We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fine dining in PDC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Maya Mexican Cuisine - CLOSED

Luna Maya Mexican Cuisine
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The flavors of the past brought into a contemporary delight. Our Chef Raul Pineda conveys the escence of the mexican cuisine, embracing techniques and ingredients resulting in dishes that will create new traditions. An elegant venue will welcome you with Mexican elements. Luna Maya is located in one of the best areas in Playa de Carmen just few blocks from the famous Shangri-la beach.
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining in PDC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The two of us took away trip from Tulum to Playa del Carmen. After looking up some places for good Mexican cuisine, we came across reviews for Luna Maya. Having had upscale Mexican food before (El Tabano in Tulum and Topolobampo in Chicago), we were interested in what Luna Maya had to offer. The food here was fantastic. We were seated in the outdoor balcony which was nice on a cool evening. The bread basket and amuse bouche we were given were great. We wanted the torta ahogada as an appetizer, but unfortunately they did not have this that night for some reason so our waiter recommended the chimichangas (also with pork), and this ended up being delicious. Very flavorful, and the sauce it came with was great. I ordered the smoked chili crusted tuna served medium rare. This was a large portion. The tuna was perfectly cooked and had just the right amount of spice for me. He had the duck with mole sauce. The duck could have been less cooked but it was still good, and the mole was delicious.

Since the bar above had just opened, they offered us a free drink up there after dinner which was a nice touch. Unfortunately, we couldn't stay longer than 1 drink since we had to catch our bus back to Tulum.

Luna Maya is not a cheap meal (though still cheaper than what it would be in the states), but it was definitely worth it for fine dining while on vacation. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank itztrish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    36
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was surprised to get such amazing cuisine in a fairly small town. Everything here was great the bread and butter, drinks, dinner, dessert and service. What we ate: Cochinitas, lobster pozole, flan de cocoa, margarita and mojito. The place is located on the second floor above Baremar and can be a little difficult to find. Take the elevator in the courtyard up to the second floor. The restaurant is beautiful inside as well as the outdoor seating. Try all of the breads they serve(banana, multigrain, sesame, and a dark one I can't remember). The Mojito was my favorite of the drinks. Our waiter was awesome and we even got to thank the chef! The prices were higher for Mexico but this food would be triple the price in the U.S. (between $15-$25 for an entree).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missag1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went there for the second time tonight. We were there last a year ago. They were ready for us at the time of the reservation. Excellent service, food and presentation. Appetizers and entrees were all delicious. Our server Baldimore could not have been better, attentive but not too much so, offering advice when and if asked. The hostess, there only 2 weeks, was also wonderful. They also gave us complimentary drinks at their new and beautiful open air lounge on the 3rd floor of the building. It had excellent service also and was beautiful. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and lounge to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank immerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Romantic atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Restaurant was surprisingly empty when we arrived. We wentnip the lift on to the roof terrace which was were the dinner is served, although there are snack menus available at street level. We both had the beef molita soup as starters on the waiter's recommendation which was excellent. Wife had the tikin-xic for main, which was also excellent whereas I had the salmon risotto which was good but not particularly unique hence the very good overall. Service was attentive. My beer glass was chilled, for example. Service charge was included but was in Spanish 'servicio preferido' I think. I confirmed with waiter that that was what it meant so no need to add a tip. Expensive for Playa but overall very good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Mexican Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been to Luna Maya a few times, and its always a place we take our friends to when they visit us here in PDC. Overall, we always enjoy the various dishes, and we've tried most of them on the menu.
Our only problem this vacation is there is something going on with their wine selection. They are not replacing their stock as they sell it, and it leaves one with few to no options. They waiter explained that the owner was changing something, whether it was vendors or what, but this still does not help you when it comes to ordering wine with your meal. However, I asked the waiter about bringing your own, and he said it was allowed, with only a 5 peso corkage fee. So I would still suggest you go here, but you might want to bring your own wine

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Maya Mexican Cuisine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing