We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveler rating
488
166
40
14
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
166
40
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi restaurant rooftop bar sushi club boutique hotel great boutique master suite free bikes complimentary breakfast restaurants and shops fantastic location chilaquiles rain shower hot tub great room rooms are spacious standard room nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 724 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2017

We have done the big resorts in the Playa area and wanted something different. Reading the reviews and seeing photos of Be Playa Hotel, it looked like the perfect boutique hotel option for us. And we are really happy with our decision. Check-in was easy. The rooms was fantastic. So modern and fresh with a European feel. We loved the Jacuzzi tub and the two person shower. The bed was comfortable and always had enough towels. Only a couple of small issues that were not a big deal. When both showers heads were on water did spread into the sink area floor. Easily solution was laying our dirty beach towels on the floor (that are complimentary when you go to the beach) to soak up the water. And we were initially worried that the request was to toss toilet paper in a trash can and not in the toilet. But it ended up not being a big deal and saw it at a few other places we ate at. I guess that is what happens at a small hotel and not a huge resort. My only feedback for the hotel is to have more comfortable seating on the deck. The one swing chair was not comfortable. But really that is so minor! The sushi restaurant was great and their breakfast was really good. We had a few drinks at the rooftop bar and it had a nice vibe. It was not always open until midnight but I'm sure there is no point in keeping it open when no one is there. We just stopped at the sushi bar and they took care of us. The location of the hotel was perfect. Easy 4-5 block walk to the beach. Only one block from the main Avenue for every restaurant under the sun. The hotel did not have a gym but Evolve gym is super close and the price for pass was really reasonable. Also if you are up by 8a it was easy to run up and down the Avenue without any issues. If we vacation again in Playa we would consider Be Playa. The service was great and rooms were amazing and the location was absolutely perfect. And we appreciated the late check out. Thanks for the great vacation Be Playa.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captain8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017

This is a hidden paradise in playa del Carmen
Small very friendly and great suites with jacuzzi.
Staff is very friendly and the club terrasse at the top with a small pool are a super place to be in comfy loungechairs.
The cleaning is the best and towels enough for a whole family is super.
Breakfast is a la Carte and is very taste.
I do recomend this hotel and it is one of the best we ever stayed in.

Room tip: Room 204 where we sleeped is super
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

Visited from NYC and stayed in the area at an AirBnB condo. So happy we found this rooftop pool... such a nice, relaxing vibe with an amazing sushi menu & great cocktails. We came back again on our last day before our flight home because we enjoyed it so much. There is a minimum spend if you're not a hotel guest & it's so worth it! Very close to all of the shops & other restaurants, but don't pass this place up!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank krystleq2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

A really stylish boutique hotel with great food, and a super cool roof terrace.

We had a quick stop in Playa Del Carmen here and really enjoyed it. Hot tub in the room, great double shower and balcony, super comfy bed.

Breakfast included, helpful staff. Very noisy at night but it's a party place so expected.

Perfect for younger couples looking for a well located hotel in cool Playa. 5 minutes from the beach and right in the main Playa area. Recommended!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RichardD547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Be Playa for 5 nights. We arrived a little early was awesome to find out our room was ready. Room 206 overlooking calle 26, was big and bright. Very comfortable king bed, lots of closet space. Double rainfall shower, never ran out of hot water with good water pressure. Location is perfect, one block to 5th and right on 10th by an OXXO and lots of off the beaten path restaurants.

The staff! So friendly and helpful. Everyone from front desk, rooftop bartenders, servers at Sushi Club and housekeeping! We've stayed at boutique hotels in Playa before and this was by far the best customer service we've ever had. Thank You everyone!

The pool was great. Just enough to get in and cool off. Lounge chairs and couches were easy to come by before noon. We only spent mornings up there. We took our untanned untoned Milwaukee bodies out to eat and drink when seriously, the most gorgeous people in the world started to arrive. Ha! The pool is open to non-hotel guests. We didn't mind, it made it fun and lively after dark with a DJ and good vibe. Drink recommendation - BBC, it's a blended chocolate banana concoction or aka dirty monkey.

Breakfast at Sushi Club was included in our stay. We loved it. It had more than enough variety for us. Coffee, choice of fresh squeezed juice, bread basket and choice of fruit plate or yogurt. We always shared the fruit which was always cut with as much care as the sushi at night! Then there are about 5 main entrees to choose from: eggs, warm chicken sandwich (yummy), chilaquilles (sorry about the spelling), molletas (again sorry) which were very good-bread covered in beans, meat and cheese then broiled and I think another sandwich. We loved everything we ate.

The only thing that some couples might not be too keen on was the toilet arrangement. We've been together for a lifetime so nbd for us but it's like a closet with a frosted door that you can hear ummm everything. Our balcony door also wouldn't lock but the room had a safe and someone climbing up would have to be spider man.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for a fun, relaxing trip to Playa!!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lee99Milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews