We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local favorite”
Review of La Mission

La Mission
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mission is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The popular Cozumel Restaurants Casa Mission, La Mission and Parilla Mission have brought their concept to Playa del Carmen. La Mission offers generous portions of seafood, steaks and Mexican specialities at affordable prices. And their "If you don't like it, you don't pay it" slogan is hard to beat. Proof of this is the preference of locals and visitors.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Another great, inexpensive, place to eat. We have gotten hooked on the excellent service and food. I love the Mexican combination plate, hubby likes everything else. All meals are served with complimentary lime soup ( a Mexican wonder) and guacamole (you will pay $6 for this elsewhere). Although the location is a little out of the main tourist drag and the view isn't the best, this is the place for a wonderful, somewhat traditional meal with great service and food. The prices make it somewhere you can eat every day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie7364585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    292
    72
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Service Ever”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were drawn to this little outdoor restaurant in Playa del Carmen by a street vendor who handed us a coupon for a free appetizer and sopa de lima. We were just around the corner so we stopped by and noticed the excellent Trip Advisor rating so we decided to give it a try and we sure were glad that we did. The service exceeded most five star restaurants. Everyone was so attentive and seemed to care so much about our experience that it was as if we were dining in their own home. If we had complained about anything, it would have been rectified immediately.

The food was excellent, including the lima soup (chicken & lime) which is a Yucatan dish. we ordered a mole dish and a ribeye steak and the waiter split it for us. Both dishes came with loads of fresh vegetables perfectly cooked and baskets of bread with a hint of garlic. There was a full bar but we did not order drinks.

I would highly recommend eating at La Mission if you get a chance to stop by!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Party”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We left the resort to go to Playa for a night out and celebrate our sons birthday . The service was great, the meal was very good and we had a great time . A nice change from the resturant selection at the Grand Mayan.
Would definitly go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valvemanrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible service and tasty food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The service was impeccable. Friendly, quick, and welcomed! The food was good for the value - I had the ceviche and sopa de lima. Great place to go that is not on 5th avenue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrystallll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALISBURY
2 reviews
“Best Food in Playa del Carmen!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the best food in Playa del Carmen... the resort has absolutely nothing on this little local gem. The value is unbeatable. The staff are all wonderfully friendly and attentive. The "Sexy Coffee" is the most unique and entertaining dessert/drink that I've seen featured in a restaurant. Definately try the lobster! This will be stop number one on the next trip to Playa del Carmen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mission also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing