We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Be Playa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$338
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$413
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$940
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$480
$339
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$701
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveler rating
443
159
40
13
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
159
40
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssushi restaurantrooftop barsushi clubboutique hotelgreat boutiquejunior suiteperson showerdouble showerfree bikescomplimentary breakfaststreet noiserestaurants and shopsmamitas beachperfect locationenjoyed our stayrain showerhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 669 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I have tried the all inclusive concepts and unless you are looking for a "hotel vacation" I would avoid ALL of them.
We chose Be Playa based on the Small Boutique Hotels affiliation, great reviews an website. We were seeking a way to discover PDC and the areas on a more intimate level.
Be Playa was fabulous on wvery level. Fantastic location, energetic service, clean suite with a Jacuzzi, comfortable beds etc... I usually prefer branded properties because I know they must abide by certain standards but Be Playa did not skip a beat. I was a bit concerned that there would be noise in the evening but nothing, do ask for a high floor though.
We will come back to Be Playa and even think we will spend a couple of days in they Be Tulum location.


  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear "GeorgesTravel",

Thank you for your nice and friendly feedback! We are sure that you will love Be Tulum Hotel.

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I will lay down the "pros" and "cons" I hope you find this review helpful.
PROS: Very Chic, well located hotel. Its clean and the beds are cozy. Just a 10 minute walk of Mamitas beach club, 3 blocks away form "la quinta" (where the bars and restaurants are) yet quiet, cool terrace pool, friendly staff, they lend you free bikes at the front desk. The Sushi restaruant is good and well priced.
CONS: It needs maintenance ASAP. While we were there the elevator wasn't working, they closed the water for 2 hours cause they had a leak and a electric circuit broke down. Our shower had a leak to the exterior that would leave the bathroom floor wet until the room was made the next day. Our toilet wasn't working 100%. We could hear everything in the room next door, so that was uncorfortable. It bothered me they include a european breakfast but add an "involuntary" tip at the end, they added 10 pesos of this "involuntary tip" per plate you order. Its not the money issue its the principle of adding a tip without warning to an included meal deal that bothered me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pola_roid29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear "pola_roid29",

Thanks for the positive review! We are sorry that we had a small maintenance issue while you were here. Things broke and get fixed in every hotel, and sometimes it happens here too. We do our best to keep everything in perfect working condition.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is the place to BE in Playa del Carmen. Rooms are amazing and very clean, great room service, modern installations. Pool area is just awesome, very trendy and comfortable. Staff is the best you'll find in Playa del Carmen, from Freddy in the pool bar, Oscar in the reception area and Joaquin in the Sushi restuarant. Make sure they'll make you feel just like home.
Counting the days for getting back to Playa del Carmen and Be Playa Hotel. Unforgivable experience !!
Saludos,
Ivan Gomez, Mexico City

Room Tip: Get the suite with jacuzzi if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario_Ivan_Gomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear "Mario_Ivan_Gomez",

Thank you for your great review!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just fantastic!
Friendly ambient, perfect room service and quality, so many details and very helpful people.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arancha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear "arancha r",

Thank you for your nice words!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very good value also! The rooms are amazing! And it is not that expensive, good location also! Overall good experience if you like boutique hotels this is one good option in Playa.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Saloask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear "Saloask",

We are so glad that you had such a good with us! Thanks for the lovely words about our hotel!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews