We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“youthful service for youthful customers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I traveled to the Rivera Maya the last weekend before Semana Santa vacations were over. This was the second hostel I had stayed in since I got there and in all my travel experience. Although I have not much to compare it to, I will still share my humble observations. Hostel 3B is conveniently located at a walking distance from downtown, Quinta Avenida, ADO station, ferry, and most importantly to the beach. I chose the cheapest option, the RED-ROOM, which was the largest all-female dormitory. I stayed for a period of two nights in single-lower bump bed near the window. The bed were I stayed was clean and spacious. Shower space was good; you just have to bring your own shampoo and soap. Given there were several women sharing a room, the bathroom floor was always wet, so bring sandals with you. The room can get a bit stuffy and there is plenty of noise both from above and from the Quinta Avenida, so if you are looking for quietness at night, you should stay closer to downtown than to the beach. I did hear, however, that around 2 AM there is no more noise from upstairs. Upstairs, you will find a little lounge, with a bar, a mini pool, a DJ, and a very bohemian vive to the place regarding seating space. Among their team members, this hostel counts with a good cook, who does the breakfast in the morning (not included with the room) and a decent sushi plate at night. Their breakfast options reflects the same items as a continental breakfast would and there is a lot of freedom in the sense that you choose what you want and how much you will pay ($10 pesos per item). If you are someone who looks for a rather big and substantial breakfast, it would probably not be the best option to eat at the hostel. But, if you are someone who eats very small portions (i.e. small stomach), then it will be perfect for you. Their food presentation is great and you have access to a little kitchen and options from a little bending machine just before going up the stairs. They have a great seating space near the entrance where you can charge your electronics. I do have to admit that their plugs were not all working, the best one was the one closest to the entrance. I did noticed that they have LOTS of board games in this same seating space that you could probably borrow and get to meet other new people. They had games for all tastes, and they were kind enough to lend me one of their computers to quickly email my family that I had arrived safely to my destination. Also, they count with free-wifi. One of the best things that I can say about the service from Hostel 3B is that the manager/owner and his team are all young people. It is definitely a place that attracts young travelers and that is run by young travelers themselves. That means that they know one's needs from their own experience travelling across the world and staying at other hostels. The manager was interested enough to ask for feedback about their services. This talks very highly of them because it means that they are interested in always improving and providing the best service to their customers. In conclusion, whatever you option was of your stay at this hostel, and whatever your history of staying a hotels, don’t be afraid BUT don’t be rude to share whatever feedback you have from your stay with them.

Room Tip: Hostel 3B offers a variety of options for your stay. I was in the all-female dormitory and it satisf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 565 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the 'semi private room' which is a little area in one of the big dorms sectioned off with 3 walls and a curtain. The beds were fine but we would've like the curtain to stop flying around everytime the fan was on as anyone was able to look into our room and it wasnt enjoyable. The airconditioner was broken at the time and made the most unbearable loud noise at night which made it impossible to sleep. The upstairs bar area is fun and have good music playing. overall an average place to stay close to the beach but you could probably find somewhere more mid town for a bit better value

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iliaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvan3b, Director General at Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear guests,

I'm sorry your stay at our hostel wasn't what you expected. Sorry about the Ac, sometimes equipment breaks down but im sure next day we worked on it and fixed it. Anyways if you ever give us another chance try our private rooms, i think they would be better suited for your needs. Best of luck and future travels, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Less than a 5 min walk to the main public beach with tons of stuff going on all the time, very clean secure rooms, great fun people that will become instant friends if you are open to having new friends. Only thing I would change is maybe a box of backing soda and an air freshener in bathroom as the plumbing in most of Mexico isn't the world's greatest and with 8 girls in my room and the humidity the bathroom tend to a get a little ripe, but that'snot somthing hostel 3b can help too much. Drinks at the bar on the roof are hostel prices, I stuck to my margaritas for 35 pesos.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlb41482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks in total coming in and out of playa from up and down the coast, Great english speaking staff willing to help out with any queries, rooms were cleaned daily with nice big beds and lights next to them and i even grabbed a double bed for a few nights :-) ! Clean and modern bathrooms was a nice treat after travelling a while. My favourite part of the hostel was up on the roof where they had a new bar and rooftop pool and lots of lounges to chill out on, night life was also good having a few events on different nights, ill definitely be back! hopefully for BPM Thanks guys and girls who made my time there amazing yeeeew

Room Tip: I preferred the 6 or 8 bed room on the corner with two lots of windows on two walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I first went there to jump on the wifi for an emergency and was overwhelmed with the hospitality and amenities of this great hostel by the beach. From the roof top pool bar to the tables on the first floor this place is top notch with a top notch staff to match. I would recommend this place to everyone. One block from the beach

Room Tip: call a head
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was my first experience of a hostel! It's clean, modern and has great spaces to hang out. It's 2 minutes from the beach, and the bus station and has a great bar on the roof . There's something on every night, BBQs, pool parties and dj's! All the staff are super friendly and make you feel right at home! Met some great people here and would go back if I returned to Playa! Greetings to Ivan and the crew hope to see all of you as soon as possible

Mario

Room Tip: On the Top of the Hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This was my first experience of a hostel having stayed in hotels on most trips away! I was pleasantly surprised by 3b! It's clean, modern and has great spaces to hang out. It's 2 minutes from the beach, and the ADO bus station and has a great bar on the roof that is open from Wed to Sun! There's something on every night, BBQs, pool parties and ace dj's! All the staff are super friendly and make you feel right at home! Met some great people here and would go back if I returned to Playa!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#30 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yak
The Yak
#7 of 245 in Playa del Carmen
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#8 of 245 in Playa del Carmen
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#12 of 245 in Playa del Carmen
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
#18 of 245 in Playa del Carmen
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#9 of 245 in Playa del Carmen
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap

Address: Av. 10 Esquina Con Calle 1sur, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $16 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and innovative hostel meant to gather all world party travelers. It is located in Playa del Carmen, one block from the beach. With 24-hour reception, private rooms and shared rooms with individual lockers. All rooms feature Ac. We also have Wifi in the common area and the rooftop bar. Stay with us ALL INCLUSIVE! Breakfast, dinner, 5 hours of open bar and your bed. $ 550Mx Hostel 3B has a kitchen with all utensils, microwave and a TV room with sofas, board games and cards. Breakfast is served from 08:00 to 11:00. The SOS lounge is located on the rooftop and has an outdoor pool, lounge area,Live DJs, Xbox One, beer pong, bbq and sushi nights. The hostel is half a block from the fifth Avenue, the main thoroughfare of shops and nightlife in Playa del Carmen. Don't forget is only 40 minutes drive from Cancun airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing