We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,524)
Filter reviews
10,524 results
Traveler rating
8,037
1,670
486
183
148
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,037
1,670
486
183
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal servicemolethe grillsouth bargabi clubrs poolla palapa restaurantyhi spadinner reservationsalfredobutler serviceswim up suitebali bedspool partyour honeymoonguest servicespersonal butler
Filter
Updating list...
6,859 - 6,864 of 10,524 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Holiday at La Perla : 6/10/12 and 20/10/12

I have to say that The hotel is amazing, no expenses spared on the decor and food!
We had such a lovely time it was exactly what we were looking for in a holiday - with the nightlife and entertainment to boot!

I have broken down the good and bad points below, however don't let some of the extremely over critical reviews on TA put you off booking La Perla - we would go back here in a heartbeat!!

Good Points:

Amazing Food - all the restaurants are great even the buffets!
Lovely Bedrooms
Beautiful Beach
Well kept grounds and pool
Plenty of alcohol flowing!
Staff are extremely polite and cannot do enough for you right from the room cleaners, bell boys, pool staff through to the guest services - Christina was our guardian angel by the pool and kept us well hydrated all day long, even if it wasn't always with the water! Thanks Christina your lovely! x

Bad Points:

Mini Bar - We had to call reception daily to get them to stock the mini bar - this was not done automatically which i was surprised by!

Sound proofing - This is really not great - if the room above or to the side wakes early or goes to bed late then so will you!

Families - Most of the evening entertainment and the main Gabi club is located in the center of the hotel which can be accessed by families.
Also several of the restaurants are are located on La Esmerelda side (which is the family part of the resort) we had no issues with this however if your looking for adult only you need to bear this in mind.

Time Share - The guest services will try and get you to take a 'tour' if the hotel with the promise of chocolates and tequila. This is merely a way of showing you more about the melia group and selling places in the time share - don't get me wrong if we had the money i would be interested by $35,000 upfront is quite hefty!!

Overall La Perla is AMAZING!

I would give it 5* and recommend to family and friends !

Room Tip: The garden view rooms don't have the best view however they did get the sun later on in the evening and are lovely and quite away from the pool!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pinky1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review after your stay at Paradisus La Perla.

We are pleased to read you had an overall great experience while you enjoyed all the facilities and services offered at our LUXEclusive plan and that you found some delicacies at our restaurants that fitted your taste.

As you experienced, Paradisus La Perla has a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere ideal for us to pamper you and spoil you a little bit with the service and provide you with everything you may desire to have an amazing vacation at the Mexican Caribbean.

We have sent your notes about the minibar the manager in charge, as you stated it must be an automatized service and our standard is to restock it every day between 9am to 6pm. It is true our shows are held at the Gabi Club where everyone is welcome. We understand that sometimes you don’t want to be around kids, it that case we have other bars available, for example the Mbar to enjoy a refreshing and innovative martini at or an exotic sake drink at Toji Bar.

We appreciate your recommendation to your friends and family to stay at Paradisus in order to get an unforgettable experience.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The club will one year old next month. It is absolutely beautiful. Clearly a huge amount of thought, time and money went into every detail of this resort the newest super club in the Club Melia chain. And "super" it really is.
You can exit your room from some rooms right into the pool which is huge on each side, both the couples side and the family side. Kids have their own "club" indoors and outside that is staffed by caring people.
All the staff are supportive in every way to make your stay memorable. The rooms are outstanding, most with balconies with whirlpool baths.
The Playa del Carmen beach is considered one of the best in the world.
The 5 restaurants have in my opinion ( and consider myself as do many others to be a gourmet chef) are 5 stars. It was difficult to choose which to visit twice as we wanted to go back to each more than once. The food was not only innovative, but served and presented with extreme thought and care.
It is worth every dollar you spend and we will be going back with the entire family and grandchildren next year.

Room Tip: The master suites are huge. Even the smallest of rooms is more than adequate and luxurious for a couple. Consider joining the vacation club, very different from a time share and worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear guest,

We value your comments about our properties, La Perla exclusive for adults and La Esmeralda, were everyone are welcome. We can see you paid attention to every element from the resort and we appreciate you took the time to share your opinion about all we have to offer to our guests.

Our LUXEclusive plan in one of our strengths, most of our guests enjoy the wide food and beverages variety offered in the resort accompanied with warm and professional service.

Thank you for your kind words and we will be waiting for your return with all your family members.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I went to this resort a year ago when it first opened.

PROS:
First off, the resort is brand new, modern and huge! The rooms are spacious and have a separate living room/kitchen/dining table and a separate bedroom. Flat screen tv's in both. Bathroom is large as well which is quite nice. Balcony overlooked the pool and had a jacuzzi which was nice when it got chillier at night. Night entertainment was great! My favorite thing of all was the food... I've been to a number of all inclusive hotels including the paradisus in punta cana and the food at this resort is beyond words. So many different restaurants and everything we ate was AMAZING! Our favorite was the Mexican restaurant and the breakfast buffet... talk about authentic mexican food... FINALLY! They also have waiters coming around constantly to see if you want drinks or food which is a nice plus not to have to get out of your chair!

CONS:
Pool and swim up pools are ice cold. We had to force ourselves to try water aerobics which was funny and fun! But it was too cold to go in the rest of our time there. Also, the beach is beautiful, but you can't go swimming in the water because there are too many rocks... my sister almost cut her foot wide open.

Overall, if you're a foodie and enjoy a beautiful resort and attentive staff, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Don't splurge on the swim up rooms... the water's too cold/not heated.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your second visit to Paradisus in less than a year. We are glad to read your expectations were fully covered regarding our unique LUXEclusive plan and entertainment program.

Please be sure we will keep our high quality standards to guarantee the attentive and caring service provided by our staff. It is crucial for us to create unforgettable memories from every moment in your vacations.

Thank you again for your preference and please when you think in Paradise, think in Paradisus Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

One of the TV remote controls was not working. Please save your money and stay somewhere else!! Just kidding - This resort was great! We stayed here from Aug 30 to Sep 6 and loved every minute of it! This was a Friends’ trip (2 couples).

The main strong points of this place are:

1. The aesthetic of the resort
2. The FOOD!

First and foremost, this is a gorgeous, luxurious resort. No detail has been left out and every last corner of the place is just stylish, sleek and breathtaking! The décor is very modern with interesting quirks blended in here and there – your eyes never get bored! The staff and service overall are very attentive and super-friendly. I have to give a special shout out to Fernando, our Concierge who greeted us upon check-in and made sure we were set for dinner reservations and anything else we may need. Some of the staff will try to upsell you on some type of timeshare, but please remember – no matter how inconvenient you may find this, this is their job and obviously a company requirement. A polite decline and ‘thank you’ worked very well for us as we were genuinely not interested in that type of arrangement.

We stayed in a Master One Bedroom Suite which we were upgraded to via a special that the hotel had in connection with our tour operator. This allowed a $1500 resort credit to be used anywhere on the premises except for the gift shop and including room upgrades.

The room was stunning, keeping in line with the rest of the resort. There was a spacious, beautifully decorated bathroom – actually, the bathroom was two rooms! One with a toilet area, shower and sink and another one with a Jacuzzi and a double sink. The room could have accommodated 4 people easily. Our balcony also had a Jacuzzi tub and overlooked the main pool and lazy river pool in the complex as well as the Ocean beyond that. Flat screen TVs in the living room and bedroom. Yes, one of the remotes didn’t work, but this was such a non-issue that we didn’t even report it.

Food is a very important component of our trips and I have to say, this place was amazing. Because we tried all of the restaurants, it’s easier to just say that our least favourite was the Asian themed one. It was not bad, but we sat at the Hibachi table and well, once you’ve been to one of those at a resort, you’ve pretty much been to them all. However, what all of the restaurants had in common was that they were all beautiful and served food of a high quality that frankly, not many All Inclusives can match. Each one had its own lounge bar attached to it and this bar would follow the theme of the main restaurant. What a great idea! My favourite was the MBar located between Fuego and Passion– excellent martinis to be had before dinner. Our favourite place to eat was Fuego – wonderful ceviches of all types of seafood. One in particular stood out – the salmon ceviche with avocado and coconut milk. Ordered it twice! Breakfast was at Hadar – which had an impressive array of various breakfast foods and excellent table service. “Mole” - the Mexican fusion place - was ironically the first time I had excellent Mexican food at a Mexican resort lol. Room service is 24 hours. We ordered breakfast twice via this method and each time the food arrived hot, fresh and with a smile! Restaurant “Passion” with cuisine by a 7-Star Michelin Chef is an additional surcharge, so we skipped that, but our friends used some of their resort credits for this dining experience. They said that it was amazing and worth the charge.

The main pool with the swim up bar was also breathtaking. Very well designed, spacious and what impressed me the most is that their swim up suites are actually connected to the main pool! I do believe in all our travels that’s the first time I’ve seen this and for those of you who like this type of accommodation – they looked really great and are true swim ups! Back to the swim up bar – the service here was prompt and friendly and the drinks delicious. Even if it wasn’t on the menu, they made it for you upon request and they made it well! We were there during low season, so it was never crowded, but very conducive to striking up interesting conversations with other guests. At no time did I see any negative or rude behaviour.

All around the pool area were plentiful Bali beds where you could just relax after a hard day of floating in the pool, eating and drinking.

Also very impressive were the shower stalls (also very plentiful) where you could rinse off before/after pool or beach fun. Even the shower stalls were impressive in their overall look and design!

Entertainment – there was lots of entertainment on offer here but we usually opted to hang out in the evenings on our wonderful suite balcony or head down to the Gabi Club. Hands down the best resort club we have been to! They have an outdoor seating area that has interesting seats and light features all over a big sandbox for adults – really a lot of fun!

As much as I want this beautiful hotel to succeed, I have to say that the Reserve section – which is an exclusive upgrade area with its own pool and beach access did not look worth the extra price at all. Not sure if this is due to the time of year that we went, but even Non-Reserve guests could access La Palapa restaurant there for lunch and dinner. We took advantage of this and just by looking around the place we could tell it’s really not that much different from the rest of the resort.

The only (minor) negative for me was the beach and this is entirely out of the control of the resort. It is very, very rocky along the beach and to get into the water was not pleasant at all. Once you are past about 10 meters of rock, it is soft sand and great water, but there are definitely better beaches out there. Good thing we are pool people. Excellent service on the beach by the way.

If you are more of a pool person than a beach person, I would definitely recommend this resort. An amazing experience that really has to be done at least once!

Room Tip: The main pool-facing suites on floors 2-4 lack privacy due to glass balconies and anyone walking by can see your business, so choose something higher than floor 4 and you should be good. Otherwise, the rooms we've seen are great.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nabestag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your complete and detailed review from your amazing stay at Paradisus La Perla with your friends.

We are completely glad to read you felt pampered by most of the staff, especially from your concierge Fernando who will be informed about your notes, and we are sure they will motivate him to keep his caring and attentive service.

We also feel satisfied that you enjoyed our unique LUXEclusive plan with a wide variety in food and beverage in all our specialty restaurants and bars, specially the ceviches at Fuego, gourmet Mexican cuisine at Mole, assorted breakfast bars at Hadar, and delicious martinis at the Mbar. Thank you for highlighting the activities and shows during the day, adequate for all our guests.

We value your description of every detail and amenities at your one bedroom suite, where we can see you took advantage of the incredible comfort our facilities provide.

Regarding our beach conditions, we have a daily cleaning program to keep the beach area free of rocks and seaweed that the ocean brings along with it naturally. Although it is forbidden by law to remove coral fragments from the reef, due its importance to the ecosystem.

We would love to have you again as our guest so you can remember everything you experienced with us and be treated again as you deserve.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Beautiful resort! Loved the swim up room! fantastic pool area with a great poolside snack bar. The fresh guacamole & ceviche was fantastic! All the food was fantastic, alcohol was all top shelf, great martinis at M bar! All the staff was fantastic and very attentive, especially Rigoberto at the pool bar, he was wonderful, very entertaining! Some people have complained about the beach, but we thought is was great. There are some areas of rocks in the water, but you can easliy get around them. There was alot of clear areas, Beautiful white sand. The beach waiters are awesome, always coming by, even brought a tray of drinks to us when we were standing in the water, without us asking! All the staff will do their best to accomodate your needs. Had to make reservations at the specialty restaurants, but very easy to do. Mole, LaPalapa, and Fuego were great! Had alot of fun at Gabi bar.

My only complaint is the perfume in the main lobby/lounge. Very strong, I'm very sensitive to perfumes. Even people not sensitive had trouble with it. Should prob tone that done quite a bit.

Other that that, loved it! Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear guest,

We really enjoy reading our guests´ comments after living the Paradisus experience and remarking their favorite areas and services around the resort.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed some relaxing mornings by the beach, tasting delicacies at our specialty restaurants, finding your favorites snacks by the pool area; and the M Bar, were the martinis variety blew your mind.

Be sure that we will take under consideration your notes about the amount of scent at our welcome lounge.

Thanks again for your comments, your preference and we will be pleased to host you again at Paradisus Playa del Carmen for your next getaway by the Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews