We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply THE best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #22 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply THE best!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I have been working in the hotel and hospitality business for the last 20 years, I have travelled extensively and I am VERY critical. We booked this resort simply by consulting pictures and a few reviews. I was expecting a nice looking property with the usual average food you find in resorts.

let me tell you they have blowned our minds out! The level of service from check-in to beach, pool, room food and beverage outlets is simply incredible! I am a foodie and again they have impressed me all along! We leave in Quebec city renonwned for its restaurant quality and Paradisus Playa Del Carmen has raised the bar! Congrats to Executive Chef Laurent Brouard, Thomas his Exec. Sous-Chef, particularly Chef Juio at Palapas who has won awards for his talent, he delivered each and every time above and beyond!

So if you are looking for a relaxing coupe retreat, the Perla side is for you, if you have kids and want them to be amazed, bring them to the Esmeralda side, kids entertainement at its best!

Thank you Paradisus team!

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for the view, get Royal service with your own butler or a swim in/out room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guymichaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,616
    1,401
    419
    153
    116
See reviews for
1,009
5,618
101
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,968)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent 4 nights and 5 days at the Paradisus La Perla (Royal Service) in late February 2012. Let’s get the 2 drawbacks out of the way. Yes, as others have noted, the streets you pass through to get to Paradisus resemble a bombed village. But once inside the walled resort, you are completely safe. In my experience, all-inclusive resorts are typically an oasis in the midst of dire poverty. And yes, the beach is off-putting with all the rocks. Yet work is underway to improve the beach. Nevertheless, plenty of people seemed to be enjoying the beach, the lounge chairs, towel service, and the same drink service that those of us at the pool enjoyed.

ROOM: Room 1398 in Royal Service had an amazing view of the ocean. For us, being higher up was a better deal than the swim-up rooms which offered only a view of the mangroves. Everything about the room spelled luxury: comfortable bed and pillows, luxurious linens, thick towels, beautiful tile, well-stocked bar complete with snacks as well as a variety of liquor, espresso machine, large shower with both hand-held controls and rain shower head. The safe was easy to use. You create your own code and can change it as often as you like.

SERVICE: We were very pleased with the service overall. Elinit was a delightful and helpful butler. On the day of departure, she printed our boarding passes, which turned out to be a wonderful time-saver at the airport. Valet service at the pool was amazing. The waiters seemed to remember everyone’s drink of choice. We had turn-down service only twice, but that’s probably because we’re such party-poopers that we turned in before they could turn-down! We don’t care about pampering that much anyway, but it is an expected part of the resort experience, and the Paradisus folks do it well if you don’t get in their way. Waiters at the restaurants were attentive without hovering. Water and coffee were refilled frequently. Overall, we found all employees to be cheerful, friendly, warm, and eager to please.

FOOD: Several of our friends thought the food was “just ok.” But recognizing that resorts have to appeal to the tastes of a wide variety of people from all parts of the world, we thought the food was good. Breakfast each morning was at Hadar. The buffet was huge offering all kinds of cereal, eggs, meats, fruits, yogurts, juices, pastries and breads. There was a station for made-to-order omelets and one for Smoothies. You could even make a Bloody Mary or Mimosa. We had delicious chicken and steaks at both The Market and The Grill. Probably our favorite meal was the Japanese hibachi dinner at Bana. It was a different kind of social evening as we were grouped with a couple from Oregon and a couple from Argentina which made it all the more fun. The food was excellent including spring rolls, sushi, fried rice, grilled vegetables, chicken, steak, and HUGE shrimp. As Rachel Ray would say, YUMM-O! But if you’re looking for authentic Mexican, you have to go off-site.

POOL: The towel game was alive and well at the pool in Royal Service, but there was plenty of room and we never had trouble finding a lounge chair. However, we managed to snag a cabana only once. The best part of the pool –aside from the swim-up bar—was the built-in pool lounge chairs. They offer a wonderful way to catch the rays and stay cool at the same time.

GROUNDS: The place is just beautiful. The décor is modern but not cold or sterile. Common areas, walk ways, lobbies, bars, restaurants – everything was interesting to look at, whether it was seating, lighting, or artwork. The strange metal sculptures (which look like huge whisks) are gorgeous with special lighting at night. Plants are young, but soon the place will be lush with blooms. I like that many of the flowering plants are purple, which goes along with the purple pool towels.

Yeah, I’d say we had a wonderful time at Paradisus La Perla.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendymath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers ny
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This resort from the outside was not very impressive after driving close to an hour to arrive....but once you entered through the doors...it was as if you were in another world! Absolutely serene! Rooms are fabulously luxurious!!!! The pool huts/beds were glorious although quite hard to obtain since people wake up early and put their things on them in order to reserve for the day. My husband and I were there celebrating our birthdays and we are definitely beach people so we stayed on the beach most of the day and our server, Javier was fantastic!!!! always anticipating our needs and extremely fast server!!! We went to the pool huts in the late afternoon and we easily found ourselves drifting into a sleep with the hypnotic music playing! The restaurants are all great with excellent service, although, even though the resort was far from full in March, the waiters and waitresses seem to get overwhelmed easily....I guess this will improve as time goes on since resort is relatively new. The ambiance at La Perla is so sexy and romantic! We definitely were relaxed by the end of our stay and plan to do this again in the near future!!

Room Tip: Choose the swim up rooms...pool level....they are awesome for those who like to go for a night time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We had a wonderful week at a first-class hotel. Without exception, the staff were friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. The property was beautifully kept. The restaurants, even the buffet, were excellent and the Palapa as good as any New York 5 star. The room was very clean, and serviced promptly daily. We appreciated the efforts made to clear the seaweed off the beach - not an easy task. We enjoyed the evening entertainment and the post-show music and dancing. We are looking forward to returning same time next year and will highly recommend this resort to our friends - Jim & Eadaoin

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAVALLETTE, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

After looking at some of the poor reviews I guess the resort needed a few months to get it together. The staff is super friendly and offer great service. We stayed in the Royal Service and highly recommend. The bars are great especially Mbar and South ave. Entertainment is about music, not typical resort talent shows. The menus don't change but there are many dinning options. Great dinning for those more adventurous. No quesadillas at MOLE. The beach did suffer from storms but the pools make up for it. Plenty of seating at the beach and the pool. Awesome vacation can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: South facing ocean view offer afternoon sun on the balcony, a great way to relax before dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IM_LOVIN_LIFE_ABROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We have been to other Paradisus resorts and were interested to try this one at our travel agents suggestion. We have traveled in Mexico several times and were eager to check out this new adult only hotel, rest, have some peace and quiet, relax, enjoy delicious meals and soak up the sun.

We had pre arranged airport transportation, waited a long time for our shared van and then had a trip of over an hour to the resort. Stopped at 2 other resorts on the way dropping other passengers off, then it became clear that our driver did not know where the resort was. Stopped at one wrong resort, then drove around for another half hour while he got directions on his cell phone.

We checked in and went to our "Oceanview" room. We could only see the ocean if hanging over the rail of the balcony; what we actually could see was an undeveloped lot with a fence around it. That was disappointing, but we were ok until looking closer and realized that there were fingerprints on the glass enclosure around the tub, around the sink area and dirt on the floors. We asked to be moved, and Filipe, who was very apologetic, took us to a similar room. Again, we were not happy with the view, but we were shocked that once again, the carpet was dirty,and there was a smudge of unidentifiable brown stuff on the bathroom floor. We were taken to a third room, where thankfully it was clean and actually had a lovely pool and ocean view.

We were too late to make a reservation for dinner, but walked into a restaurant and had a lovely meal.

The resort is beautiful. Rooms are comfortable and modern, very pretty, has all the amenities you could ever want. Eric, our concierge, was very helpful.

Next morning we settled in one of the fabulous covered Bali beds by the pool and were were happy until the pool activities began. We found the music and noise accompanying the pool activities to be very loud and it intruded on our ability to relax and enjoy the poolside.

There was no where quiet to go, we asked about paying extra to go to Royal Service which has a quiet pool area, but it was fully booked by a private group. Once the Pool Party began, we had to leave, it was just not how we relax! We went to our room, but with a poolside view, we could not shut the noise out.

It seemed that most of the couples were enjoying the party and having a good time. The pool bar was doing brisk business and there seemed to be a lot of shot drinking contests.....we realized this was just not the place for us. This "Adults Only" is for young adults who want to party!

We left that evening and were very happy for the rest of our vacation in a much more sedate resort!

Room Tip: High floor on pool side for nice view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is an incredible resort - it's hard to imagine that there's nicer resorts out there. The finishes in the common areas, restaurants, outdoor spaces and rooms are incredible. The food was great most of the time and good sometimes. I would recommend Bani, Fuego and the less known Tapas at the Gabi Bar. The breakfasts were amazing and there was lots of good food in the buffets. We had zero issues with children on the Adults side despite some of the reviews that had me concerned. The pool area was incredible and the cabanas were the best! The service around the pool was great and the servers were very personal and helpful.

The beach is only alright and isn't that popular. They were pulling rocks out of the water when we were there so it should be getting better. There was definitely an issue with plant debris washing up on shore and on one day the beach was covered. The water was pretty rough but still warm and enjoyable. If you're a beach person it's not awful and I think you could spend a day there because there are lots of chaises and there is a choice of drinks down near the entrance to the beach that has cans of beverages including beer.

There are only a few things I didn't like. Number one were the hostesses at every restaurant. They are very unwelcoming and they will honestly say that they are booked when you can see the restaurant is only about 25% full. We never saw a restaurant more than half full during the entire trip (except for breakfast but no reservations required). The restaurant reservation/hostess issue is a VERY strange one and was common to everyone that I spoke with. None of us could figure out why they were tight about this when they were nowhere near capacity. Entertainment and activities are nearly non-existent, but we were going for a relaxed romantic getaway so I didn't care. The fire show was pretty awesome and that was only thing worth watching (and the only crowd we saw all week).

One note to La Perla, the food at the Sunset Grill is not good at all - it's actually pretty bad. Since that's what services people poolside and most people are poolside, better food would be appreciated. The alcohol was excellent, though - keep that coming.

Some of the reviews that I read before going to the place were silly. There was no issue with kids on the adult side. If you feel the need to wear to cargo shorts and sandals to dinner at a beautiful restaurant in a 5 star Adults only resort - then maybe stick to the buffets (clown). When I go into the ocean, I generally float and swim and am not going for a walk - so the swimming shoes are not necessary - its mostly a sandy bottom save for a 1 foot stretch at the shoreline. Walking along the beach is great - very beautiful and you can clearly see Cozumel. Yes, the area around the resort is confusing for drivers and there are Mexicans living there. It's not the slums, there are no gangs - they are Mexicans and you are not at Newport Beach.

In sum, I cannot imagine a nicer resort. They absolutely have some work ahead with staff and figuring out the restaurants, but everyone working there was very nice and generally helpful. I liked the staff a lot and found them very genuine.

I will guarantee that our vacation this year will be about $800 to $1000 less than the same vacation next year at La Perla. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguilino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
664 reviews
2.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,422 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,208 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing