We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Be Playa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel with amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Be Playa for 8 nights.
Had a fantastic stay. Very good service. The front desk arranged for all request you could think of, from excursions to ordering take out. Facilities were excelent, with a great roof pool area. The Hotel is located nearby the beach and is in walking distance to all need for your vacation.
Thank you for an amazing hotel experience Be playa! :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear "Martin N",

Thank you for your friendly feedback! We are proud to have another happy guest. And thank you for choosing Be Playa!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    141
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
34
312
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed 7-nights at beplaya this April and had a great time. The look of the hotel is very modern while remaining welcoming and unpretentious. Lobby was always clean and staff was very friendly, saying hello and always available to offer advice / information.

Location
Hotel really lucked out with this one. It is conveniently one block north of #5, which is the busy pedestrian-only street that can be quite loud most of the day and into the night, but we didn't have any noise issues at all. Its at #26 as well, so its about a 5min walk from the busy super tourist area - enough to be able to breath without being surrounded by vendors and large groups of tourists.

Its only a few blocks from "the gym" ($18 day pass, tons of classes, clean and modern, towel service and juice bar, overall great).

Theres a delicious (cash-only) spanish restaurant diagonally across the #10 intersection, on #10 from be playa. We paid around $800pesos ($80CDN) for two steak-dinners, seafood Paella, meat plate, croquette sampler, a nice bottle of red-wine, and two desserts. Staff was extremely friendly.

Also, about 5m away is Oh La La! by George, make a reservation...it's also delicious.

Rooms
We stayed in two different Junior Suites. They had extreeeemely comfortable large beds, great sheets, modern frosted glass shower (two person shower with two heads) and bathroom area, separate his and hers wash-basins, and a Jacuzzi indoor facing the windows. Large balconies with hammocks also. Room service was regular for turn-down and general cleaning, came by regularly to replace our shower gels / shampoo. Service ladies were very sweet.

Issue Resolutions
Although we did have an issue where our door locked us out, the staff immediately were on hand to correct the issue and even moved us to a new room so they could replace the door fixture.

Breakfasts
Accommodation includes American Breakfast - which is two eggs, side of beans, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, and sweet croissants. Initially we expected we would need to go out daily to eat, but it turned out to be the perfect amount of food to get us going. Sweet wait staff as well.

RoofTop Lounge
Rooftop lounge looked like one of the best in the area. Had weekly movie nights, too.Great view of PDC, especially sunset/sunrise. Fun decor with small pool and wading area for dipping your feet in while having a drink. Wouldn't recommend using the in-pool table and chairs though, as they've rusted with time and leave marks on your bathing suit. Wasn't a busy time while we were in town, so we didn't spend too much time up there, but could imagine it being a blast during busier seasons.

Thanks to Hector and all of the front staff for helping to make this trip so comfortable :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukiyoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear "ukiyoboy",

Thank you for the nice words and thorough review! We are already taking care of the issues with the pool chairs. Thanks also for the tips you shared to other guests!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've been to Playa at least 10 times and have stayed all over at various hotels. This hotel is in the perfect location (away from the craziness of South 5th) in Playa North one street up from 5th. There is a Starbucks within 1 block, you get free breakfast, including scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and coffee, free wifi that actually works throughout the hotel (including the rooftop), has an amazing rooftop pool (small but quaint) and really friendly staff. There are many places I have stayed where the staff is not too friendly or things just aren't as they are from the website. This place is and more.

I splurged on a suite for myself and the bed was the most comfortable ever with a soft duvet cover. This is almost unheard of around Playa. The shower was hot and actually had good pressure for washing your hair. The balcony had a seated hammock that I drank my morning coffee on. It was also pretty quiet.

I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room that's not facing 10th as a friend said she could hear the cars (but wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear "luvsql",

Thank you for such a nice and friendly review! We love to have another happy guest! And thanks also for the beautiful pictures you shared with the TripAdvisor community.

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at Be Playa for 5 nights. It was fantastic! The hotel itself is cozy yet modern, beautifully decorated and in the perfect location. Just minutes walk to everything. The beds were super comfy, the room was spacious and the dual rainshower was amazing! We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was simply fabulous! I would definitely stay there again and recommed it to anyone going to Playa!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaBTorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear "AmandaBTorontoON",

Thank you for the nice words you shared for the TripAdvisor community!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed for one night, but enjoyed our stay very much. We were looking for a hotel near 5th Avenue...this wonderful gem was only a half block walk. Terrific location. King bed was super-comfy! Loved the HUGE two-person shower in our Junior Suite...complete with two rainfall showerheads! Didn't get a chance to try the huge Jacuzzi tub for two...hopefully next time. Will definitely recommend to friends and family. Our pre-arranged shuttle to the Cancun Airport picked up at 7:00 AM, so we didn't have time for breakfast. The wonderful guys at the hotel packaged up two nice trays of fresh fruit + sandwiches for us to take with us. Awesome service!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear "jeffdavidson",

We are glad to know that you had such an enjoyable night at Be Playa Hotel! Thanks for the review!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

this hotel give a client more than he expect!! the room is clean and arrange perfect!! the lights are amazing and every day the room is being cleaned well. the breakfast is good and the hotel location is the best in the center and the service is wow!!!! i want to share with you that all the stuff is very kind and polite and i want to mention one guy his name is hector giez and he gave me an amazing service and he was very attentive for my needs as a client and i want to thank him and all the stuff and i will be back to this hotel for sure!!!

Room Tip: room with a jakuzi on thw 2cond floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirush2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went to playa for my friends weddding. Great hotel, amazing hospitality, perfect location will definetly be back. Wonderful restaurants and shopping right down the block. REALLY LOVED Playa. What a gem!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21414playa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear "21414playa",

Thank you for your great words about our hotel! And thanks for calling Be Playa a gem!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acanto Condo Hotel & Vacation Rentals
Acanto Condo Hotel & Vacation Re...
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Property: Be Playa Hotel
Address: 26th Street | Between 5th Ave and 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#75 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing