We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Boutique Hotel, Well Located, Extremely Friendly Staff”
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Playa Hotel
Ranked #21 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel, Well Located, Extremely Friendly Staff”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have been to Playa before but wasn't as familiar with this specific side of town as I had walked all up and down Calle 5 but hadn't adventured this far north. I am really glad we decided to stay at Be Playa although I was a tad bit nervous booking a stay at a new hotel with only a few varied and/ or lukewarm reviews.

My wife and I usually stay at the standard "nice" hotels (W, Four Seasons, Marriott, etc.) or cool boutique hotels for a different experience if it works out and we were impressed with Be Playa. The room was spotless every day, the AC was nice and cold, it was very eco-friendly, great feel to it.

We had booked a standard king with the understanding that it is based on availability and received 2 doubles when we checked in. The hotel was happy to switch us to a king the next night as one was opening up but we actually preferred having the extra bed for lounging.

Prior to booking I found some complaints on Trip Advisor such as "loud noise around elevator", "nobody attending the rooftop terrace bar", "no elevator in service", "wet floor in bathroom after showering", "closet safe not bolted down", "only 2 bottles of water", and other, in my mind, nit-picky complaints. Some of these were legitimate (no elevator service, wet floor) but were such a small tradeoff for everything else you get. Additionally, this hotel is in MEXICO where things a done a little different and the attention to detail and quickness to remedy issues is sometimes different from the expectations US residents have. If you aren't able to deal with a little street noise or having to walk up a few flights of stairs, then maybe don't come to Mexico and if you do, don't stay anywhere else but the large chain hotels you are already familiar with.

If you are adventurous and want a cool experience in a new sleek hotel close to a ton of stuff (Mamitas Beach Bar is a few blocks away along with Mexico Blue Dream Scuba Diving shop and tons of restaurants and bars) then this hotel is likely right up your alley. The staff bent over backwards to help us and the aesthetics of the everything from the Sushi Lounge downstairs to the Roof Top Terrace with pool upstairs and every little bit of decor in between was right on par with what a boutique hotel should be, in my opinion, and at very reasonable prices. Having been open for only 6 months as of my stay, I am sure they are still working out a few kinks (elevator) so I will give them a 5 out of 5 ranking overall.

We had an issue with the clarity of our TV and, when we notified one of the rotating front desk agents, they completely replaced the entire Samsung LCD flat screen while we were out eating lunch. Oh ya, and the Sushi Bar turns into a great lounge at night with specialty cocktails, great music, and an exceptional staff...as many restaurants in Playa do. We are complete foodies and sush-holics so we were quite critical of the sushi and would rank that less than a 5, although it may quite possibly be the best sushi in the area. Then again, perhaps we should have stuff with the basics and not deviated too far from the beaten path, although I think I remember the Dragon Roll being very good. If you are in the area, try El Diez (Argentinian), Pummarola (Italian...ask for Renee), and La Bodeguita del Medio (Cuban)...all are exceptional restaurants. Oh, and our safe WAS bolted in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Dear "ZRE",

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your experiences during your stay! Your vivid review is awesome!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    145
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
37
323
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel had it all, good location (right in the center of playa but you did't hear the noice at night whatsoever). Very clean and nice rooms (we had the master suite with hot tub) with all comfort that comes with it...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marijkescholten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear "marijkescholten",

We are so glad that you had such a good time here at Be Playa! Thanks for the lovely words about our hotel!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I loved it - a hotel that offers fantastic comfort in a stylish setting. The Junior Suite is great - comfortable bed, great shower and everything is functional. The balcony is a really nice spot to relax also but the jewel in the crown is the stunning and spacious roof terrace. The website photos do not do it justice. It is a huge space with four seperate corner areas, a precariously placed swimming pool and fabulous views. Drinks are also served.

The service in the hotel is discreet but very good (sometimes slow at the bar in the evening though) although I am not sure if there is room service. The breakfast is delicious. The wireless connection is reasonable.

All in all this is a very relaxed accomodating place to stay either as somewhere to totally relax in or as a plush place to treat as a crash pad - it is only 5 minutes from ace beaches, restaurants, bars and clubs. Apparently the Sushi served in the restaurant is the best in the area and so disappointed not to have tried it.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear "AntWill",

Thank you for your nice words! It is always a joy to know that our guests had a good time with us!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We booked this hotel on a gamble, at the time there had only been one review and it was positive so we thought we would give it a chance.

Firstly the good points:
- free wi-fi in rooms
- professional ever present staff
- AMAZING rooftop bar and chillout area
- great bed and sheets
- overall clean, modern , pleasing rooms
- great location if you want to be in the thick of things
- even free apples in the hallways

Bad points
- the NOISE especially the noise of people om the staircase, out of three nights we did not once get a full nights sleep.
- a very very wet floor in the shower/bathroom area as it's not completely sealed off
- we only got 1 bottle of water each for the three nights we were there!

So over all this hotel was lovely to look at, nice rooms, rooftop, restaurant, professional service and good location but if you value your sleep highly this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Away from the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherwoodbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear "sherwoodbaby",

Thanks for the positive review! Playa del Carmen is a very dynamic place, and people is coming and going all the time. This is a lively place, with a bit of noise sometimes. We are sorry about that!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We chose Be Playa because of it’s funky modern décor. I would consider it more shabby chic, but interesting and we thoroughy enjoyed our stay here.

We took advantage of the 4 night stay which included one night at Be Tulum. Our first part of the stay was for 2 nights at Be Playa, and we had a room with two queen beds. We prefer King, but this worked out well. The room was well appointed with a fun Jacuzzi, small sitting area, hammock on the balcony, two sinks, two person shower, and a separate toilet area. Because of the modern bowl type sinks, the counter space was a little limited, but we made due. The room included two free bottles of water (per stay apparently, not per day), and a frig with pay as you use items. Shampoo and soap was supplied, but you might want to bring your own shampoo. Always hot running water in the large showers. A/C worked great.

One thing we did have to bring to the attention at check out was that our patio door did not lock and anyone from another room could have hopped over on the balcony easily and gotten in to our room. The other issue we had with this first room was that even tho it had a room safe, it wasn’t bolted to anything! You could simply walk away with it. I considered it a major security issue, and the front desk seemed concerned when I told them.

There was a cute rooftop pool/bar/ and lounge area with beds for sunbathing. We never saw anyone up there, and the bar was always closed. I asked at the front desk if we could get drink service up there and was told “of course”, but I guess you’d have to go down and order it yourself, or order it before you went up. That also brings up a point that they don’t have elevators. If they do, they weren’t working or available yet.

As part of the promotion, we left on our 3rd day to go to Be Tulum. The hotel provided the transfers and that all went smoothly. Be Tulum is a cute hotel right on the beach, with great service and a wonderful atmosphere. However, Tulum appears to be too quiet for us, so one day/night was just perfect.

Upon return to Be Playa, we were then given a room with a King bed, but it was a much smaller room due to that fact. Still appointed well, but arranged differently. This time the patio door locked, and the safe was bolted inside the closet!

We never did try the sushi restaurant down in the lobby. We aren’t sushi fans, however it looked very nice. At night they had music playing (not too loud, didn’t bother us up in the room), but there were just a handful of people at the bar.

All in all, we were very pleased with the Be Playa/Tulum hotels. We found it to be in a great location and had all the amenities we look for in a small boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZsaZsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The hotel itself is VERY nice. Nice design, clean and the top bar is amazing with the nice pool. But being a "design hotel" which just opened a few months ago, that is what you should expect. Have in mind this hotel is situated in the central of town so it can be a bit noisy since most rooms are facing the road, but if you're looking for relaxation, you might better go to Tulum than Playa del Carmen :)

But when it comes to service, I think it's lacking. First, they got our booking wrong (missed 1 day), but luckily they solved it (and luckily we noticed it!!), the reception is often crowded (only one person there), breakfast staff was terribly slow (even though a handful guests), the elevator is not in service even though they opened months ago, the cleaning lady usually missed something every day (forgot to give us new towels, forgot to replace dirty drinking glass etc), the balcony door couldn't be locked).

Hopefully, they'll fix these early problems since they just opened up. So if you're looking for a great design hotel in the central part of Playa del Carmen, this is for you.

Be sure to get tickets for the beach club at the reception if you want a good breach party and the sushi place is great!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbosve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Booked originally for 2 nights (when we booked only one review was available on Tripadvisor; a review too good to be true so we prefered to book only the first 2 nights in case we would need to change of hotel), my girlfriend and I stayed in the end 12 amazing nights. The hotel is brand new with very large rooms. We booked the junior suite (room 203) which was amazing. The design (white rooms with wooden floor throughout, flat screen...), the materials, the very large bed are extremely seducing. Our room included a hot tub; it is amazing even if it takes a long time to fill. The shower was very spacious, actually for 2 with 2 shower heads.
The service of the hotel is of great quality with people always smilling and prompt. Front desk is very helpful with all you would need to spend great holidays (information about car rentals, sightseeing, restaurants, beaches,...) and bartenders with great cocktails. Concerning the suhsi restaurant located on the ground floor, I have to admit that we were very sceptical of the quality we would find in Playa Del Carmen. However, overcoming this fear we tried it and loved it.
Location wise (avenida 5th y calle 26) you are only one block from the famous 5th avenue with 10 min walk to the main restaurants and clubs (Avenida 5th y calle 12). The beach is one block after the 5th avenue; white thin sand and deep blue sea.

We are quite picky travellers in terms of hotel and Be Playa checked all the box. We definitely recommend this hotel and will go back again.

Many thanks for the great time we had!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Dear Ludok,

Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy to read you had such a good time on our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Property: Be Playa Hotel
Address: 26th Street | Between 5th Ave and 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#75 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing