We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to eat!”
Review of La Mission

La Mission
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mission is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 1,287 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The popular Cozumel Restaurants Casa Mission, La Mission and Parilla Mission have brought their concept to Playa del Carmen. La Mission offers generous portions of seafood, steaks and Mexican specialities at affordable prices. And their "If you don't like it, you don't pay it" slogan is hard to beat. Proof of this is the preference of locals and visitors.
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We found about this restaurant in the AAA tour book. We went to check it out. It was small and no AC so we weren't sure we would go in. But the the Manager came out to talk to us ans we looked over the menu and the prices were very reasonable so we decide to give it a try. We asked for a table next to a large fan, which did a nice job of keeping all 6 of us cool. We could not believe how delicious the food was! The Lime Chicken Soup is the best I have had in a long time. The service was great. The food was very good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rgoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    296
    72
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place was amazingly GOOD! We had the queso fundido, sopa de tortila, camarones al mojo de ajo, camarones a la plancha, filete al mjo de ajo, margaritas and beer! Everything tasted delicious! The service was also excellent! Would definately come back here if we ever get the chance to visit Playa Del Carmen again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

La Mission has become one of our "go to" restaurants when we make our annual visit to the Mayan area. The service and quality of the food is far superior than a lot of the restaurants on the main area of Playa.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherMcCallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norridge, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great dinner at a reasonable price”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The five of us came here for dinner at the suggestion of a friend who had been here and she was right. The food was delicious with generous portions and reasonable prices. The chicken lime soup was good and we all had beers or margaritas which were cold and refreshing. I had the seafood platter and the lobster was some of the best I ever had. Another dish we had was the mexican chicken and shrimp. Everything was wonderful and the service was kind and attentive. It was hot but evening is a good time to go. Would definitely recommend it and would come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 64Christine1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Used to be good...”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We make a point of visiting la mission restuarant every time we are in Playa. This year will be our last visit. We ordered the Lobster plate, which started with the chicken lime soup- which was absolutely disgusting. It used to be made with lovely white chicken breast, but now the filthy gross parts of the chicken, and globs of black marrow are used. The soup tasted like dirt. - I could not eat it. In fact it spoiled the rest of my meal. When the lobster came, my husband received at least twice as much of a portion as me- which i was fine with as mine had some kind of thick membrane underneath which i could not even cut through. As with many restaurants that achieve popularity, greed inevitably sets in and cheaper products and smaller portions take the place of the desire to deliver a good product. This is the case wth La mission. Avoid the vile soup it will make your stomache turn.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCsenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mission also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing