We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than you can ever eat and a great bargain”
Review of Ipanemas Grill

Ipanemas Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Ipanemas Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #177 of 1,258 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“More than you can ever eat and a great bargain”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled on this restaurant when our taxi dropped us off near it and a server gave us a coupon for one free drink each and 28 dollars for the all you can eat meal, including buffet. The quality of the meat was outstanding, servers were incredible and the value was exactly what we expected. The salad buffet was a bit lacking but that wasn't an issue as we had more than we could handle with the huge selection of meats. We received a coupon for 15 percent off for our next visit when we left, we will definitely be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    82
    37
    22
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This restaurant has a deal with some hotels nearby to offer a breakfast service...So I went there for a breakfast only. In general the breakfast is good and copious even it's the same every day. The staff is very friendly and attentive despite that all are not professional and don't speak well English
They are supposed to open at 7:00 am, but most of the time everything is not ready. Here there is an improvement to do… Time is time!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globe_trotter_maxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost a Brazilian Churrascaria”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The idea is the same of the most Brazilian Churrascaria.
There is a buffet and a lot of type of the meats.
The price could be better and the buffet more completed.
But it is a nice place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felipetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BAD BAD BAD”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had dinner at the restaurant last week, our group of 6 peoples, the meats was no tender and pretty flat on flavor at the end of the meal in the check there was a 20% gratuity impose by the restaurant and after that we all spend the night in the bathroom for contaminate food (probably the salads ) not refrigerated correctly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzzyOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only a little piece missing to get a 5”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was not new to the Brazillian Grill concept so I knew already what to expect and we were not disapointed... We came to this restaurant by accident while walking on 10th av. in late afternoon, the server were giving cards with a free wine bottle if we came at least 4 persons. After reading some reviews It was just a catch cause our price was 399$ pesos per persons. So well over the 28 - 30$ US dollars that some other have paid..

For the meat and buffet, it was just as good as everyone said.. meat could not taste or be cooked better than that. we were able to taste about 10 different and none of then was'nt good. the Buffet itself was full of very good and quality stuff... they also had cold cut meat and cheese which our server brought us a platter to start with.

My concern and reason why I have not give this a 5 is that the meat is very salty and thus pushing you to drink water. At a start, your server ask you for water and 2 bottles are already placed on your table. At first I tought they were free as a starter. we ordered 3 other bottles during our dinner and found out that we were charged 48 pesos each bottle... so 240 pesos total for only water... I was a bit shocked when I saw the bill.. and asked the server how much was it for a beer and they were 42$ pesos... I suggested them to at least put a little sticker on there bottles placed on tables with the price or at least let the client know upfront cause have we had known that we would have dricked beer instead of water... but the manager was very nice and asked me to write a review on trip advisor so that the Owner can see my complaint and gave me a little Trip advisor sticker with all of the restaurant info... this is why I have not gave them a 5 but all in all, it was a very good evening.

at the end, our desert was very good and the grilled Pinapple with brown sugar is just a must... :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chantrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ipanemas Grill also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ipanemas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing