We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I need Util Pasta in Boston!”

PapaCharly Pasta Factory
Ranked #58 of 1,267 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I need Util Pasta in Boston!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I recently visited Playa del Carmen with a few friends and we were craving pasta. I heard great reviews about Util from some locals and we decided to stop by. We went around 9pm at night and walked there from our hotel. It took us about 15 mins - a few dark streets we finally arrived.
It's small outdoor restaurant located behind the main kitchen.

At first we were a little confused with the menu but the hostess, I'm assuming was Charlie Jr, explained everything. Pick your pasta, Pick your sauce, and if you want to add any chicken or seafood. There was also a bruschetta starter, the flavors are delicious!!!

First we ordered 2 cesar salads - the 5 of us shared the salad and just enough for us all. They were pretty big salads. It had huge chucks of cheese on the bottom, so good. After the starter, salad, endless bread - I was hoping I still had room for the entree.

3 of my friends ordered the chicken Carbonara, My husband had their famous lasagna, and I had the spinach pasta, chicken with Gorgonzola 4 cheese sauce. Everyone, and I mean everyone licked their plates. I'm not exaggerating here when I say the food was amazing.

The prices were inexpensive and the service was friendly. We met Mama, who cooks all this yummy food to order. She makes all this fresh pasta and sauces, I wanted to take her home with me. Great food and a great experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    68
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simple yet amazing!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This small, family owned ,nothing fancy resturant is a hidden gem! Off the beaten path but still close to downtown 5 th ave. dinning area is in the rear courtyard of a small retail pasta shop. The food is all homemade traditional italian favorites. Super salads and bruchetta is sooooo good! From the simple pasta to loaded seafood dishes, this small establishment delivers every time. A dont miss while your in playa. Oh, did I mention the amazing prices? Wont break your budget here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Read about this place on TA so I went to check it out. I had the lasagna which was huge and delicious! A nice glass of Cabernet to go with it, fresh bread and butter-perfect! The owners son, Jr, even gave me a lift back to the bus stop in town so I wouldn't have to take a cab! I tried to give him some cash which he promptly refused. Yu don't service that like that in the states! Thanks again for the best meal I had while on vacation, will be sure to come see you again next time I'm in Playa!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rdh_1_kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Pasta Ever!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a wonderful family owned restaurant set off the beaten path of 5th Ave. The menu is limited to pasta dishes, however, they do a terrific job of it and the prices can't be beat!

Pick your pasta and pick your sauce. Delicious ravioli...spinach & cheese or mushroom. Lasagna to die for and one of the best Puttanesca sauces I have ever tasted!

Portions are extremely generous. The wine selection is limited but feel free to bring your own and pay a small corking fee!

Don't miss this great little spot! Unlike most restaurants, they are closed on Saturdays...plan accordingly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancún, México
1 review
“The best pasta!!!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the best pasta ever ate in Playa del Carmen. Amazing place, cooked by the family, everything is home made. I definitely recommend this place!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaFullmoon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PapaCharly Pasta Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to PapaCharly Pasta Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing