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #19 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Winfield, Canada
1 review
“Paradisus Nov 5-14 / 12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Absolutely everything you see and more in the pictures . First class . Service was top level . Big thanks to Vivy and Ivan who always were close by making sure we were well taken care of . Thanks for Conny's 50th birthday cake Vivy !!. Also would like to thank Mr. Carlos " Adrian " Barrera in the swim bar . You must seek Adrian out and get to know him , a person who went above and beyond . He is a very creative bartender as well ! Santos was also there to look after us each breakfast . Thankyou ! Also a big thanks to Luis who made sure we never went thirsty at the beach . Paradisus has an absolutely wonderful staff to go along with their first class resort . I recommend walking to Playa along the beach . It'll take just around an hour . Cheers . Rich and Conny Woodhouse , Kelowna BC Canada . We'll be back ........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Woodhouse,

It is magnificent for us to now that both of you have an amazing memory form your stay at Paradisus and you were treated as you deserve by our staff members at the different resort areas, special mention to Vivi, Iván, Adrán, Santos and Luis and thanks to them in certain way, you are considering coming back. We will be waiting for your prompt return.

Both of you look very content in the phone taken in front of our amusing Gabi Club. Thank you for sharing it with us and with our visitors.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,543
    1,204
    357
    129
    102
See reviews for
772
4,788
87
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just returned from a trip here Nov 17-20, 2012. The entire resort was great! The food was excellent and everything was super clean and modern. We stayed in a swim up suite, and although we didn't use it much, it was really nice. My girlfriend visited the spa and thought it was nice too.

Some advice:

The next time we visit, we would pick a top floor room, because we did hear people above us and we did not really use the swim up feature of our bottom floor room.

We did not opt for the royal service, but I think it would have been worth the small price it costs. From what we could tell, it would have given us access to a less crowded pool and bar area with a lot more available options for seating. We always found a spot in a bali bed at the regular service pool, but sometimes we got the only available one. Then we noticed there were at least 10-15 of them available at the royal service pool.

Overall rating: super cool!

Room Tip: Get the royal service and stay on the top floor, unless you are total pool junkies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

We are pleased to read you had an overall great experience while you enjoyed all the facilities and services offered at our LUXEclusive plan and that you found some delicacies at our restaurants that fitted your taste. We did not disappointed you and it would be nice to host you again, maybe the next time in Royal Service to enjoy the extra benefits proper from our exclusive area at La Perla.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Definitely exceeded our expectations!!!
We stayed between October 20th and the 27th. Hands down the best 'all inclusive' we've stayed in. This is just a paradise you can't imagine that exists. I have never written a review before but my experience at Paradisus was so exceptional that I must. We were looking for relaxation and sun... and we got tons of both. From the moment you arrive till they wave you goodbye the service is the best in the world. Bring singles to tip and be generous! The staff is so exceptional....they deserve it!!! We found everyone SO delightful. We were pampered beyond belief, treated with such kindness; there are no words to describe. Oh, and the food... outstanding, gourmet, wonderful!
Special mention goes to Omar @ the front desk, Christina @ the Sunset pool bar, Jeronimo and Luis @ the Hadar, Cecelio at our favorite restaurant Mole and last but certainly not the least our amazing photographer Tati at the photo studio. They became like friends and I wanted to make sure I remembered them. Never have I, in all the years of traveling experienced such a great customer service. Fabulous people!
Long story short? BOOK HERE WITHOUT HESITATION. You will love your stay, you will come away impressed, you will want to return (we do!!), and you will head home refreshed, relaxed and so grateful for the opportunity to experience a resort like this.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milos1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for giving us the privilege on having your first review. This means you really felt necessary to share your Paradisus experience.

We are pleased to read the remarkable service provided by Omar, Cristina, Jerónimo, Luis and Cecilio was beyond your expectations and they became a significant part of your vacations. Be sure we will transfer your notes to them.

All of us will be waiting for your return with arms wide open, now you know exactly what to expect and getting nothing less than that.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The resort is beautiful and clean with modern decor. We had a Jr. Suite and must say it was beautiful. The bathroom, living room and bedroom were beautifully decorated and the linens to die for. The bedding is so comfortable, I really had the best sleep. Somehow our suite only had double beds and we could not get one with a king. The beach is not so good, it is on the rocky side and you cannot see it from the resort. The food was pretty good, but the breakfast buffet lacked variety. The pool area was beautiful with soft music playing but not really entertaining. We did have to go to the bar everytime for a drink as no one ever came around to the cabanas or chairs to ask if you needed any food or drinks. We were here for 4 days and overall it was a beautiful property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgal241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your Paradisus La Perla experience.

It is good to know your overall experience was good while you enjoyed the facilities, comfort in your one bedroom Jr. Suite, some delicacies at our variety of restaurants and most of all your sleep quality on the comfy bed.

We have sent your comments regarding the lack of service at the pool area. Definitely it is something that shouldn’t be happening and corrective actions will be taken. The same way the buffet menu will be analyzed and changed if necessary.

Thank you again for your preference, and remember, we will be waiting for your return to or little piece of Paradise.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Everything about this resort was 5 star except, maybe the food. It was just ok. But that's not why I'm writing. The service was a 6. Friendly, funny, helpful, eager, enthusiastic, genuine. I honestly can't recall - in a 35-year travel history - ever being so pampered and impressed by the quality of the service at Paradisus.

Room Tip: You want a room that doesn't face the pool. (There are a lot of activities - most of which requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your concrete review form your stay at Paradisus La Perla, highlighting the outstanding service you received from all our employees starting from the main gate, passing through every restaurant, until your departure at the front desk.

It would be fantastic if you come back for your future Caribbean vacations.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was amazed by this property from the minute we arrived. Excellent customer service, food, spa, pool! Super clean too. I will go back! I enjoyed having a conversation with Carmen at the spa while I got a manicure and pedicure. I have been to several all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean and Mexico and this was by far the best-great food and drinks.

Room Tip: The Royal Service area is amazing! Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravGirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share with us your resent stay at Paradisus La Perla. It`s our goal to exceed our guests expectations and to make every moment unforgettable as part of our LUXExclusive experience. We are glad we did it with you starting from your arrival.

We are pleased to know you consider Paradisus as the best all inclusive resort in the Caribbean and Mexico, and of course we will be waiting for your prompt return.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Such an amazing vacation and we can't wait to get back!! We stayed between August 24th and the 31st. The resort itself opened in 2011 and is modern and absolutely beautiful. The "ENTIRE" resort is constantly maintained and extremely clean. Rooms are modern and very well appointed with beautiful furnishings. The bed was so comfortable I would have to say it was as good as a Westin hotel Heavenly bed. We booked a Luxury Swim Up Suite and upon arrival we were delightfully upgraded to a Master 1 Bedroom Swim Up room...wow!! Our room was kept spotless during our visit. The staff go absolutely out of their way to make your stay an experience that will always be remembered. The food at some all inclusive resorts after a few days can get boring.....not here!! With about 11 restaurants ranging from authentic Mexican, to Latin, Mediterranean, Asian, World Cuisine, Brazilian and Argentinian grills and more....there are plenty of choices. The quality of the food is excellent amongst ALL of the restaurants. We had the best restaurant meals of our lives at Vento and Feugo restaurants..bring your camera as you will want to take pictures of your meals! Before or after dinner there is no less than 7 bars that serve quality premium drinks. Take a stroll after dinner with a drink in hand and admire the beautiful grounds, that have plenty of comfortable seating to relax and enjoy while watching the evening entertainment. The entertainment at night is good not spectacular but good...the Michael Jackson review is a must to see. Many local musicians (Mariachi bands included) and dancers provide good entertainment.

The beach can accumulate some seaweed however the staff are quick to eliminate it. Drinks and food are served at the beach so you can spend a considerable amount of time there. There are several outdoor bathrooms that are decorated beautifully with high end finishes and were extremely clean..I've never seem anything like that before. The pool and outdoor grounds were beautiful.

Many thanks to the following staff at La Perla...Alessia (our private concierge rep) would do anything and everything for us from dinner reservations, recommend off site tours and would always check in with us to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. Juan Carlos and Victor who provided us our breakfast room service. Such friendly men who were not shy to engage in conversation and ask about us and where we were from. Our friends at the Poolside Grill Manuel and Jorge. Our first day at the resort we met Manuel at lunchtime and found out that it was his first day on the job. You couldn't tell it was his first day by the level of service and engagement in conversing with us. Jorge, very friendly and always smiling who covers a lot of ground very quickly. From our swim up room we could see the poolside grill and bar and the access there was good but Jorge would always come right up to us and ask what he could get us to drink or eat!! Raul at Fuego restaurant provided us with the best service a waiter could possibly give you. He meticulously explained the dishes including ingredients and preparation. Guillermo at Vento restaurant provided us with superior service as did Ivan at Hadaar and Jesus and Filippe at La Palapa restaurants.

Take the day trip to the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza. It is a very spiritual and awe inspiring place which is recognized as a World Heritage Site. We booked the tour on site at La Perla with the tour company Best Day. The rep Priscilla was very pleasant and very informative and explained many of the sites the Yucatan had to offer. The price was very reasonable at about $225 Canadian that was provided by Go Natural Expeditions. If you can, arrange to have Gonzalo as your guide. This guy was amazing, full of information and passion for the Mayan culture as he is a descendant. He explained how the Mayans built Chichen Itza and how these astronomy and math to build their temples and structures. He was so fascinating that members from other tour groups would join our group just hear Gonzalo because he was just so compelling.

It included transportation to Chichen Itza via scenic bus that held about 14 people. The bus was newcomer, clean and air conditioned. The tour included cold drinks and snacks throughout the day with a stop in a local town for a buffet lunch and drinks. Prior to arriving to Chichen Itza, we stopped at a local Mayan town for some souvenir shopping. After Chichen Itza we stopped at a cenote, which is a underground grotto filled with water that you can go swimming in. It's voluntary you don't have to swim but it is a great experience. Beautiful spot for some picture taking. After that on the way back to the resort we stopped at Valladolid which is one of the oldest towns in Mexico. You can get yourself a cold drink or some ice cream and admire the towns church which is beautiful.

I truly can't say enough about this resort, I was not disappointed in any way whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DTtravels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share with us your experience at Paradisus La Perla, even 3 months after your stay. This means you really wanted other tourists to know what they can expect while staying with us.

We are totally glad to know that your overall Paradisus experience was fantastic and that you found several positive aspects during your stay, like your room tranquility, the diversity in the activities department, night shows, variety during our unique Culinary Tour and of course the warm service provided by all our staff members, special mention, all my partners that you kindly mentioned will be informed about your recognition to their amazing service.

We are sure that your suggestion to future tourist to visit the area will be taken under consideration as you had an unforgettable experience.

It would be terrific to host you again during your next Caribbean holidays.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,964 reviews
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,350 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10,767 reviews
9.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.5 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112 | Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna ($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants and 16 bars. Popular dining options include Japanese, South American, Mediterranean, Mexican cuisine and Signature cuisine “Passion” by Martin Berasategui ($) Awarded by the AAA Five Diamond. 24-hour room service. The Cancun International Airport is 45 minutes from the Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla. The shopping district of Playa Del Carmen, including tourist favorite 5th Avenue, is a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing