We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Playa Hotel
Ranked #28 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went to playa for my friends weddding. Great hotel, amazing hospitality, perfect location will definetly be back. Wonderful restaurants and shopping right down the block. REALLY LOVED Playa. What a gem!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 21414playa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear "21414playa",

Thank you for your great words about our hotel! And thanks for calling Be Playa a gem!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 624 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed two nigths at Beplaya. Perfect location, design is ok and staff (most of them) very helpful.
Rooms look nice but too noisy (aircon, neighbors). Avoid rooms on reception floor. You feel to sleep in a noisy cave, without shower! Second night we managed to move to third floor!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP_TRIP_OFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear "JP_TRIP_OFF",

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read about the noise you heard. It's not a common issue, but Playa del Carmen is a very active town.

The shower of your initial room is of a delicate doorless design. We certainly have showers on the rooms, but your comment could be taken to mean otherwise.

Thank you for staying with us.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff at be playa are amazing, they give you complementary bikes, help you with any plans you want to make. The hotel is very central yet quiet. They do a great breakfast. Rooms are really nicely designed. Spend a little extra and get the suite it worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear "Sarah T",

Thank you for the beautiful review you wrote for TripAdvisor! It's so nice to read another happy guest!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at Be Playa between December 15th and the 23rd (2013) with my girlfriend. Great hotel, new, very modern. Great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful, always concerned if everything was perfect. The Sushi Club is superb, definitely one of the best restaurants in Playa del Carmen. I recommend it to everybody and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EduardoSette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear "EduardoSette",

We are glad to know that you had such a good time at Be Playa and SushiClub. Thanks for your kind words!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We looked at many hotels and read almost every review of BE Playa and decided it was for us.

Firstly the negatives and any criticism are purely constructive.

1. The Air Con in room 206 kept tripping off, this happened every day and on one occasion a maintenance guy had to come into the room to fix the problem which he did. Although this was a reoccurring problem the front desk guy’s always dealt with it promptly.
2. The shower head furthest from the shower cubicle door had very little pressure however the one closest to the door had great pressure but resulted in the room being flooded. Had this been the other way around we would not have mentioned it.

And now for the positives.

First impressions were good, as soon as we had pulled up outside the hotel a guy who we now know as Hector was opening our door, greeting us with a big smile and helped us with our luggage.
Hector checked us in and showed us to our room, explained a few things and left us to relax.
We liked the layout and décor of the room and the bed was super comfortable. Bottled water was complementary and the Jacuzzi looked amazing especially when we played around with the lighting.

The rooftop Bar and Pool was really cool and that’s where we met Federico Mecatti and Chino who were absolutely amazing barmen. We found them engaging, friendly and very good at what they do!
We had breakfast on about three occasions and twice we were served by Adrian Charles who was also very good at what he does, polite and seemed to go the extra mile to make our experience a good one.

The staff at BE Playa were all in all amazing! There was a guy with dreadlocks who made us a brilliant Bloody Mary at the rooftop bar and there were another two front desk guys and also one gentleman who manned the desk overnight who were very friendly, going out of their way to help and engage us in conversation. We can only apologies for not getting their names.

The Sushi Club restaurant seemed very popular and what dishes we did try were delicious. We ordered a guacamole which wasn’t on the menu at the rooftop bar and Chino had a word with the kitchen and got them to make us some which turned out to be very fresh with the nachos still hot! Very tasty indeed.

The house keeping staff were also very good and did an excellent job of tidy our room up, even better than the staff at our next hotel which was a 5* AI in Cancun. This was possibly due to BE Playa being a smaller hotel than the one we went to for the last 5 days of our holiday but we couldn’t help comparing it to the outstanding service at BE Playa.

For the remainder of our trip to Mexico we genuinely missed Playa Del Carmen, not only for the vibe and energy but mostly due to the people we met at the BE Playa during our stay.

We left having made some great new friends and seriously can’t wait to be back. We are already in the process of planning our next visit and we shall be staying at BE Playa for the duration of our vacation. We are also bringing our friends along too.

VIVA BE PLAYA! VIVA MEXICO!

Room Tip: There are parties on the rooftop which were amazing but the noise might diturb some... We were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear "Kain R",

Thank you for your great feedback and constructive comments! We appreciate them.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed in this hotel 3 days over Christmas 2013 as we wanted a nice hotel for the special holiday days and I must admit I had expected a little more.

Location on 26th is a bit too far from downtown but only 5 min walk from the beach. Staff is firendly and helpfull but are constantly "begging" for tips. Breakfast is not plentiful and any extras like eggs, ham or cheese need to be payed for. For the room rate we payed it seems ridiculous that you need to pay an extra 10 dollars for a couple of eggs! So we didnt. The breakfast waiter makes you sign for 0 consumption just to have an excuse to incurage you to tip him. Its actually on the edge of impoliteness as he suggest to tip him several times.

The rooms are spacious, beds very large and comfortable, but many of them right beside a busy road where you are sure to be woken up at night by police cars and ambualances. The design is modern, glass all over, music in the stairways, elevator. The jacuzy that we used only once is fine but they only provide bath salt and no foam at all.

The aircon provides a constant draft so I had problems with throat aches. One night the aircon broke down and as there is no fan (it doesent match the modern design of the hotel) the temperature imediately rose to unbearable levels. Since the staff wasnt able to fix it we had to change rooms in the middle of the night - luckyly one was still empty!

All in all definately not worth the money...we stayed 4 nights at another hotel close by for 1/3rd of the price...the hotel was just as nice, the staff didnt beg, but the design wasnt as trendy as BePlaya. So think about it: Do you really want to pay 2/3rds of the room rate for a smart design? Not me, naaa.... did it, been there, thanks, not again.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the road or high up as there is an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vm_denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear "vm_denmark",

Thank you for bringing us your thoughts about your stay at Be Playa Hotel.

Please, let us explain what happened and why we don’t agree with some of your remarks. The AC, as we tell to every guest of the hotel, can’t work 24 hours a day non-stop in a hot and humid environment such as the one in any coastal, caribbean city. If you push the AC to its limits, it will stop working. Anyway, we solved that issue right away, as soon as you told us, providing you with another room while the AC was fixed (defrosted).

Regarding your remarks about stuff tipping: we can assure you no employee of this hotel have that sort of work conduct. It may have been a one-time, one-waiter confusing situation, and we will look into that, as this kind of behavior is neither allowed nor usual. Of course, you have to realize that all hospitality stuff in the world receive tips, and that’s completely normal.

However, we want to apologize for any trouble you may have had while staying with us, and we also want to thank you for being a guest of our hotel.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

the hotel seems ok and halfway stylish on first glance, but staying there was really horrible.

all rooms have a connecting door to another room which allows you to hear literally everything your neighbors say or do. I had some young guys next to me which were partying all night until noon the next day, listing to really loud hip hop music. I asked the guys at the reception if I could have another room - not possible as everything was fully booked. They quite literally told me that it is not their problem if guests are loud and they can't do anything against it. They just said the guys are American and Americans are like that and they can't help.
Staff was overall not very friendly or helpful. There were only two or three that tried to be friendly and professional.

My room was next to the aircon system of the whole hotel and it was only possible to sleep with earplugs.
The toilet door didnt close properly, the toilet flush didn't work and the whole bathroom was in a poor state overall. It was not possible fully darken the room.
So relaxing or sleeping properly was basically impossible.
The party next door went on again the second day - and night.

Rooms and interior are quite run off in general. it is not a stylish boutique hotel, more like a 3-star hotel that is trying to be a bit stylish & hip.
The bedlight at the end exploded next to my head - luckily nothing happend but that could have been different.

Breakfast was poor. Poor service, very slow, poor quality of food. There was even blue fungi on the butter. Every small extra is charged extra.

There is a rooftop pool which is very small and not taken very well care of - dirty and run down.
Swimming is not possible.
There is a Sushi restaurant in the hotel which i cannot recommend at all. I have eaten Sushi all over the world and it was on of the worst qualities. It simply didn't taste - service was poor as well, I had to ask several times for the stuff i had ordered.

I changed the hotel as soon as possible. The staff at the reception was not really interested that i had such a bad and horrible experience.

The hotel is probably fine for young partypeople that are interested in staying in a halfway stylish environment, but if you have a bit sense for quality and a nice environment, don't go there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doriangray100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear “doriangray100",

Thank you for taking the time to share what you feel happened while you were a guest of ours.

We understand that you came very late to sleep at the hotel, and that makes it impossible to have a fully quiet space, as both the other guests and the whole town is awakening. There is nothing we can really do about it.

Regarding the other things you mention, we can’t help but wonder if it really is this hotel you are describing. You use very strong and unusual adjetives to describe the hotel, and we don’t know where you may actually have seen what you say you saw. There are hundreds of guests who will never agree to your depiction our our hotel and restaurant.

We are sorry for the things you said happened to you, and thanks for staying with us.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Address: 26th Street | Between 5th Ave and 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#75 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $143 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing