We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but very unflexible”
Review of Jungle Smoothie Cafe - CLOSED

Jungle Smoothie Cafe
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Healthy, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Jungle Smoothie Cafe, is an original and fun nutritional cafe that specializes in fruit smoothies. It is designed for those who follow a modern, practical and healthy lifestyle.Our delicious smoothies and other light meals such as bagels, wraps, salads and pretzels are made so you can begin your day with energy, for before or after the gym, for lunch and dinner, and even to kill your cravings, guilt free!We're open Mon-Sun 9am-10pm. We're located in the best area of la 5ta Avenida. We have a terrace with great view, AC, music videos, free WiFi, great service, indoor and outdoor seating, and much more!
Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good, but very unflexible”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Loved the smoothies, but when I asked to sub one of the ingredients (strawberries for raspberries) I was given a flat out no.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mexicangreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junglesmoothie, Owner at Jungle Smoothie Cafe, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear customer, we really apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in your last visit to our restaurant!

We normally are very flexible with our customers in terms of them changing the original recipes of our smoothies, although we kindly alert them that in rare occasions doing so could affect the taste or the consistency of our smoothies. In your specific situation, our staff should have let you you know in the kindest and most professional manner that our raspberries come in the form of juice and our strawberries in the form of fruit, so by substituting one for another, the consistency would have been affected. If the cashier or the waiter gave you a straight no for an answer without giving you an explanation or an alternative, that is totally unacceptable and we really ask for your forgiveness! We would be definitely putting more attention in those details that are very serious to us because other than preventing you from a negative experience, it turned out to be a negative experience itself!

Please come back soon. We will be giving our staff a better training!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
2 reviews
“Amazing food, smoothies & atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

What a refreshing getaway from the hot and busy shops of 5th ave! An absolutely beautifully designed cafe, the cleanest place we've been to on 5th ave and we've been coming for years. Every detail imaginable thought of, this place has everything you need. From their delicious berry smoothies to their extreme smoothies (offering a touch of alcohol) to the 'anytime of the day' bagel sandwiches to their 'why didn't I think of that' wraps, their slogan couldn't be more spot on: nutritiously delicious. No feeling tired and weighted down by other foods offered around,we were completely energized and ready to enjoy our vacation guilt free with full bellies! We haven't stopped talking about how good this place is and have gone at least once a day our entire trip, never disappointed always more impressed. I'm so sad to go back home, nothing compares! Please, if you are in the area make a stop in, sit on the balcony and enjoy a Tequirindo smoothie and Chicken Peach wrap, you'll forever be glad that you did!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shannagins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent wraps and smoothies on 5th Ave”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great find for excellent smoothies and tasty wraps in a beautiful setting with a balcony overlooking 5th Ave.. We were getting a bit tired after a week of tacos and tortas so we tried Jungle Smoothies out. It was a refreshing change. The chicken wraps were really tasty with fresh ingredients, the only place we got fresh crispy lettuce on this trip! There were a lot of choices for smoothies and you could even get alcohol added. Absolutely delicious! We were all stuffed and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlayaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a cool place”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

if you walk to fast you will miss it. look up for a blue painted wall, 3/4 along 5th
great latte smoothie, went there with a mexican friend had a wrap and fresh orange.
staff very friendly,no pressure to leave when finished.
clean,good price and we will go back when next in playa.
paul and sue

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul-rea4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best healthy food in playa”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I was walking in the 5th avenue looking for something to eat that woldn't be to heavy nor fattening, and one guy invited us to come in to the jungle, I asked what kind of food did they have? so he told me the specialty was the smoothies and that they also had bagels, wraps and salads, so I thought that was the best option for us.

When we went in I was really impressed by the decoration and the atmospher. We ordered a bagel and a wrap, and one banana-rana and one purple turtle smoothies, the names are great, rigth? Wow, the smoothies were the best smothies I've ever tried, and the food was delicious, the goat cheese used in the wrap was what I liked the most.

In conclusion, if you are in Playa del Carmen and you're looking for healty food, but without compromising on flavor, this is the place to go... you'll be surprised!!!!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank verrinchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Smoothie Cafe also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing