We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Property, Product & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #20 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is far and away the nicest AI in which I've stayed.

Firstly, anyone who freaks out because you have to drive through a less than desirable neighborhood probably doesn't deserve to have the rest of their review read. It's Mexico, and resorts aren't always right on top of the neighboring city.

The property is immaculate like many resorts in the area but the quality of materials used to build the resort is on another level. The flooring, bartops, seating & tables etc are all very aesthetically pleasing and comfortable but I'll start with the rooms. The suites (and it seems 75% of the units are the large suites) are incredible, perhaps excessive! The main room includes a wet bar, 6 seat dining table, two couches and a flat screen TV. The bed/bath side has a bathroom with a very nice steam shower with two shower heads as well as a sink. The sectioned off bathroom area between bedroom (which has another flat screen) includes a large jacuzzi tub as well as his/hers closets and another sink. Our balcony of course extends from end to end so it's quite large. A 2 person hot tub, 4 person dining table and loveseat make it a great area to relax when away from pool/beach.

As many have indicated, the beach is not very wide and there's a mangrove between resort and beach. There are ample beach chairs and cabanas on the beach but we never really used them. It is a about a 20-25 minute walk to Playa del Carmen. We did it three times and I recommend it. The pool area is large and there were countless beach chairs, cabanas and "in-pool" beds as well. The resort couldn't have been more than 35% full but even if close to full, I can't imagine having to play the "towel on chair game" here. Like many resorts there is a swim up bar that connects to the outdoor bar. The drinks and even pool food are very good but I'll get into the food/drink later. My only real complaint is that the pool was...well...too relaxing (for me!). There are some water aerobics around 11am but before and after that it's very tranquil. I realize that's what a lot of people like but I personally prefer a little more action with an activities crew to break the monotony of being at the pool and just constantly relaxing. I don't think Paradisus/Melia is oblivious to this, I think they prefer it this way. Oh, best bathrooms throughout the resort including pool area. It doesn't make or break a vacation but it's nice if you're downing beverages at the pool all day to walk to a very modern and clean restroom.

The restaurants were fantastic. Passion was extremely formal and very good, and while we don't regret trying it, the food at the other restaurants was very good so I didn't feel it was really necessary. Fuego was probably my favorite. I would be more apt to spend money there than at Passion to be honest. Between these two restaurants is the MBar. They make some fantastic/unique martinis/drinks using items like celery and cucumber. Bana was great and we went there twice (Cecilio is the man). Quality salmon and tuna sashimi as well as other items. The other part of this restaurant was three (I think) Japanese style Habachi grill rooms. We did this one night. It was good (pretty standard to what you'd get in the states but throwing shrimp in the guest's mouth is not allowed) and a good way to mingle with other guests. A small bar is located in this restaurant and serves hot Saki in addition to other items. Mole was good but I feel like you can get a lot of those items at the Market buffet during the day or at the pool. La Palapa was very good as well and open air. It's located across the pool from where we stayed and right at pool entrance to Royal Service. Small plates at Gabi club were unique and delicious.

The North and South Avenue bars were pretty cool. Fun setup but the resort wasn't very busy so there weren't many people at either bar most of the time but we went from time to time. Ample seating and a variety of seating options made all of the bars at this resort even more enjoyable. Gabi Club is where most of the action was. It's a very large horseshoe open air bar. There is seating under the high roof as well as out on the sand and patio just outside. The resort has a lot of great product. I believe they carried 6 different Mexican beers as well as Heineken. Oh, don't forget to bring an insulated mug/cup for your pool drinks. Makes a world of difference.

I'm bored of writing this so if you've continued, I'll wrap it up. The service was great at pretty much every restaurant/bar/pool area. We prefer to tip quite a bit but they don't discriminate either way. In short, picture perfect modern property with excellent food and drink as well as service. I like to have a little more fun during the day than this location will likely provide. If you need a big beach than this probably isn't your place.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the "quiet pool" (super quiet pool?) are closer to the ocean and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevereynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Quality Department at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear guest,

We appreciate your full description of our facilities including rooms, restaurants, bars, pool area and beach. For us, it means you really where impressed about them and you felt it was necessary to share it with us and future Paradisus visitors. We are sure they will take your suggestions in consideration to enjoy their vacations as much as you did.

Thank you for your comment regarding the activities by the pool area, your notes were transferred to the area manager to review the program and if necessary, they will add other events on it.

Please honor us again with your presence for your next holydays by the beautiful Mexican Caribbean.


Armando Mondragón
Quality Department
armando.mondragon@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,413 - 6,419 of 9,608 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

5/15/12, My wife and and I have made over fifteen trips to the area and have stayed in a dozen resorts and this one, without a doubt, had the best service from check-in to checkout, throughout the resort.
The service the Sunset Grill (pool bar) was the best we have experienced in all the Caribbean and we have been to many of them. In just a very short time, Mariosol, Zelem, Reyes, and Cristina new our names and what we were drinking. They would watch and just show up with fresh drinks, (and water) without even asking. Sometimes it was as easy as a nod of the head from across the pool and they were on their way, absolutely no waiting.
The Hotel has many restaurants but I must point out one, The Market. This is one of those Brazilian type meat on a skew places which frankly is not one of our favorites. It was our first night and we did not have reservations, not a problem, they were happy to serve us. The food was par HOWEVER, the service from Reyes and Carlos was outstanding. As i said, we didn't care much for that type of food so Reyes just had the Chief prepare something special. We enjoyed so much so that we returned several nights and had something completely different every night.
And the "Ocean View Rooms" really are Ocean view and do not require binoculars. They are new, modern in style, and the beds are great.

Room Tip: Ocean view, south side. Swim-up is nice but the view from the top is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poolchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Quality Department at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear guest, .

Let us express our most sincere gratitude for allowing us to know that the essential part of your Paradisus experience was the amazing service provided by our staff, highlighting Marisol, Zelem, Reyes, Cristina and Carlos, from the Sunset and The Market. All of them went beyond your service expectations and they will know about your recognition to their labor.

We will be pleased to host you again at Paradisus La Perla, in order to provide you the kind of service that you deserve.


Armando Mondragón
Quality Department
armando.mondragon@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Whilst on a recent 21 night multi-resort trip to Mexico we spent a day at Paradisus Playa del Carmen on 18th May visiting both La Perla and La Esmeralda

This was our 29th trip to the Caribbean and our 7th trip to Mexico having stayed previously at Occidental Grand Xcaret [Royal Club], El Dorado Royale Casitas, Excellence Riviera Cancun, Excellence Playa Mujeres, The Beloved Hotel, Zoetry Bonita, Secrets Silversands and Secrets Maroma Beach so we like to think that we have a fairly good well calibrated holiday measuring stick

In recent years we have rather fallen in love with the Excellence Group and have stayed at all their resorts on multiple occasions. We did feel however that we should start to experience some new resorts as well which is why we became interested in AMResorts, as we saw them as having the same high standards as Excellence Resorts and we have now stayed at several of their resorts.

When researching another trip to Punta Cana for later in the year we came across the Paradisus and noticed they had just open this new resort in Playa del Carmen and loved the look and feel of it on their website. Having stayed at other Sol Melia properties in the past we thought we would take the opportunity to check it out whilst we were in the area

I will be perfectly honest upfront as usual and say we did not purchase a day pass for our time at the resort – ahead of our trip the person who organises our travel put us in contact someone at the resort who organised the day trip for us. The purpose of the day out was twofold:

To see if we would like to stay at the Paradisus on future trips to Mexico

To increase my knowledge of the resorts in the area which will assist me in answering questions on TripAdvisor and Facebook and allow me to make comparisons with other similar resorts

Being given free access and the additional bonus of a courtesy room on the day in no way prejudices my opinions and as normal I remain unbiased in this mini review and all further writings about the property. Resorts are fully aware of this and respect me for being unbiased as they are fully aware that no resort is perfect or ideal for all guests

On arrival at the resort we were met by Ana their European Sales Manager who gave us a full tour of both La Perla and La Esmeralda before leaving us to have breakfast which was the normal mix of hot and cold food with some being cooked to order. For breakfast and other meals you have a mix of adult only restaurants and ones which allow children. After breakfast we went and checked in and found our room for the day which was a one bedroom swim up suite in the La Esmeralda section of the resort

The resort is basically two resorts in one – on one side you have La Perla which has 394 suites and is adult only and on the other side of a large communal/shared area [El Zocola] where the majority of the restaurants, bars and YHI Spa are you have La Esmeralda which has 512 suites and is a family resort. At La Perla you have the additional option of a Royal Service area which offers guest upgraded in room amenities/services as well as exclusive use of certain areas such as its own pool, swim up bar and open air restaurant – the Palapa Grill which is open for breakfast, lunch & dinner

La Perla opened in November 2011 and is a very modern resort. As with La Esmeralda it is very cutting edge with clean lines and a lot of attention has been spent on the finer details. It has a lot of funky features which appealed to us

We had a tour of one of a Royal Service Suite which as you will see from my photos is truly stunning. Just loved the modern clean cut feel to it and the clever use of sliding screens to divide of the bathroom area should you wish to do so. Loved the backlit headboard feature and all the other mood lighting – so romantic. For a full list of all the additional features available I suggest you check out their website as there are way too many to list in this review

The whole Royal Service area has a nice calm feel to it and feels a bit like a little oasis away from it all. For lunch we ate in the Palapa Grill which has a large water feature in the middle of it. Great lunchtime menu with some different options to the normal run of the mill AI Resort – great food with immaculate service

At La Perla as well as the pools to cater for the 60 Swim Up Suites you also have a large main pool area with the Sunset Grill which is a Snack Bar/Grill and bar

The resort sits back from the beach with a mangrove area between the beach and the resort. You access the beach by means of raised wooden walkways and personally I am glad they have left the mangroves intact as all too often resort owners destroy them with no thought for the environment

The beach with its soft sand is beautiful albeit a little bit narrow and is shared by the two resorts. On the day we were at the resort there was some weed washed ashore which they were busy cleaning up but it was a lot less than the weed we had experienced at Puerto Morelos

In total the two resorts combined have 14 restaurants offering a very wide range of cuisine from Latin fusion to contemporary Asian and elegant signature cuisine by 7 Star Michelin Chef Martin Berasategui for which a supplement of US$40pp applies in certain circumstances

Dining is a mixture of indoor with AC or outdoor on the various terraces in the tropical air. As mentioned previously some restaurants are for the exclusive use of some guests dependent on room category and/or some are adult only. We saw all the restaurants on our tour and again just loved the design of the them and the attention to detail

The two resorts combined have 8 bars so I am sure you will not have difficulty finding one to suit your mood or the occasion – again some are adult only

Towards the beachfront side in the shared area you have the GABI Club and Lounge which is the ultimate chill out zone. It has a chic elegant feel to it and is a unique harmony of bar, restaurant and manmade beach - check out my photos but be warned they do not really do justice to it and it must just be amazing at night

All in all we had a great day out and we sincerely thank Paradisus for their hospitality. Having spent some time at La Perla I can well understand why it is getting popular and why it gets so many favourable reviews - it is chic, ultra-modern and has so much to offer adults looking for something a little different. The Royal Service area in particular has a great upmarket feel to it and for those couples that like some additional pampering it is ideal

Before leaving the resort late afternoon we met up with Ana again and had a chat with Marco the Director of Sales and Mauricio the Resident Manager. As with all new resorts it will take time to build occupancy which I personally do not think will be too much of a problem as the two resorts combined have so much to offer and are ideal for weddings and/or family gatherings with the combination of Adult Only and Family accommodations

What may hold some people booking La Perla is the fact that not all the restaurant & bars are AO and also the fact that you will come across children in some parts of the common area – not something we would be bothered about but some people seem to never want to set eyes of a child when they are on holiday

The opportunity to upscale at both resorts with the Royal Service at La Perla and the Family Concierge at La Esmeralda will also be very attractive to those that wish the extra benefits that come with the upgraded package

Do I think this mini-review is an accurate reflection based on the fact that we were only at the resort for a short period of time??? Yes I do as many travel agents who visit resorts to see what they are like are there for far less time than we were. We were lucky enough to have spent nearly 8 hours at the resort, had two meals and were free to roam throughout all the resort. My review is factual and backed up with a comprehensive photograph album.

Reviews are but one person’s opinion of their trip and this is ours. Will it vary from other people’s experience – of course it will as we all have different expectations and holiday measuring sticks. Ours is fairly sophisticated as we are lucky enough to travel a lot and seems to match a lot of what other people who read TripAdvisor are looking for

Should you be interested in seeing some photos of our day out please click on the link below:

http://travel.webshots.com/album/582940612pMCePP

Best viewed in slideshow format

For photos and videos of other trips we have made feel free to check out

http://community.webshots.com/user/flipflop_man

Please note that any time you enter the happy world of flipflop_man’s magic moments and memories it is always wise to have a drink in hand as there are always a lot of them to see – we are very lucky people.

As always I am happy to answer any questions

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank flipflop_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Quality Department at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear guest,

We are surprised about your detailed review from both properties after spending just around 8 hours in total with us. We can see you paid attention to every single element from the resort and we appreciate you took the time to share your opinion about all we have to offer to our guests.

As you mentioned, all our guests are important for us, that is why we have different areas according their age, taste, likes or preferences. We care a lot about having kids’ activities and amenities created just for them; their smile is a reflection of joy that adults can hardly contradict.

We try to combine a sophisticated but fresh atmosphere with the natural and unique Caribbean breeze, shown in all our areas, including our magnificent protected mangrove area between the beach and the complex. Natural environment is vital for us and we appreciate you share this ideal with us.

We would be delighted if you decide to stay with us for your future vacations and spend at least 4 nights, being pampered and living our Pure Freedom philosophy.

Thank you again for your review and we will be waiting for your prompt return.


Armando Mondragón
Quality Department
armando.mondragon@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Paradisus Playa del Carmen, opened in November 2011 (very new) is a wonderful concept bringing two resorts together - Paradisus La Perla which is Adults Only (18 years and older) and La Esmeralda which is family friendly. The two resorts share the "zocalo" which is the common area or marketplace where you can find the stores and 14 different restaurants. Some restaurants are adult only such has the Japanese section of the Asian restaurant, Bana. There is a good size convention center which can be utilized by La Perla or La Esmeralda guests. Ideal set-up for families with (one being at least 18 years) which would allow a "kids room" to be booked at La Esmeralda, yet mom and dad could enjoy a vacation within a vacation at La Perla and still be in close proximity to their children.

La Perla, where I stayed, offers a "club" level room category called Royal Service. "Servicio Royal" offers guests their own check-in area and lounge where drinks and daily snacks are served. Beautiful library with books galore - art, history, coffee table picture books, etc., etc. La Esmeralda has a similar set-up. BTW - a golf cart will take you between the Servicio Royal lobby and you room to the main lobby if you so desire. Servicio Royal also has it's own private pool area as well as La Palapa which serves lunch and dinner to Royal Service guests only.

The pools are beautiful and well kept. Pool side service was GREAT and my server Alberto was fantastic. Unfortunately I cannot say the same about the entire staff. Many seemed young and inexperienced in the hospitality industry. Lacking in the ability to smile and they did not seem like they were enjoying their job. A few of the front desk managers seemed pleasant, but most were lacking in the hospitality realm.

The hotel also offers swim up rooms which means first floor accommodations. It's a great option for that "something extra special" Your private pool area is not accessible by the guests in general, however, you can swim by the rooms of the other swim up guest rooms. Gives you a great option if you like to lap swim.

Only other drawback was the "compound / prison" complex feeling upon arrival. Being set amidst a local neighborhood the properties are separated by a retaining wall and entering into the hotel grounds, if you are staying at La Perla, means passing by a very industrial looking wall to the main hotel building and then the retaining wall to your other side. This can be easily overlooked as once inside your lobby, the hotel is beautiful.

FYI - I am a meeting/event planner with 20 years of experience conducting site inspections and hotel visits. I am VERY particular and have certain expectations thus the few areas where the hotel needs improvement is what gave it 4 out of 5. With a little more experience under their belts this will be a fabulous option for adults and families.








The rooms are beautifully appointed and at a minimum a junior suite with a large master bathroom, dual vanities, including glass shower and separate soaking tub for two. The tub has sliding doors that open up to the sleeping area and my room had a view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flygirl926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Quality Department at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write an extensive and objective review from your stay at Paradisus La Perla. As we can see, you are very professional in your job by analyzing every part of the resort to provide accurate information to your clients willing to have an amazing meeting or event.

As an expert in your field, we appreciate a lot your comments about the little cons you detected and we will work on them. As you experienced, we have the facilities, restaurants, beach and service necessary to be in the top 10 of the resorts in Riviera Maya.

We will be waiting for your return and we are confident we will provide memorable experiences to your clients, our future guests in the Mexican Caribbean.


Armando Mondragón
Quality Department
armando.mondragon@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This resort has two sections, La Perla for adults only and Esmerelda for families. There are at least 8 separate dining facilities with both buffet and a la carte restaurants. Reservations at the restaurants were really not required. Food quality was outstanding and plentiful, with multiple types of restaurants, gourmet, sushi, italian, traditional mexican.
The resort is new, clean, well managed and beautifully done. The service is out of this world: welcoming, knowledgeable, eager to help you. Pools are great, particularly the children's pool that has a giant pirate ship in the middle of it. If you can get a swim out room, I strongly suggest it. Lots of beds surround each pool, never a wait at the bar. The beach is a bit more narrow than other resorts, but you can swim in the water here and the sand is like powder.
This resort is great for a couple's getaway, and its sister resort Esmerelda is nothing short of spectacular for kids, from the fantasy pool, to cotton candy machines, game rooms, on site babysitting and walkie talkie's for mom and dad to stay in touch. (better than disney).

Room Tip: Swim out room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Quality Department at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe our two concepts at Paradisus: La Perla, adults exclusive, and La Esmeralda where everyone are welcome.

You mentioned aspects that are very important for most of the tourists when deciding to stay in a hotel: food quality and variety, outstanding service, family areas where adults, teen and kids have a lot of fun; confortable and paradisiac beach area. We are sure your opinion will help some visitors to decide to stay with us.

We hope you will come back to Paradisus and enjoy again everything we offer to our guests.


Armando Mondragón
Quality Department
armando.mondragon@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I just got back from our honeymoon which included 4 nights at the La Perla resort in Playa del Carmen.

Room:
We stayed in a swim-up Junior Suite in the Royal Service area, and could not have asked for a more perfect experience. The room is gorgeous and spacious with a cute design aesthetic, although I could have done without the lighted mural over the bed. The tub is big enough for two, and the dual rain-sensation shower is a real treat.
The jacuzzi on the deck along with the swim up pool meant you could pretty much keep to yourself if you wanted to, without sacrificing anything.
The king size bed is soft and pillow-y, which I normally don't like but it seemed to add to the opulent feel of the accommodations. The mini bar included a new bottle of premium liquor every day, but we did not receive multiple bottles as we have seen in other reviews. The Royal Service lounge is just down the and had a fully stocked mini bar and wine cabinet with a great assortment.
One downside we experienced was the noise level in our room. There was a lot of noise coming from the hallway and pool bar, but they were kind enough to move us down the hall to a remove more removed from the pool entrance. Once in our new room we had no issues.

Dining:
This was our first all inclusive vacation, so the food was a great surprise for us. As Bay Area residents we are privy to some pretty amazing restaurants at home, but the food here did not seem in any way sub-par. We dined at La Palapa, the Royal Service exclusive restaurant, several times for breakfast and lunch and were not disappointed with any of the dishes we tried.
For dinners we tried Bana (Japanese), Vento (Mediterranean), Mole (Mexican) and tried the tasting menu at Passion. Each meal was impeccable and delicious.
We had the breakfast buffet twice, it was not as nice as the a la carte restaurants, but was superior to other buffet meals we have had.

Bars:
This is where Paradisus really shines, the liquor assortment is truly high end. All of the bars have their own vibe and specialty. The bartenders are all friendly and helpful, and can teach you a lot about the different types of spirits they have to offer.
As a craft beer fan I was worried that there would be nothing even close to bearable, but they do serve Bohemia Obscura, which was nice.

Amenities/Grounds:
My wife had a manicure/pedicure at YHI Spa and was quite pleased.
We stayed mainly at the Royal Service pool and the smaller pool shared by the swim-up suites. This was a much mellower vibe than the main pools with a bunch of beds and palapas for lounging and its own swim up bar.
I felt that the beach was great, although we did not hang out there too much. It was cute and narrow, but they kept it clean and we did not see a lot of rocks or debris as other reviews have mentioned. We had spent a week in Tulum prior to our arrival and I would say that the private beach at Paradisus is on par with what you experience there.
The entire resort is elevated one story, so when you are walking the grounds you are up in the canopy of the Mangrove trees, which adds a subtle but magical atmosphere to the common areas.

In short, this is a dream destination that I would urge anyone to experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua-Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Quality Department at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for your confidence in reserving your stay to celebrate a special occasion, just like your honeymoon. We are pleased to know you trusted us and at the end you had a marvelous time at Paradisus La Perla.

The “pure freedom” atmosphere you noticed around the resort is reflected in your comments. At Paradisus we want to let know all our guests they deserve to feel pampered while they enjoy every area from the resort, even just walking around, getting a tan by the pool, having a complete “a la carte” dinner at any of our specialty restaurants or as you mentioned having a refreshing drink at any of our bars.

We appreciate you remarked the beach good conditions because there are some tourists worried about it and it is important for us to let them know we have a program to keep the beach area free of rocks and seaweed that the ocean brings along with it naturally.

Thank you for your valuable review, and remember we will be pleased if you honor us again with your presence at Paradisus La Perla.


Armando Mondragón
Quality Department
armando.mondragon@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The palce was just wonderful, royal service way to go. Royal service pool bartenders you guys are great. Butlers Fernando and Sharon excellent job. The spa sweet. Dont' think about it just book it and you will enjoy.
Will be back soon

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Quality Department at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your short and consistent review from your stay at Paradisus La Perla – Royal Service.

We will transfer your recognition to your butlers’ job, Fernado and Sharon. And thank you for recommending and remarking the relaxing Yhi Spa, where our guests enjoy a variety of treatments surrounded by a calm and delighted atmosphere.

We will be waiting for your return to Paradisus, your home away from home.


Armando Mondragón
Quality Department
armando.mondragon@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
7,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,059 reviews
10.9 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,530 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $340 - $999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing