We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Be Playa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent value luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

stayed twice in two weeks, excellent furnishings, extremely comfortable bed, one room had low water pressure, second was excellent....brilliant rooftop pool...very friendly staff, quiet room, great location ( northern end of 5th av)...beach club access is great (quieter club than the mass main venues)

Room Tip: 302 had limited water pressure, 206 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear "tim g",

Thank you for your nice feedback! We'll keep doing the best we can to welcome you for a third time!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    141
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
34
312
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

While in Cozumel we decided to visit Playa del Carmen for a few days so we looked at boutique hotels online. We came across a gold mine. Be Playa Hotel is in a perfect location close to great shopping, dining and nightlife and very close to the beach as well. The vibe is upscale at reasonable prices. The service is amazing from check in to our entire stay. Attention to making sure our stay is perfect is met at every second. Great recommendations to dining and nightlife and directions was key to helping us along the way. The rooftop pool and bar is a nice place to begin your evening. We will definitely be back and cannot wait to come back to Playa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear "Kelly E",

Thank you for your great words on Be Playa Hotel! We love being called a "gold mine"!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a nice getaway, but didn't want to stay at one of the gigantic, impersonal resorts, of which there are tons in Riveria Maya. Be Playa fit the bill. It is a small, boutique hotel with sophisticated design, thoughtful staff, and a great restaurant. It is located several blocks from the beach. If you are like us, you will enjoy the fact that it is NOT on the main strip, so safely away from annoying vendors and hoards of people, but close enough by (1 block) that you can get whatever you need easily. I really liked the design elements throughout, although some are not totally functional. The restaurant - Sushi Cub - is really good and has fair prices.
One of the best aspects of the hotel is their staff. Everyone is thoughtful, courteous, and highly attentive.
Even though it's a hip hotel, we also appreciated that we could get a good night's rest without bother from music and noise.
We stayed in a Master Suite, and loved it.

Room Tip: The elevator is a bit slow, so I'd recommend staying on the 1st floor (one level above ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear "mmdavids",

Thank you for writing such a great feedback! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time here!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been traveling to the Mayan Rivera since '96. I did the big hotel once and always opted for small boutique hotels since. The cozy feel and vintage details yet modern at the same time made me feel instantly at home. Check in was breeze. As we arrived to our floor the quote " A apple a day keeps the doctor away" with complementary apples below set the mood and scene. Same with the room cozy, very clean, different lighting options and a great bed also with optional warm amber lighting underneath. There are inspirational quotes in the room and all over the hotel. The service really does deserve a 5! We had an issue with the door but was fixed promptly. Very clean all over. The location is great few blocks to the beach and very near to main shopping and dinning street. A highlight was on a Thursday evening there was a live band that played on the rooftop where the hotel's pool is located, also with a bar and lounge area. The band was great and really complimented the vibe of the hotel and again service was great, which unfortunately is not the easiest to find in Playa del Carmen. I will be returning to playa again and this will be my hotel of choice. Highly recommended!!
Happy customer
Caroline McDade

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Csrolone1Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear "Csrolone1Love",

We are glad that you had a great time at Be Playa! Thanks for the nice words!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world! We'll have more apples for you!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights in January. It really is a beautiful hotel and the rooms are gorgeously appointed. The hotel is off the main roads, about a five minute walk away, which suited us, but some people might like to be right in the action. The service was very good and the restaurant was excellent. The rooftop bar was not open when we were there because of the rain, but it also looked amazing! I would certainly recommend this Hotel, but perhaps it is not suitable for children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IloCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear "IloCon",

Thank you for your nice words! We love the way you described our hotel! Architecture is one of our passions.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choctaw, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Been here before & just had to return & bring our friends this time.... Small chic hotel with luxurious rooms, big round tub is to die for, awesome double shower, rooms kept very clean - cleaned 2 times a day. Small hot elevator that didn't work much but I'd rather take the stairs for exercise anyway. Beautiful views at the roof top pool, especially at night. Best bed I've ever slept in. Great location to 5th Ave. Loved walking everywhere! (20 min walk to the ferry. Walk along 10th Ave, to avoid the hustle on 5th.) Great local eating all along 10th Ave & cheap too. Light Healthy breakfast @ hotel with a relaxing atmosphere; great way to start each day. Wait staff a little slow but that would be my only complaint. Been to Mexico often and this place beats all! We will return again & again!

Room Tip: Get a master or jr suite! It's worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear "Amy J",

Thank you for your nice and friendly feedback! Yours is the kind of compliment that makes our day.

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've been to Playa 3 times and this is my favourite place to stay so far. The staff was super friendly and helpful 24 hours a day. And the hotel is beautiful! Great design and comfort in big rooms with big balconies and clean minimal layout. Great restaurant downstairs and a great patio on the roof. Steps away from anything on 5th and an easy 5 min walk to the beach. — Went with my girlfriend in May and had 0 issues even though the hotel was fully booked. No noise from anyone anywhere. Good maid service.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Junior suite facing 10th street. Noise level was fine from outside, and the evening su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear "Pavel G",

Thanks for your great feedback! It seems that we achieved our goal of making you feel good. And thanks for the great pics!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acanto Condo Hotel & Vacation Rentals
Acanto Condo Hotel & Vacation Re...
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Property: Be Playa Hotel
Address: 26th Street | Between 5th Ave and 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#75 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing