We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel - but lacks atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hostel - but lacks atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here for seven nights in total during our travels around Mexico. It was undoubtedly one of the cleanest and nicest hostels we've ever stayed in, with comfy beds and hotel style bathrooms. The lockers are massive (big enough for large backpacks) and each bed has a fan and bed light which is a nice touch. Most of the staff (with the exception of the lady who works nights, it wouldn't hurt her to smile sometimes) are incredibly friendly and helpful and advised us a lot on local attractions etc. The kitchen is also fantastic - marble surfaces and everything very clean.
However, we did have a few problems that got on our nerves - no hot water in the shower, one day there was no water at all, they have air con in the rooms but it is turned on very low so its not that useful, the downstairs lobby area is very stuffy and no air con, and the TV room was useless as the tv was out of action the entire time we were there. And even though there is no bar in the hotel, you are still not allowed to bring drinks in, so you are forced to go out every night to expensive bars and restaurants just to get a few beers. This also meant that this hostel lacks the usual friendly hostel atmosphere and its much harder to get to know other people unless they are actually in your dorm.

Like I said, overall I was very impressed with this hostel, but there are a number of minor issues that need sorting out before I would think about staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xbackpackerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    99
    37
    11
    17
See reviews for
3
39
192
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

True to its name, Hostel 3B (Bueno=good, Bonito=beautiful, Barato=cheap) is located just two and half blocks from the beach and the inter-city bus station (company ADO). Very well maintained, the place is very clean and has fans and air-conditionning in the summer. We really appreciated that there is a kitchen that everyone can use, equipped with a common fridge, stove, pots and pans, plates and cutlery. They offer a breakfast for a couple of dollars in the morning. Another great thing is the free Wi-fi. Every bed has its own locker (2 lockers per double bed) where one can store one's valuables. There is someone at the reception 24h/7 (they speak both Spanish and English) and the staff is generally very nice and helpful. During our 14 day stay, the hostel organized two trips to fun locations near Playa to do snorkeling. They didn't charge any fees (everyone had to just cover their public transportation and entrance to the snorkeling site). We met a lot of cool people there and will definitely stay at Hostel 3B if we ever come back to Playa.

Room Tip: We reserved a month ahead by email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna7357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Too bad this hostel was established in a building not ment to be used as a hostel... There is absolutely NO air circulation in the hostel - there is no cross-breeze in the hostel and the building holds heat like an oven. You can sometimes catch a wiff of unpleasant and moldyness even though the hostel is new (the building is not.) We asked about turning the air conditioner on at night because it was unbelievably uncomfortable, but the control was 'lost' and we had to do without. The open window didn't let any heat out, and the room we slept in was between 85*-90*... it was cooler outside! Maybe they have found the control for the air con - you better ask if it is working in your room before you pay!

The hostel is clean and the beds are very comfortable, but my bad stay put me off. They have huge lockers in the rooms that can hold your extra large suitcase, and it is a block from the bus station and two blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katiebuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon, portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Hostel 3B is brand new!
I stayed there for a week and it was great.
Very well located, close to the beach and restaurants.
The staff is helpful and will try to accomodate you or give you tips.
Great value, will definitely stay there again, if I ever go back to Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Contact them directly via email
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmcs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

I was in Playa for 5 days, and decide to stay in Hostel 3B. Honesty I never been in a hostel like this before. This was the best experience ever. The place is super clean and fancy, it's realy gose well with the CHIC & CEAP. The rooms looks fantastic and elegant, and the beds were very comfortable. This hostel has a good location - close to 5 th avenue, close to the beach and the Ferry doc, shopping center, ceap meals ... etc. The staff were ver helpfull and friendly. Thank you Fer ........ and thanks all of you.
Best wishess

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank popovdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yak
The Yak
#5 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap

Property: Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Address: Av. 10 Esquina Con Calle 1sur, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and innovative hostel meant to gather all world party travelers. It is located in Playa del Carmen, one block from the beach. With 24-hour reception, private rooms and shared rooms with individual lockers. All rooms feature Ac. We also have Wifi in the common area and the rooftop bar. Stay with us ALL INCLUSIVE! Breakfast, dinner, 5 hours of open bar and your bed. $ 550Mx Hostel 3B has a kitchen with all utensils, microwave and a TV room with sofas, board games and cards. Breakfast is served from 08:00 to 11:00. The SOS lounge is located on the rooftop and has an outdoor pool, lounge area,Live DJs, Xbox One, beer pong, bbq and sushi nights. The hostel is half a block from the fifth Avenue, the main thoroughfare of shops and nightlife in Playa del Carmen. Don't forget is only 40 minutes drive from Cancun airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing